We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent, small friendly, lower budget resort, good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Real Playa del Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Real Playa del Carmen
Ranked #139 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Rosthern, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, small friendly, lower budget resort, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

We just spend two weeks at the Real Playa del Carmen and had a great time. The service was excellent, very friendly and welcoming, especially the entertainment team, (Hi Yvaney) and waiters, Rodriguez and Serviano. It is a very nice, safe and fun place to hang out it you are looking for a lower budget hotel. As well because it is a smaller resort you get to know the staff and other guests too. The longer we stayed the more we enjoyed this resort. When we requested or needed anything (ask at the front desk) they did their best to help us out. The Best Day staff is also very good and helpful and their tours are very well run and lots of fun. We did try another tour but found that the guides could not speak much English and the other people on the tour were not English speaking either, so this did not make the tour as enjoyable.

Our one complaint would be that there was no computer with internet service available for the guests. In this day and age this is a MUST service to provide as cell service is not always available.

Thanks to everyone for a great holiday, Eldon and Maureen, Rosthern, Sask.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polarbears_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Thank You very much for your comments, we really appreciatte all your notes and time, this motivate us to continuo improvving service and facilities..our staff is so happy with your comments. We really hope that you are coming back again...this is your home.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    341
    141
    100
    107
See reviews for
183
397
42
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

The location of this hotel is on the main stretch in playa right on the end two blocks from the beach. You couldn't ask for better service or friendliness from the staff or the animation team who put on an awesome show every night and organized lots of activities on and off the beach. I would recommend this resort to anyone travelling to playa who would like to enjoy a smaller friendlier environment away from the big resorts.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cervasas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
We appreciatte your comments, and we really hope that you are coming back again, your comments are so important for us to continuo improving in all the areas.
Thank you very much indeed,
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed at the hotel the first week of January and had a fabulous time. First of all the staff were extreamly helpful, friendly and profesional at all times. the waiters in the dining room were attentive and cheerful, and very patient with us while we practiced our broken spanish. the food was very good and well presented with a variety of fresh fruits and vegatables with every meal. The room was spotlessly cleaned everyday and there was plenty of hot water (which we didn't have when we stayed in Cancun). The Animation Team were lot's of fun and made our stay that much more enjoyable with their entertaining evening shows and the activities at the beach. We took advantage of the stretch class on the beach in the morning, the kayaks, the bicycles and just hanging out getting to know them.
I also have to mention the fantastic front desk staff who were always promt to help me with anything and the bartenders who always made fabulous drinks. We would definatly recommend this hotel. The only negatives were the mattress on the bed was uncomfortable and we wish they had more selection of beers.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 6 February 2011
Thank you very much indeed for your comments and time, you motivate us to continuo improving facilities and service, we really hope that you are coming back again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

Was pleasantly clean, affordable, bar tending was wonderful, and the entertainment crew was outstanding with the shows presented well put together and a lot of heart evolved with the production thank you guys

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank renraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
operaciones1, Manager at Real Playa del Carmen, responded to this review, 1 February 2011
We really appreciate your comments which are so important for us, we really hope that you are coming back again soon, this is your home in Playa del Carmen,
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

This resort is excellent. The cleanliness, food, and service are exceptional. The staff (Charlie, Adam, Diego, Ileana, Daisy, Jonathon, Jaime, Regina, Paulina, Tony) were proud employees wanting to make your staff fun and memorable. This was our second stay and will go again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KRH5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.4 km away
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
Pueblito Luxury Condohotel
#116 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.6 km away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#36 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Resort
Grand Hyatt Playa Del Carmen Res...
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
0.6 km away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#103 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 km away
Gran Porto Resort
Gran Porto Resort
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Playa del Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Playa del Carmen

Property: Real Playa del Carmen
Address: 5th Avenue Between 34th & 38th Sts, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price range (per night): RM303 - RM1,379
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Playa del Carmen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Real Playa del Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Playa Del Carmen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Real Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Carmen
Real Playa Carmen
Playa Del Carmen Real
Real Playa Del Carmen Mexico - Riviera Maya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing