We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Gem ... Hidden Oasis”
Review of Posada Yum Kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Yum Kin
Ranked #21 of 100 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Kept meaning to post this but haven't had time to post all the photos etc until now!!! This was a great find! Yes, sure it's off the beaten track but even without hiring a car (which we didn't) it was an easy walk into town and taxis were so cheap. The breakfast was great - my kids had pancakes every day and so much fresh fruit. The room was spacious, well equipped and had water / coffee / tea etc. The staff were super helpful and recommended a great taxi service - a guy called Dean who literally took us on all our excusions ... very comfortable spacious car. We went to Xian biosphere which is a must, Chichen Itza, Tulum ruins, Tulum beaches plus also a number of cenotes. Such great value for money for a calm oasis. Also some people commented on the shacks opposite the hotel which have been "built" recently but from our experience all the people living there (families with kids, dogs etc) were very friendly and it absolutely wasn't a negative. Highly recommend! Thanks PYK!

Room Tip: We chose Room 7 on the first floor - lovely balcony with hammock and also very spacious for a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaMG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anna, thank you very much for all your comments, we are glad to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you know that the situation in the surroundings is not dangerous at all and that the people there are ordinary people who are starting a new space to live, despite the bad impression that this could project, we hope that in your next visit to Tulum you will consider us as an option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

This hotel is close to the main street 10 min walk, but it was a bit jard to find. The hotel is in surrounding area that is a bit slum. The hotel itself is very very nice and cozy. We stayed in a two room apartment just beside the pool. Staff was very friendly and the whole atmospere very welcoming. Overall very good value for money.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Jonas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your visit and for giving us a time to tell us your experience, we appreciate your valuable comment, we will continue working every day so that our guests take a great experience of the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We loved this place. At first, the neighborhood surprised us because the hotel is next to an outdoor community who is living on the land in temporary shelter. It turned out to be very peaceful and seemingly safe. The Posada Yom Kim is very beautiful, quiet, down to earth. It is near town and has a nice swimming pool and breakfast. It has beautiful gardens... I wish my house were built like this. The staff was very calm and friendly. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it and stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Many thanks for your good comments Nathalie, was a pleasure had you here we know that the view outsite is not the best one, but is so nice to know that you enjoy the place and the facilities, we still working day by day to have, to all our guest satisfied.

Best

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

I love PYK. Large rooms, Kitchenette, great breakfast, wonderful and helpful customer service and staff, comfortable beds, cool in the summer. I've stayed here several times and PYK always exceeds my expectations.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y1764IOjuliab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Director de Recepción at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

This small hotel is a little oasis in the middle of the real tulum, in the surroundings you'll see the tulum natives living in tents and humble shelters,the roads are not pave,but this adds realness to the experience. The hotel is very secure,the rooms are big and mine had a kitchen and a little porch with a hammock,the pool is big and it has a small fountain that makes a really relaxing sound.
To get to the beach you'll need to get a taxi or have a car.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank juancamilo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan - Balvina B, Front Office Manager at Posada Yum Kin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Many thanks for your visit and for your good comments, it is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, do not forget that the doors of this house, PYK are open for you anytime you decide to return to Tulum.

Best
PYK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
5.2 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#18 of 100 in Tulum
607 reviews
1.3 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#6 of 100 in Tulum
945 reviews
8.1 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#13 of 100 in Tulum
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 100 in Tulum
451 reviews
7.2 km away
Los Lirios Hotel Cabanas
1.5 km away
Villas H2O
Villas H2O
#44 of 100 in Tulum
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Yum Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Yum Kin

Address: Avenida Kukulcan Norte Manzana 403 | Lote 8, Tulum 77760, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Tulum
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: RM277 - RM975 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Yum Kin 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Posada Yum Kin is a small Eco-friendly hotel. Inside each suite are beautifully-appointed rooms with high-ceilings, fully equipped kitchenettes, air conditioning, FREE Wi-Fi, and large luxurious Mexican-tiled bathrooms. FREE BREAKFAST is included with most stays. BIKES may be rented for $10 USD per day each. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Yum Kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Yum Kin Tulum
Posada Yum Kin Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing