We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,786)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveller rating
1,403
290
77
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,403
290
77
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnermega resortsocean view bungalowmayan dancerssmall hotelcevichebeach barrental caryogurtall inclusivesocean frontpalm treesrelaxing vacationgreat beachthe entire staffnight lifethe wait staff
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Just returned yesterday....

I've been going to Lafitte for ten years and through half a dozen trips. The property and services are even stronger than they used to be. The level of service and day-to-day friendliness and efficiency of the staff puts to shame places billed 5 stars and thousands of dollars more in cost. So there's nothing new to add to this. David is the maestro of this resort and his dedication to quality and kindness sets the tone for the entire staff, who are almost entirely without fault or an unkind look.

That said, I am writing simply to warn that to this solo and with-girlfriend traveller to Lafitte, the place has now officially been overrun by kids. In past years, there was a decent mix of all kinds of travellers, and they happily co-existed. Now I'm afraid it is almost exclusively families and the occasional middle age couple.

To me this trip we felt trapped by an endless band of kids screaming, crying and generally running wild in the place. We rented a bungalow, which is terrific, but from basically 6:30am to 10:30pm, kids are running back-and-forth, screaming and acting out as kids do. They're just kids of course, but I found it both exhausting and frustrating. For this reason I would NOT return, and wanted to warn couples or individuals that this is now the norm here, so wise to look elsewhere.

Kids and families are the priority and even the bar is filled with kids many hours of the day (sorry bars are not for kids, they're like church and state, especially as a respite FROM the kids for the rest of us). One example: For a good part of an afternoon, there was some kid playing video games with his speakerphone on AT THE BAR, while he screamed and squealed playing with other kids online. The adults all looked at each other like "how is this even tolerated?" We come to get away from this nonsense, not endure it.

Another: Our last night looking at the moon was ruined by kids running and screaming while they played on their devices by the hammocks on the beach. It just became exhausting. We literally felt TRAPPED.

Parents need to teach their kids that adults need their space and they come for relaxation, and there are certain ways to behave and certain ways not to. I was horrified how much people just let their kids do whatever they feel like it, without any supervision. So this is really an indictment of the parents as much as the resort.

ALSO: The first room they put us in on building side (not the bungalows) there was very noisy construction directly behind all the rooms, which was maddening. Again to David's eternal credit he moved us to a bungalow when we complained. (David is really an amazing man–a true gentleman and emissary for the hotel.)

Just to sum up: Lafitte is magical, and the staff is incredible. So too the meals and the value for money. I really love all these people. Sadly, it's all about the families now, and adults wanting some peace and beauty might look elsewhere.Thanks to all the staff who have made this place memorable. I'll remember the good.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Cameron J,

We understand your reasons to feel the way you feel about your most recent stay at Petit Lafitte. We feel the same way about your review…Mixed feelings that go from the gladness of knowing we do a good job, a job that is valued and cherished by our guests and also the sadness of knowing you have made an irrevocable decision to not return here after being a repeat guests of ours and even after stating that property and service are stronger than before. While we respect your decision, and we deeply regret it, we wanted to add some light to the readers who are thinking of coming to visit Petit Lafitte:
This time you stayed for the four nights of Easter weekend which definitely are a school break time, which translates to families traveling with kids of all ages. Petit Lafitte has doors and arms open to all kinds of travelers, we accept families, couples, solo travelers regardless of their beliefs, skin color, religion, political preference etcetera. One of the things that makes this place magical, and this has been repeated in many reviews, is that the guests that come here tend to resonate with one another, for the most part, guests enjoy interactions with other guests and that is an added bonus to the Lafitte experience. It is rare to find a bad mix…but evidently it is possible. My suggestion is for optimal tranquility and adult atmosphere, avoiding school break times is a good idea. I have seen the scenario that you describe and I have felt that some parents take a very relaxed attitude towards the behavior and energy of their kids, as if everyone should like kids the same way they do. Not every kid or parents are the same, but I have seen what you described in your review. I can see how you felt trapped at times and felt that you had no place to go within the hotels premises to receive what you came here for. I accept on behalf of all of the Petit Lafitte team the responsibility that we have and that we seem to have failed to handle this time. I mean the responsibility of negotiating and mediating with kids (and their parents) when they behave in a disruptive way.
This is going to be addressed to the management and we will move in the right direction to try and preserve the tranquility and the relaxed atmosphere we are known for.
Now about the construction noise next door, unfortunately, there isn’t anything we can do. The neighbors are building and by law they can. Fortunately this is only a temporary condition and we have a very good relationship with the owners. Besides by law, they can only use machinery (the one that makes noise) between 8 am and 6 pm. Shortly after you left, we spoke with the neighbors and they offered to start a little bit later that the law allows and as a matter of fact three days later the work seems to have stopped.
As many other recent reviews will confirm, Petit Lafitte continues to provide magical moments and relaxing vacation experiences for all kinds of travelers. Those who are sensitive to kids, are advised to avoid school breaks.
Cameron, thank you for your preference, kindness and loyalty of many years, we will miss you and we wish you great traveling experiences and vacations in the future.

Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Petit Lafitte was a wonderful small intimate resort with plenty to see and do. A family-oriented place where the kids could roam around safely all day and into the night. Wild monkeys roaming freely and a great beach. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff too.

Room Tip: The bungalows are great!
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobandCrew16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Robandcrew16,

We see that your family vacation in Riviera Maya was complemented by a nice stay with us. We are glad that you liked it!
We hope that the return home in Canada was hassle free and that the memories collected here last you all year long…or better yet…until a return visit?

All the best!

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This is the place to be if you want to relax, enjoy the sun, sky, sand & sea! It is NOT the place to be if you want continual activity, loud music, hyperactive adults & children. We will always return for the comfortable rooms, delicious food & drinks. The dedicated, loyal, fun loving staff have become friends, & they make this oasis special!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Dear Pam H,

Thank you very much for your kind review and your loyalty.
We are much honored to have such a lovely extended family.
See you and S. next time.

Best regards,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We were in the Playa Del Carmen area for a family wedding - but for the rest of our visit, we wanted a lowkey home base to relax, eat good food, and enjoy the beach. Petit Lafitte was the perfect choice. The value for the price was fantastic - breakfast and dinner were great and the drinks were affordable/delicious.

We definitely plan to return. There is nothing like having a cocktail or a glass of wine on the beach, getting up early to watch the sunset, or using the hotel as a base for exploring the Playa del Carmen area. My one note: don't be scared away by the drive down a few twists and turns to get to the front gate. The hotel is hidden, but definitely a real gem once you get there. And the service we received from the staff was just great - they were always willing to help with anything we needed during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank oklahomatraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hola Oklahomatraveler14!

We’re happy to read that you stumbled upon us due to a wedding you attended in another resort.
Thank you for choosing us and for liking us so much that you would consider a second visit!
Net time to rest and relax I imagine?? Maybe discover some of the great attractions of Riviera Maya, like the archeological mayan sites or jungle adventures, fishing, snorkeling, diving, cenotes and more!
We will keep our ears and eyes attentive for the time when you decide to return!

Have a great rest of the year and see you next time!
Sincerely,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

we recently spent a week at Petit Lafitte and loved it. the hotel is small and quiet and very relaxing. the bungalows are cozy and comfortable and they have a front porch that you can sit on and enjoy the breeze and the palm trees. the people who work there are wonderful, friendly, helpful and made us feel like we were at home. anything we needed all we had to do was ask and it was done. the dinner menu was fixed but I'm vegetarian so one evening I had to ask for something without meat. the chef made me a dish that was absolutely amazing. we will go back again some time for another week at this beautiful property.

Room Tip: I would definitely stay in the bungalows again. you have your own space and it's very pretty
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rallygirlfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan F, Director of Sales at Petit Lafitte, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Rallygirlfocus,

How is life back in Canada? Spring is around the corner…But I know the winters are long in your neck of the woods. We hope the memories of your Mexico getaway keep you warm as needed.
Thank you very much for your kind review and for trying us for the first time. We are thrilled to hear that you are thinking of returning!!!
As you may have heard from some of the guests that you likely met here, being a repeat guest comes with a little extra benefits.

Let us know when you get the urge for warm weather!

Kind Regards,

Iván Fuentes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews