We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$208
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club(Playa del Carmen)
US$154
US$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$400
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Palm at Playa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riviera Maya Suites(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$309
US$247
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$329
US$263
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Tortuga Hotel & Spa(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Soho Playa Hotel(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
343
176
64
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
176
64
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspirate buffetbunk bedsclub areakids clubkids buffeta la carte restaurantsfamily vacationthe ice cream shopfamily sectionsergio castroclub conciergekids poolbottle warmerssuper marioswim up roommain buffetsmamma mia
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

The hotel was extremely big and difficult to get around in. I would have liked to be closer to the ocean even though this resort is ocean front. Although there is many choices of restaurants, unfortunately they seemed to serve all the same things which were average and tiresome. The worst part was the fact that my son suffered from bed bug bites from his top bunk which we didn't realize until we were at the airport going home. We thought it was a rash from the salt water, however, he revealed that there were bugs in his Bed! When closer investigated, sure enough it was bed bugs! The hotel did not offer an apology or any type of compensation, further souring us to this hotel! I would definitely not recommend or stay at this place again.

Room Tip: Check for bed bugs!
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jalynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Jalynn,

First of all, we would like to apologise for the wrong impression that you took of our hotel and staff. We are usually known for our great customer service and attention to detail in everything that we do. But we completely understand that our reputation is not something we should hide behind.

Regarding your bed bugs report at our hotel, we can assure that we haven't had any case of bed bugs in recent months. Hygiene and cleanliness of our rooms and hotel areas is something that we care deeply so we periodically have visits from pest control companies that assure us the safety and tidiness of all our rooms and hotel areas.
Since you left our hotel we haven't received any contact from you therefore any apology or compensation, as you state, would be impossible since this is the first time we are reading your complaint about your most recent visit to our hotel.

Please feel free to contact us and expose your complaints so that we can take a closer look at your hotel experience and discuss the matter further with you so that we can improve your overall image of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We traveled to the Grand Sunset Princess resort from May 28 through June 2nd 2018. As it was our first time staying at an all inclusive resort we weren't 100% sure what to expect in terms of food, service, any hidden fees, etc. Only fee is aprox 1 USD / day for environmental tax and there was no hold put on our card.
Upon arrival while we waited for check in a server brought over beer and cold frozen drinks for us while we waited (even non alcohol drinks for the kiddos).
A bottle of champagne was popped at the the check in and we were offered that as well.
We ungraded (at our request) to a swim out and it was totally worth it! The kids swam outside our room several times a day and we could watch them from the large deck or even from the comfort of our bed through the sliding glass door. (they are 12 and can swim well so we didn't need to be IN the water). The server walks by your swim out to bring you drinks too!
When we got to the room it was large, had a kind size bed, bunk beds with a trundle, Jacuzzi, separate shower and toilet plus little toiletries for the kids and their own robes. Our kids are older so the robes were too small for them but it was a nice gesture. They got to keep a pirate stuffed souvenir and we got a free Princess Suites beach bag and drink cup to keep as well. My fully stocked mini fridge wasn't cold when i arrived and it appeared it didn't work so i called the front desk. Within minutes a maintenance person was there to remove the fridge and replace it with another that had cold drinks. the concierge called to follow up that it was taken care of also.
Staff was friendly, all spoke English and made you feel very welcome.
The grounds are large so to get around you may want to take a the shuttles that go around all day as you have access to the Sunset Princess and the Grand Riviera when you stay at the family club. The concierge booked us dinner (included in our stay) at 3 of the specialty restaurants. My favorite was the Miso (Japanese) restaurant with a great selection. I am vegan and was able to find food at the specialty restaurants as well as at the buffets ever day with no issue. Quality of the food even at the buffets was excellent with options to have custom saute pasta, fresh food stations and a server to refill your beverages and clear your plates.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank jennic419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear jennic419,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your opinion about our hotel.

We are really happy to learn that you had such a great experience at our hotel and that our staff was at your service and was able to make your vacations unforgettable.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to so that we can continue to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

Hi Guys,

Just want to start off by recognizing a few of the staff that made our trip that much more incredible. First off, Elvis Alvarado. Our server at the Riviera buffet. He was so amazing. He made our 2 boys feel so special. With smiles and high fives he always made sure that we were enjoying ourselves and that the boys were happy. As we would go get our food he would put balloons on our table for the boys to find when we got back with our plates. Just an incredible man with a heart of gold. Magic Danny would also cruise through the buffet in the mornings. With his card tricks and balloon animals he always put a smile on our faces. At the Family Club bar Carlos the server and Super Mario the bartender were always there for drinks and whatever else we needed. They never said no to anything we or our boys wanted to try. At the Kid's Club Maria made sure that the boys were having fun either through the Kids Olympics or arts and crafts time poolside. We loved the resort that much more because of these people that made our vacation that much more special.

The resort was recommended to us by our travel agent as it has lots of families that rebook there. She highlighted the separate Family Club area reserved just for families and separate from the main resort. It was great for us and our 2 young boys as we didn't have to worry about any late night partiers running around and on the flip side if our boys were being rambunctious and a little loud we didn't worry as we knew that everyone there was all families and in the same boat.

We travelled through Sunwing Vacations. The bus ride from the airport to the resort was not too long. Just under an hour including a few stops at other resorts. When we got to The Princess we found the check in desk for the Family Club easily and our check in went extremely smooth. Our room was ready to go on our arrival. We didn't have to wait at all. The room itself was amazing. Big open space with a King bed. Bunk beds for the boys. Fully stocked mini fridge with water, beer, juice, choc milk and pop. There was a curtain you could pull to separate the king from the bunk beds. Helped the kids to not be distracted at bed time. The sliding screen door to the balcony was a bit ripped but did it's purpose. The balcony had a sliding gate that locked which was nice with the kids. Steps down to the pool get a little slippery but otherwise an awesome way to enter the pool every day. The bathroom was huge. With a jacuzzi tub and separate shower it was awesome for us as a family. One thing we loved about the room was there were stuffed animal pirates waiting on the beds for the kids. And also robes for mom and dad and kid sized robes for the kids and beach toys in the bathroom. AMAZING!

The Family Club was great in that it had separate pools, a bar, the pirate buffet, an ice cream shop and the splash park for the kids. The pirate buffet was nothing special. Good for a snack if the kids got hungry but I wouldn't recommend it for a full meal for the whole family. It has hot dogs, chicken nuggets, fries, fruit and yogurt. That's pretty much it. We had a swim up room which was amazing for us. Very convenient if the kids needed to go to the bathroom or were tired or just wanted to lounge around. It was great for us too as we put lifejackets on the kids and were able to watch from the comfy lounge chairs on our balcony. There was a bar poolside which was fully stocked and never busy. The ice cream shop was awesome. Nice for a quick cooldown on hot days. You can get cones, fresh fruit popsicles, smoothies and floats. We spent ALOT of time at the splash park and Kids Club. There were plenty of chairs available for us and they even have mini loungers for the kids to lay on. The big bucket of water that dumps every few minutes was a HUGE hit. There was a tram that stopped right outside the Family Club that took us right down to the beach. Short ride. The beach itself was incredible. The sand was so soft. One slight downside was the rocks in the water. Some people complained about the seaweed on the beach but we found they cleaned it extremely well every day. It was very easy for us to find a chair for all four of us as well. Never had to search or "hover" for chairs. The A La Carte restaurants were ok. The fondue restaurant was awesome. Was a little disappointed with the Asian restaurant. Undercooked noodles. Not the greatest. The buffets however were amazing every day. Breakfast was pretty standard but awesome none the less. Every night was a new theme at the buffets. And none of the themes were a disappointment. The Asian themed food was better than the Asian A La Carte restaurant.

There was lots of fun activities every night for all ages. There was a Pinata night, Bingo Night, Fire Dancers, Open Market among others. The nightly shows in the theatre were incredibly well done. Very theatrical. The performers were incredible dancers and they really put on a good show. Sidenote, the Horror themed show is VERY child friendly. It's not scary. Think Adam's Family and Ghostbusters. They also had a Kid's Disco where they had kids up on stage playing fun dance games. So much fun!

Overall we were ecstatic with the resort and had an amazing vacation. Sorry for the long winded review. But if you made it this far I hope you found it helpful!

Room Tip: Swim up room was a definite bonus for us and our 2 boys and we now consider it a must when travelling all inclusive.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank MJEMRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear MJEMRF,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about the time you spent at Famly Club at Grand Riviera Princess hotel.

We are very pleased for the fact that you had such a great experience with us and that you felt that our rooms, entertainment options, restaurants and beach were amazing. Also, we really appreciate your kind comments towards our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel so that we can continue to surpass your expectations.

Kind regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

People in Mexico do not have hygiene standards and this hotel is the worse for children. We just stayed at the Family Club and it was the worse experience. It turns out the personnel at the Kid's club don't clean the toys often (I even wonder if they clean them at all) since my little boy got the Hand-Mouth-Foot-Disease and it was a nightmare, high fever, vomiting, rash, sun sensitivity, etc. Then we realized that many other children had the same symptoms and had to go to the Pediatrician twice to confirm the disease.
The response from the Hotel? "It may be the soap on the bed sheets that may irritate the baby's skin. Or perhaps it's an allergy to the sunscreen? Let me see what we can do to start cleaning the toys"
Think twice if you consider this hotel for your kids, totally recommended to boost your kid's immune system before coming to Mexico. Viva Mexico.

Food at the hotel is fine, not awesome or great at all. Reservation restaurants are not impressive at all. Included wine sucks and they sell you expensive bottles of decent wine.

You have to walk a lot to the room-restaurant-beach-pool.

Rooms are not comfortable at all and I found mold in the A/C filter after I got conjunctivitis.

They don't clean the sheets well and beware of the mosquitos and Zika, they simply don't give a damn about your health; they just want your money and nobody is responsible for nothing.

Room Tip: Look for rooms closer to the beach as there are restaurants, pool and beach close to them.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Leonardo C,

At our hotel we have an extreme care with all safety and hygiene aspects of our guest's vacations and, for that reason, our staff works very hard every day to keep our hotel grounds clean, safe and beautiful.

Thus said it is with great surprise that you read your review and for a better understanding of all our past and future guests we feel the need to clarify some points of your review:

- First of all, all kids club objects are cleaned with special disinfectants called Lysol and Diversey (ie. Highchairs, doors handle, etc) who are proved to be the most effective disinfectants of germs and bacteria.

- Secondly, it is with great surprise that we read on your review that both you and your child got sick at our hotel. And we are surprised because our Concierge department contacted with you on 3 separate occasions during your stay and we received no mention of any disease or problem with you and your family. Also, our 24/7 doctor did not receive any visit from neither you or your family during the period that you vacationed at our hotel.

- Third, we haven't got any reported or diagnosed case of Head-Mouth-Feet in our hotel, from neither guests or staff members.

- Forth, the city where our hotel is located, Playa del Carmen, did not have a single case of Zika during this year, so we do not feel that our guests should have any concern related to mosquitos or this virus. Despite of that, our hotel has weekly fumigations around all hotel grounds as well as the buildings so that we can ensure that mosquitos and other bitters stay away from our dear guests.

We understand that your stay with us might not have been what you expected and we are sorry for that, but we strongly reject false claims, especially when they are related to the health and safety of our guests which we care so much about.

Kind regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager
community.riviera@princess-hotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Family Club is a resort within the Princess hotels off Highway 307 in Playa Del Carmen. The Princess hotel complex has 3 separate lobbies - Platinum Yucatan, Grand Rivera and Grand Sunset. Family club is accessible from the Grand Rivera lobby.
We were a party of 2 adults, one 15 year old and one 8 year old. We were staying in the Junior suite with Jacuzzi. The suite size is huge at approx 600 sq ft. We had called the hotel directly and requested a room with Bunk beds. In this room combination, you have a king size bed and 3 separate beds. perfect for a growing family. (TIP - If you need to request this room, call the hotel directly at their Mexican number starting from +52, do not call the travel agent / website which you might have booked it through). The family club has its own buffet, which is smaller than the bigger ones which are located downstairs, but the staff is super friendly. We had a gluten intolerant kid in our group and the hostess for the Family club Buffet (NORMA) was simply excellent, she was very familiar with the allergens and her suggestions were right on.
So, a bit about the resort - its huge and you will be walking a lot, so be prepared, there are several restaurants, another good part about Family club is that it has its own checkin / checkout and its own concierge as well.
overall, a very good resort and great maintained property with friendly and professional staff.

Room Tip: request to hotel directly dialing their mexican number
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VMKU295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princess_RivieraMaya, Gerente at Family Club at Grand Riviera Princess, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear VMKU295,

Thank you very much for taking your time in sharing your opinion about our hotel.

We are really happy to learn that you had such a great experience at our hotel and that our staff was at your service making your vacations memorable.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to so that we can continue to exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Joao Silva
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews