We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Steak”

PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar
Ranked #102 of 1,466 Restaurants in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PLANK offers a unique & fine dining experience like no other in the region. We're located on a quaint street right off 5th ave with an upscale sophisticated atmosphere Our concept focuses on a special cooking technique designed to delicately infuse natural flavor by cooking our food directly on Himalayan salt stones and wooden planks! We feature a gourmet family style menu including USDA certified beef, prime seafood selections, gourmet flatbreads and large shareable side dishes. Be sure to try our signature creations including Cedar Plank Salmon or our Famous Beef Wellington or our tender Twin Baby Lobster Tails! We're also the perfect venue if your celebrating a special occasion (let us know). For reservations click on our web site.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Loved the steak and they suggested getting it undercooked so we could use the hot stone to cook it as we went along. Service was great, friendly... two people at our table ordered sea bass and didn't like it. On a quiet, pretty street.

Thank runandgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi there runandgolf,

Thank you for leaving us such glowing feedback following your recent culinary experience at Plank Gourmet Grill & Patio Bar.

We are so happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your time in Plank so very much.

Our creative plank concept complete with Himalayan salt, wood and granite blocks gives a unique taste sensation each and every time. So, we are very glad to hear you enjoyed your plank cooked steak.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Fern Coll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Very average food for a very high ticket. Service is good as t is the standard in the region, but the food is below par, specially considering all the good restaurants around.

Wouldn’t go back.

Thank Hidekierigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We decided to go to Plank to try the five course tasting menu. We were not disappointed. We were expecting smaller portions, but you definitely get a lot of food! The only thing we did not care for was the lobster. It didn't seem extremely fresh and had a strong odor. The rest of the food was amazing. The dessert was so good, we returned the following evening after roaming the city to have the dessert platter for two. It was delightful!

The staff is warm and welcoming! Service was great throughout the meal. The ambiance was great.

We thought the prices were acceptable based on the quality and portions of the food. Much cheaper than what it would be in the U.S.

We are looking forward to returning here again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank slaes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi there slaes10,

Thank you for leaving us such wonderful feedback following your recent culinary experience at Plank Gourmet Grill & Patio Bar.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our 5-course tasting menu so much that you came back the following night to dine with us again.

our Executive Chef has created these epscial tasting menus with only the finest ingreediets, prime seafood an USDA certified meat, so we are so happy to know you could taste this fantatic quality.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Fern Coll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

fantastic, leisurely brunch! Really great waiter-Ricardo & all staff was fantastic. Even saw the manager assisting with diners! Great---i mean great live music ---the 3 dudes with "Electracoustics' simply fabulous...just right for the brunch atmosphere...Must go for this brunch again & again. Lovely atmosphere all around!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, Guest Relations Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi there Rosemary H,

Thank you for leaving us such fantastic feedback following your recent culinary experience at Plank Gourmet Grill & Patio Bar.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our legendary brunch, from the generous buffet and extravagant menu to our attentive staff and amazing live band.

Our Executive Chef Juan Diego Solombrino is always striving to create a brunch experience like no other, so we are so happy that we could do this for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Fern Coll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

We were invited to go there with friends, and we're glad we did.
The staff were very nice and helpful, and the food was amazing.
Definently worth a visit whilst staying in Playa Del Carmen..

Thank Mette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaAssoc, General Manager at PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi there Mette M,

Thank you for leaving us such great feedback following your recent culinary experience at Plank Gourmet Grill & Patio Bar.

We are so happy to hear you and your friends enjoyed your time in Plank so very much.

With our attentive staff, 5 Diamond award service, and luxury menu, we aim to create an experience like no other in Playa del Carmen. We serve only the finest prime seafood and USDA Certified meat, so it's wonderful to know you tasted this quality.

Again, thank you for your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Fern Coll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to PLANK Gourmet grill & patio bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing