We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Looking for quiet and privacy in a tropical...”
other travellers have booked this property
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Downstairs sleeping area now has a queen size bed equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Why you come to Tankah! our beach looking north
Downstairs sleeping area now has a queen size bed
equipped kitchen
Cenote Manati just a 15 minute walk
shaded reading area
fresh coconut from our trees
dining area
turtle returning to sea after laying and burying eggs
tankah sunrise
talavera bathroom with walk in shower
garden flower
minicenote in ocean floor 10 min walk south
Tulum ruins only 15 minutes away
Two person kayak to take out on our calm and beautiful bay
View of kitchen with ladder to loft with two double beds.
Sunrise from neighbors deck
Beach to the south
The loft with 2 double beds
New queen bed and sitting area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tulum, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
patricia...
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Looking for quiet and privacy in a tropical garden ending in a lovely private beach....that is Casa Katalina”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The present house is very comfortable for a couple maybe with an older child who can sleep in the loft. It was ideal for us, an older couple who love privacy, flowers, birds, butterflies and eating alone on the beach at sunup and sunset. Tankah Bay is very quiet but only a short drive from shopping and restaurants in Tulum. Rent a car to explore and to shop for groceries. Walk down to Casa Cenote in the early AM for a swim before the diving classes gather....swim /snorkel ALL the way to the back where the fish hang out and herons and cormorants will be catching breakfast two feet away from your face mask!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thanks for visiting a second time. If you have the notion would love an additional review as guests like to see recent ones. Thanks also for treating me to dinner. Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aispute
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing vacation”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Kasita Katalina for 1 weeks from September 30-rd to 7-thOctober and we loved it. Walking through the garden down to the Caribbean every morning will stay with us forever. The house itself is very functionaland it had everything we needed for a visit. The location is quiet and feels secure as the house has large walled garden and there are security guards at the end of the private road. The garden is fantastic and we saw iguanas, humming birds and crabs all running around. The private beach is beautiful and we had dinner several times under the palms trees..Special mention to Juan the caretaker for the fresh coconuts. This place is amazing if you like to relax in beautiful location. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocnMac
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Kasita Katalina for 2 weeks from 3rd to 17th May and we loved it. Walking through the garden down to the Caribbean every morning to have breakfast will stay with us forever. The bungalow itself is very functional with some nice little touches (the bathroom) and it had everything we needed for a self catering visit. The location is quiet and feels secure as the house has large walled garden and there are security guards at the end of the private road. The garden is fantastic and we saw iguanas, humming birds and crabs all running around. The private beach is beautiful and we had dinner several times under the palms trees. The reef on the beach is great for snorkeling and we saw many tropical fish, turtles and barracuda. Take some water shoes to get to the reef as it is rocky for about 5 minutes before you reach it. We were there in low season and it was so peaceful and there are only a couple of bars/restaurants within walking distance. The margaritas at casa cenote are worth the walk. We hired a car for a week and did some traveling (tulum ruins/coba/lahabna/xel-ha/scuba diving) and these were all great days out. We also used the collectivos to get into Tulum and these were frequent and cheap from the main road. Special mention to Juan the caretaker for the fresh coconuts. This place is amazing if you like to relax in beautiful location. We will be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and private beach
Liked least: the mosquitos (werent that bad!)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nst620
Mill Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, private beachfront property”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location - quiet, private and enjoy the hammocks at the beachfront!

House was spotless and perfect size for family of four. The kids (11, 13) loved having the loft area to themselves. We didn't have a car but there is a fantastic cenote a few minutes walk from the house, and great snorkeling right out front a couple of hundred yards from the house.

It is also a great base from which to explore nearby attractions. Highly recommend a local Birding tour and Punta Laguna Monkey Reserve through Yucatan Outdoors.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanne S
Larkspur, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place and Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our stay was perfect. Don't pay attention to the Trip Advisor Map. The place is just a few steps from the private beach. Snorkeling was good and the place was exactly as stated. The owner met us when we came and Juan the caretaker was very helpful and charming. I would highly recommend this place to everyone. The only suggestion I would have is to have instructions for leaving the key at the end of your stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy / felt like it was our own little slice of heaven
Liked least: The bed was a little hard but this would be hard to please everyone as we all have different preferences
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing