We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$150
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$210
US$183
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$425
US$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$402
US$287
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$220
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Reviews (18,074)
Filter reviews
18,074 results
Traveller rating
14,298
2,454
742
329
251
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14,298
2,454
742
329
251
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaria mariechef's platecoffee houseromance conciergespice restaurantdanny boyjose garciafrozen grapeshour loungeocean viewturn down servicetequila barour honeymoonlobby barbeach butlerpresidential suiteil pescatore
Filter
Updating list...
648 - 653 of 18,074 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks. The room was great and very clean. The whole hotel was very clean and the food was great. The employees were very friendly and helpful. I would like to specifically mention the following employees Ezequiel Ramirez, Rebecca Capitan, José Cruz, Martin Juan Secura and Geronimo Lucas. I thank you very much for the perfect service.

Room Tip: Room with garden view. So you have a room which is very centrally located.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eveline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Eveline D,

Thank you very much for sharing with us and all others your ROYAL experience.
It is always so rewarding to know that our staff went above and beyond to make your stay memorable
We look forward to pampering you once again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We did a package vacation through Southwest Air. Southwest gets a review of it's own.

Upon arrival at the hotel, the excellent adventure began. our bags were were placed in a secure location and we were led to the concierge for check-in. The entire arrival and check-in procedure took 10 minutes. We were in in our room and ready for the vacation experience.

Of course we were hungry so we hit rhe ocen front restaurant for a quick bite. The quick bite turned out to be a lightly sauteed grouper on a bed of mushroom risotto. We quickly got a glimpse of what was in our 5 day future.

The rooms are large and clean. Our room was equipped with a two person hot bath spa, large walk in shower, plenty of closet space, safe, hair dryer, iron, and plenty of towels.
The refrigerator is stocked daily with bottled water, beer and other drinks, all included with package. You may go through 10-12 bottles of water a day, it's provided throughout the resort. Housekeeping provides an unusual amount of oversized towel on a dialy basis, we were never short on towels.

There are at least five restaurants on the property. Two require reservations. It is suggested to make your reservation as soon as you become familiar with the facility. Reservations stop at 3pm daily for that night, so make them so you dont forget. The Versigee and Chefs Kitchen are the two reservation reservation restaurants, and they are well worth the effort. The other restaurants are not to be forgotten They are all excellent! Food and service wise.

At his point I would like to give a shout out to our waiters Javier in the Spice Breakfast Restaurant and Victor in the Asiana restaurant. The servers make it a point to get to know you and what you like. The service is duplicated throughout the resort.

The facility has three main pools. The main pool has all the activities throughout the day. The loungers and cabanas are on a first come first serve basis. Unlike many other resorts. There was never a problem finding a pool side chair or cabanas on the beach or pool , and we were there during spring break. This is an adult only resort, average age 30-50 yeras and mostly couples. We spent the first couple days at the main pool, but than moved over to the smaller secluded more quiet pool for relaxation. Service at both pools are the same, you never have empty drink.

Must Do's include: 1) The reservation restauarants, 2) The 24 hour sports snack area,
3) The coffee house, 4) Catch the evening entertainment you can always leave if you dont like it, but you may be surprised.

** We had an $200 voulcher for resort services. It is important to know you can use the voiulcher to do a room upgrade. If not you can use it for spa services or additional bottle of wine. But than again you can get a glass of wine anythime anywhere.
Dont be afraid to order top shelf liquor drinks, they have them and they are included.

As far as the beach goes, it is smaller, the water was a little rough during our stay. The red flags were out but people still braved the waves. The Cancun beaches were nicer, but I would not let the beach hinder your decision to use this resort.

Checkout is as easy as check-in. The staff is extremely helpful. If you are familiar with resorts, you know the the routine on time share and excursion pitches. You may be interested or just don't answer your room phone when there, If important, the caller will leave a message. After all who from home knows where you are and are able to contact you through your room phone?

Overall of at least ten Cancun and Riviera Maya resorts I have visited, The Royar Playa Del Carmen was by far the best. Excellent Sercie, Food and overall experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Kevin T,

We would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your recent visit to THE Royal Playa del Carmen and also would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It really makes us feel good when we learn that we have been successful in accomplishing our mission of making your vacation unforgettable.
We hope to see you for your next vacation so we can pamper you again here at "your Home Away from Home".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I have vacationed at this hotel 9 times now. We decided to go to a different location the previous year and just went back this February. It felt like returning home. Everything about the royal is excellent. The rooms, the facilities, the restaurants, but what makes it hands down the best is the people that work there. My favorite guy there is Comerade, He is a waiter at Rincon Mexicano and he is always smiling. I always look forward to seeing him. At spice Adan and Reynaldo are excellent. Even the room service was over the top— Jose Canche made sure our minibar was stocked to perfection and Jessica our turn down service gal always made cute towel animals to make us smile. Last but not least if you want to relax and get a great massage Gilda at the Spa excellent. Thank you Royal for always making a vacation what a vacation should be..

Room Tip: The rooms facing the main pool are the best location
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank jodiepaul1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear jodiepaul1213,

We like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share with us such an enthusiastic review! We are very satisfied knowing that you fully enjoyed our beautiful Resort. As for the staff members you have mentioned in your review, we will make sure to pass on your kind comments to them, whom I´m sure did everything out of love in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

I must start by saying the food at the Pelican and Rincón Mexicano was the best. The chef Omar and host Jose made sure we were taken care of. Because of those two guy, we went back and ate there every day. We have been to lots of nice places and are usually treated well, but this place takes the cake.
From the minute you walk in, you are waited on. The cold towels were the best. Check in was fairly slow, but they were training so it was completely understandable. Our room number was 508, it was a swim up beach front walk out suite. The room was nice, the tub was full and had rose petals floating. There was a bottle of wine on ice and a towel made Swan on the bed. There was a bar in the pool about 10 feet from our patio, so that was convenient. The beach is clean and just steps away. There is absolutely nothing to complain about, this place is great and has really nice staff.

Thank you to Soberanis and Manuel for the hospitality. You guys were great.
Thank you to Nicolas and Teresa Estrada, or room was great. The decorations with the towels and roses were unexpected and amazing.
Thank you Michele for showing us around. Also thanks for breakfast, hand bag and T-shirt. We had a good time with you.
Thank you to the three guys who helped us with the tickets to Xplor. (Maybe Ruben or Peter)
Thank you to our little stocky Navigator driver. You kept us feeling safe on the road.

Thanks everyone for a great anniversary!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dmc51176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear dmc51176,

We really appreciate this fabulous review. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to host you in your Anniversary!!
Thank you from your feedback about our staff, one of the most important part in our resort. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

My wife and I had our honeymoon here. It was pretty amazing. Apologies in advance, we didn't catch the full names of some of the staff who helped us out.

Service: Top notch. From checking in, switching rooms (a honeymoon with two beds? changed to a king), making dinner reservations, ordering early morning room service, to checking out, everything was smooth and pleasant. Special mention to Miguel, the fellow who showed us to our room and helped us switch out, and also all of the front desk concierge staff.

Value: The whole trip was a gift, so I couldn't say for sure. BUT, I would highly consider coughing up the coin to return sometime down the road. Very good value.

Cleanliness: It's like Disneyworld, the place is so clean.

Noise Level: The main pool area is active during the day, which shouldn't be an issue since I would highly recommend not spending the day in your room, if you can help it. There are plenty of rooms, or so I guess, away from the central area that seemed quite a bit quieter, namely near the cafe. Shout out to Edson, who was very keen to help us with our Spanish.

Room: The room was pretty fantastic. Air conditioning, hot tub, mini-fridge, television, 24-hour room service, in-room safe. Great view of the pool area. We would like to make special mention of Deysi Gomez, who made our room feel special during our honeymoon with romantic decoration and fun towel creations every day and night, and Jose Camche (?), who kept us stocked with specific beverages and snacks. Really just the best.

Restaurants: All of the on-site restaurants were great, but be sure to make reservations for Maria Marie and Chef's Plate. I think I cried a little at Chef's Plate. Excellent service and unforgettable food.

Staff: I can't help but mention again how great the staff were. I've read some reviews that say the opposite, but I can't take them seriously, unless someone was having a bad day or something. Courteous, respectful, kind, helpful. Every staff member we encountered between February 21 and March 1, 2018, were amazing.


Complaints: I have only two complaints.
One, I saw someone's book "reserving" one of the beachside beds for an entire day and that's not the resort's fault that a guest is taking advantage of the honour system, but I kinda wish there was a system in place so that normal folk like you and me could enjoy the beach beds without having to, I don't know, read the last 10 pages of the book and then write spoilers at the beginning.
Two, karaoke is only one night a week. I met quite a number of people waiting for the washroom in the immediate few days after that agreed that there should be more nights dedicated to karaoke. Don't go changing your business model for me, though. The nightly shows were also very entertaining.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the central pool are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pretzelcoatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D, Gerente at The Royal Playa del Carmen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Pretzelcoatl,

Thank you for choosing us to spend this special date, your Honeymoon! We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and make us feel very proud of our entire staff!! We really appreciate your point of view in each thing you mentioned. We are excited that you really enjoyed our service. Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guests and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.
Remember The Royal Playa is your home away from home! It will be our pleasure to host you once again in your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews