We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luna Blue Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Coco Rio Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Be Playa Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Patio Hotel & Suites(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Soul Beach Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caracol Suite Hotel(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiesta Inn Playa Del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Aventura Mexicana(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
BRIC Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
629
248
45
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
248
45
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstropical hideawayswing barla quintaboutique hotelwater pressureshort walk to the beacheach morningair conditionerbeach chairsavejaimekitchenettepdcmexicovacationbartendermargaritas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We got the larger family room - it was nice having the huge room with kitchen. It was very clean and the big water container came in so handy! Juan was the nicest guy and our room cleaning gal did a great job. We sat on our balcony each night and enjoyed the great music from the bar. The pool was too cold, but the weather wasn't very nice anyway. We rented the bikes one day and loved the margaritas. We'd stay again!

Room Tip: Get the big room
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ORCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itzel S, Gerente at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear ORCon,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are happy that enjoyed your visit so much. We work to make our guests feel at home and well taken care of, so it is very rewarding to know how much our guests enjoy themselves.
We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
My best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

This hotel is very unlike other Play Del Carmen hotels. If you have seen the pictures you will notice the rooms are surrounded by a very lush garden of trees and plants. You will NOT get any sun here. The pool is down below and colder than my ex's heart. The hotel itself is in an excellent location and close to everything.
You are 1 block from 5th Avenue where there is a Starbucks and reg coffee is 52 pesos or you can go up to 10th and get a nice coffee from OXXO (variety store, similar to 7-11) beer is $1 a can here too.. down on 5th there are no less than 3 rock bands going at it after 9pm within a block or two. Best free music you can see anywhere.

We were in room 31. on the main floor facing the check in desk. The bed is very firm which wasn't great for my aging hips, but slept well with no outside noise except for the band playing in the bar until about 11pm. The airconditioner was a windows ac unit but in the wall high up so you have a remote.

It is far from a modern hotel and shows it's age although well kept. There are muffins and coffee in the morning by the
desk.

There are 3 ladies that clean the rooms and appear to be a little shy at first until you start talking to them.

The walkways are like cobble stone and can be a little difficult to walk on especially at night as it's especially hard to see the single steps. Bring your insect repellent, there are lots of mosquitos on this property. I got bit a lot.

The front desk people are very friendly and helpful and knowledgable of the area. The safe requires a 500 pesso deposit for the key and if you want towels for the beach they are 100 peso deposit each.

If you are a beach person and don't want to waste your money on beach clubs, do yourself a favour and get a couple of beach chairs at walmart for 7 to 10 cdn and leave them at the hotel for the next people.

Everyone I spoke with liked this hotel. Although I really liked this hotel, it wasn't quite what I was expecting and probably would not return which is nothing new for us as we have never stayed in the same place twice.

Stayed: January 2018
1  Thank colinm44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itzel S, Gerente at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Colinm44
Thank you so much for your wonderful words, it's like being far away from the city, but you are in, you can forget where you came from and loose in the Garden views, it's why our guests prefer us, it is much more peaceful.
Sorry about the walkways the stones were laid in a very traditional way to keep the rustic views. Sadly this occasionally results hard to walk in the night but we will take a look and see if we can put more lights.
Hope we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
My best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Loved our experience at the Luna Blue Hotel. Cozy and comfortable rooms. Olenty of space. Cute and clean showers with organic products. Lots of towels.
Big plus is the customer service starting at the receptionnist all the way to the bartender, everyone was helpful and nice.
Would recommend anytime!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Bibiscus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itzel S, Gerente at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Dear Bibiscus,
Thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at Luna Blue Hotel. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We will say your compliments on to our reception Team. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Best regards from Playa del Carmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

We stayed a week in a Tropical Hideaway room.
ROOM: It had plenty of floor space and drawers to put your things. Bathroom had enough counter space and a rack to hang swimwear. Ceiling fan was adequate for the cooler front that came during our stay. Air condition worked but we didn't need it. We really enjoyed the balcony hideaway with two chairs and a small table. We could sit there morning or night and get good wifi. I did not think it was slow at all and I am picky about this. I don't suggest this room if you have problems with steps. There are a total of 31 wooden and cement steps.

SHOWER: Shower took awhile to get hot and by then you had to add cool water to stay under. Our pressure on the top floor was not so strong. I suggest you use the pool shower for sand removal. It has strong pressure.

STAFF: Luna Blue hospitality was exceptional. Housekeeping was friendly and did a great job cleaning sand out of the room and shower. Every day the bed looked so nice with special towel arts like swans and elephants. Front desk personnel answered all our questions with advise to beach clubs and evening restaurants. Hats off to Calab, he was fantastic at keeping our drinks fresh and tasty.

EXTRAS: Each morning we were able to have free coffee with muffins or croissants. Pool was a good size and aesthetically pleasing (clean with no harsh chemicals) both day and night. It is under a jungle canapy and does not get too warm. Most evenings, we enjoyed the swing bar at Luna Blue. Many locals frequented this bar with great conversation and more advise for our stay. Luna Blue provided live solo artists playing a variety of good music most evenings which we enjoyed.

In all, Luna Blue is the place to stay. Only a few blocks from the beach and around the corner from 5th. Noise was only an issue one night and manager took care to let offending business know of the displeasure. We would return to Luna Blue and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itzel S, Gerente at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Susan,
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are all delighted that enjoyed your visit so much. We do try to make our guests feel at home, and well taken care of, so it is very rewarding to know how much our guests enjoy themselves.We hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
My best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

I am a local. I used to about 2-3 times with the former bartender Jorge and I had never had any issue. But with the new management, I am very disappointed about the poor service.
My wife went with a friend while bar was empty. Bartender stayed behind his bar never asking what they wanted to drink. They went to the bar and asked for 4 mojitos. The sign says 2x80 pesos and at the end the bartender charged them 120 pesos each. He thought they were tourists and could take advantage of them.
Then few days later, I went myself with 2 kids, we sat on the swings and waited for bartender to ask us what we want. But he was too busy to talk with pretty girls that he completely ignore us. He looked at us but continued to charm those girls ignoring us. After many minutes we just walked away from the bar.
So sad, it is a beautiful place but I will not go back there until they change the bartender !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Patrice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itzel S, Gerente at Luna Blue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017


Hello Patrice, how are you? sorry about that, we are sad to know
this situation we hope you give us one last chance to visit us, we offer you an apology and 2x1 in margaritas and 10% discount on your bill.
Send me an e-mail at reservations@lunabluehotel.com on header "Comment TripAdvisor" to send you the details to get the discounts :)
Have an excellent day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews