We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15,323)
Filter reviews
15,323 results
Traveller rating
11,123
2,520
908
482
290
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
11,123
2,520
908
482
290
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martini bar health bar santa fe swim up room k team sand bags fuentes pool la isla pool greenhouse tour casitas section wine pairing outdoor shower culinary theatre jo jos spot restaurant d'italia casitas personal concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 15,323 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2021

The place is nice and upkeep is phenomenal!
Santa Fe Steakhouse was really bad. The “corn chowder” was literally water with a couple tiny bites of chopped potato. The braised beef there was also really bad, with a huge piece of grizzle running through the middle and was unable to cut or bite through it. The Fuentes meal was also terrible. The best tasting places were the Italian restaurant and the Mexican food. The wine tasted watered down everywhere, except the Italian restaurant. The foam party in the pool was super fun! The room was cleaned and restocked each day. The water definitely was making me sick to my stomach, even though they said it was filtered from the restaurants. They supplied bottled water, which my body handled a lot better. Overall we had a great time, just a little disappointed with the food and the bell boy didn’t pick us up with our luggage when we were leaving, even though we scheduled it ahead of time with the concierge. They said they never got the message from them. Checkout process also had a few hiccups, as they forgot to give us a checkout “slip”, which we needed for our airport transportation.

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amandaperdue88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisma Hotels and Resorts , General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

¡Hola!
Dear amandaperdue88
Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel. Let me express my gratitude for taking the time to write about your stay at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
We are very sorry for not being able to exceed your expectations and have left this image of our services.
We have worked very hard in check in and check out process in order to avoid other guests get the same impression.
We´ll kindly let F&B department know about bad service you received during your stay.
Our customers’ opinions and suggestions are really crucial in the process of improving our performance, so we thank your valuable comments which undoubtedly help us take a step forward in terms of client´s satisfaction.
We hope you give us the opportunity of hosting you in the near future at, El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma.
Sincerely,
Management response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

We stayed at EDR for the 3rd time, we went to celebrate my birthday, we were in building 54 with our wonderful butlers Andres and Rene. They were fantastic in everything, they even surprised us with a beautiful deco in our bed, and gave us flowers, these are the kind of things we love about EDR, the details that exceed our expectations every time we go. We had a wonderful weather, amazing food as well and the warmth of all the staff. Thank you very much for this amazing week.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank roymY696TG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisma Hotels and Resorts , General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

¡Hola!
Dear roymY696TG
Thank you very much for appreciating the arduous effort to maintain our Resort as a Luxury, relaxing and romantic ambience for vacationers such as yourself. I am really happy to see that you enjoyed and to hear that your experience with our resort was in line with our reputation for upscale and quality service.
It was an honor to host you one more time at El Dorado Royale, we will wait for you next year!
Sincerely,
Management response.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021 via mobile

Marco Gibran and Jose did an excellent cooking demonstration! Awesome food at every meal. Beautifully kept grounds and friendly staff make up for the lack of beach time (due to seaweed). Pool and multiple daily activities allowed us to be as busy or relax as much as we wanted.

Room tip: Bring your own pool float!
Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Natalie_and_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisma Hotels and Resorts , General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

¡Hola!
Dear Natalie_and_Luke
We very much appreciate your review on TripAdvisor, we have had a great pleasure reading it.
It is amazing to read that our guest truly appreciate our arduous efforts to preserve our beaches and Resort as a Luxury, relaxing and romantic ambience for vacationers such as yourself.
I am really happy to see that you enjoyed the Gourmet Inclusive food service, we are proud to offer the best for our guests so It is interesting to read that you enjoyed every detail of the Karisma Gourmet Inclusive Experience.
Hopefully, we will have the pleasure of welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely,
Management response.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2021

Felipe who works the greeting area at the entrance was extra friendly and the most helpful and knowledgeable of everyone who worked at the resort. He went above and beyond to help us with anything we needed. The only complaint I would have is that the drinks were lacking any alcohol.

Date of stay: July 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank djboogieboyluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisma Hotels and Resorts , General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

¡Hola!
Dear djboogieboyluis
It has been a pleasure to read your recent review. We very much appreciate your comments regarding, most of all, Felipe´s performance.
It will be a pleasure to extend your compliments to Felipe, we are sure it will be a really nice way to encourage him to keep on being himself.
We hope we can welcome you once again and provide you another pleasant vacation in the Caribbean.
Sincerely,
Management response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021

This was our 5th time coming here and it always lives up to our expectations. Erika always made sure our room was clean. Our butlers Alfredo and Alexis went above to make sure every thing was perfect every day, they handled requests promptly, and checked in with enough through the day to make sure everything was perfect but not so much so where it felt intrusive. And the chef in 32 Mrs Vicky was AMAZING best payea ive ever had. already planning our next trip.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KalbasaKING
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karisma Hotels and Resorts , General Manager at El Dorado Royale, by Karisma, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2021

¡Hola!
Dear KalbasaKING
First we want to thank you for your positive and kindly feedback. I am happy to hear that your experience in our resort was up to your expectations one more time!
We heartily appreciate your kind words to all the staff, facilities and services.
We will address your kindly comments with all our staff.
We are excited to welcome you back next year at El Dorado Royale, a Spa Resort by Karisma, your Mexican home in the Riviera Maya.
Sincerely,
Management response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews