We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hosts, quite quiet considering location”
Review of Mama's Home

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mama's Home
Ranked #1 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good hosts, quite quiet considering location”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were unfortunate to find ourselves double booked At another hostel and they phoned up and redirected us to Mama's Home.
We stayed in room 6; a large double double bed room, upstairs just through the dormitory.
The beds were very comfortable, the linen spotless, efficient air conditioning and lashings of hot water in the shower.
Although beginning to shows signs of age and wear and tear I would not let that put you off; Mama's has ample redeeming features and is recommended plus there's a very nice breakfast included in the price which is good. There was as much tea/coffee as you liked and a large hot roll with papaya and a superbly cooked cheese and spinach? (or was it chaya?) omelette and peppery mash.
A nice way to start any day!

Room Tip: We were fine upstairs in room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    59
    16
    4
    11
See reviews for
10
121
125
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Mama's home is a great place to stay in Tulum !
It is next to the main street of Tulum, and the service is excellent.
We stayed in this b&b for christmas, and they served a special dinner for free.
The best part is that there are guides that work in the b&b that can take you to snorkel or dive, and they are very nice. The price is better than if you go to other guides, because when you're a tourist they often try to rip you off...
We loved it !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank his60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet street, only 10mn by foot from the bus depot, easy access to the ruins of Tulum, Mama cooks a good breakfast every morning, home cooked quality and varies it every days. You have a choice between individual rooms and dormitory.... what more can you ask with a good price.

Room Tip: It is a great stop, you will come across other travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I loved every minute of my stay at Mamas Home..Cynthia and Wolf,the owner's where so kind and helpful.Helen,Cynthias mother made THE best breakfast,she would alternate from a sweet breakfast,like crepes,chocolate and banana to a savoury one the follwing day,like omelettes with veg.Always a fruit on the side.There's coffee and selection of tea too.
My room had a/c..hot water,spacious and clean.New sheets and towels.
Alex and Stefan the guy's who work there are always on hand to help with anything.
They have brand new bikes for hire,great for cycling to the beach and around town.
They had a BBQ and all the guest's brought their choice of meat/fish and Helen&Cynthia made wonderful salads to go with it.
The B&B,hostel is set around an open courtyard where you can sit,read,listen to the music or play board games&dominoes.They have cable T.V in the large lounge..and you can use the kitchen which has everything you might need to rustle up a meal.
I have travelled extensively and this is definitley the BEST B&B i've stayed at for sure.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice..one has a kitchen..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatKennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I stayed here with my husband in Nov 2011 and loved it. We'd travelled Mexico for five weeks before and this was one on the best hostels we stayed at, not just in terms of the quality of the room (clean, spacious, air con, hot shower), but more in terms of the great atmosphere that the owners create for you.

We accidentely messed up our booking online and booked the night before, but not realising and arriving at the hostel the day after, the owners were so nice about it and checked us into a room no problem. Plus we only had to pay for the two nights we actually stayed, which was really very gracious of them.

Unfortunately we had our laptop stolen on the overnight bus to Tulum from Palenque, so had to ask the owners advice on where and how to report it. Straightaway they were kind enough to drive us to the crime office to report it and get our documents for our insurance claim sorted. We couldn´t have done it without them, as with limited Spanish, the different offices would have been impossible to navigate.

Breakfast was great - really filling and something different everyday. And the second night we stayed there they did a barbeque for us, which was really fun and perfect for getting the communal atmosphere going. You had to bring your own meat and drink, but they also put on a lovely spread of salads and salsas etc for everyone to share. The married couple who own it (alongside their mother i think) also stayed up drinking and chatting with us, giving us their best advice on what to check out in the area.

The only slight downside to the hostel is that it is in the town of Tulum and it is too far to walk to the beach area. However there are numerous bikes to rent close by and the amazing beach is just a short 15 minute ride away, so no problem at all if you like a bit of exercise. Plus if you are on a bit of a budget, it is wise to stay in the town, as bars and restaurants in the beach area are very good but very expensive.

Tulum is an incredible place and if you want great service and value for money stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.9 km away
Posada Luna del Sur
Posada Luna del Sur
#5 of 96 in Tulum
924 reviews
2.9 km away
Mi Amor Colibri Boutique Hotel
3.0 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 96 in Tulum
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
El Pez Colibri Boutique Hotel
7.4 km away
Las Palmas Maya
Las Palmas Maya
#14 of 96 in Tulum
352 reviews
0.2 km away
Chill Inn Hostal
Chill Inn Hostal
#5 of 116 in Tulum
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama's Home

Property: Mama's Home
Address: Calle Orion sur Entre Venus y Sol Oriente 316, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Tulum
Price range (per night): RM86 - RM159
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mama's Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing