We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ultimate Chick Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Ranked #49 of 90 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Chick Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The Amansala staff provided plenty of information that helped me prepare for my trip. What they didn’t prepare me for, was my return to reality. It’s my 4th day back at the office, I’m watching snow fall outside, and not once has anyone brought me a bowl of fresh papaya with lime. Adding insult to injury, today I had yoga class in the 10th floor conference room, instead of on the beach!

I know most of you are not going to feel sorry for me, because I got to go to Bikini Boot Camp. I can sum up the experience in four words: The Ultimate Chick Vacation. I traveled solo to Amansala, and as other reviewers have pointed out, this is not a problem at all. By the end of the first day, all the boot campers had completely bonded, and I also enjoyed the company of the other guests throughout the week. If you get tired of human companions, there are three charming dogs who would be delighted to play with you. If you want to get away for a while, just grab a bike and take off on your own.

The staff at Amansala is amazing. Take any and every class you can with Kiya, you won’t find a more enthusiastic, knowledgeable, or supportive instructor anywhere else. Josh was our tour guide, patiently driving us around and putting up with all our demands (snapping photos, shopping, eating/drinking requests, and bathroom breaks). Darlene was a real sweetheart constantly tailoring our yoga classes to meet our varying abilities and needs. Most important of all, get a massage with Mike. I would return to Amansala just for another massage with him.

When I was researching this trip, I thought briefly about looking for a bargain in Cancun. All those hotels have nice gyms, right? I could do my own “fitness week” and then pay for a few yoga classes and massages on the side. I am so glad I did not do that. Tulum is charming, friendly, uncrowded, and very laid back. Amansala was just the right size and offered everything I needed for relaxation and escape. I knew I had made the right choice the moment I stepped on the beach.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PTSOmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    88
    30
    27
    30
See reviews for
34
49
110
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

I ve been to Amansala from Jan 15th-21st, 2012 for the first time. I went there by myself. I had an amazing stay at amansala and i m still in a glowing mood at home!

The place itself is so amazing but what makes it even greater is the staff and the guests! Kiya from Amansala is by far the nicest trainer !! always so positive and supportive! She is simply awesome!! I had a blast with Olmo (the torture machine! ) a trainer that came for us from tulum area. I am even trying to do workouts at home based on what i had learned in Amansala!!! Josh likes to share his knowledge about the area and having tours with him is great! Morning walk / Jogging with Josh and the dogs is something l'll miss for sure!!

The beach is awesome, clean and without rocks. There are no big resorts in the surrounding, all nice small places - cabanas - retreats ! Tulum is quiet and charming! The cabanas are eco-chic, super-cute. If you travel alone you can either choose to share a room with a roommate or pay extra and have your own room. I was paired with a roommate from Chigago. She was awesome. They could have paired me with any girl that was taking part of the bootcamp and i would have had a great time! Everyone was so nice! The cabanas are clean, simple but so lovely! There are no locks on doors but you have a safe in your room. There are no reason to bring valuable goods. Lots of training gear, and relax outfits!

The food is so tasty ! Only local food, no carbs and no white sugar. Fish, chicken, Guacamole, nice soups, salads and yummy desserts. I have even bought the cooking book on amazon back home! Alcool is not included but you can buy mojitos or wine. Next time i'll go i'll get a btl at duty free as i would enjoy a glass at dinner time

All the girls were so nice, coming alone or with friends. We had a really nice group bond as we were about 25 in the bootcamp! There is no problem if you are already in a good shape or not! The 3 dogs are so nice! I they hang around us all day and are lovely to watch play in the ocean!!

I would totally recommend Amansala and sure i'll be back ! I miss my new friends and the great atmosphere !! I am back home more positive and tone :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie-Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I'm still trying to get rid of the sand between my toes, in my ears and from my luggage but not really. It's a sweet reminder of the fantastic time I had at Amansala and Bikini Bootcamp. This was my third visit and the interesting thing is each trip is so different, due not to Amansala which stays wonderfully the same, but the incredible people who are drawn to this funky, eco-chic place on the beach.

Wonderful for me was seeing my old friends...the staff and trainers that are still there freshly challenging and supporting us to work hard, eat healthily and grow....not in the waistline or thighs, those shrunk!

The program is challenging, the food creative and tasty, and the natural surroundings of the Tulum beach all make you want to return to reality a different person. Whether it be in mind, body or spirit, you are encouraged in all aspects.

I would like to send a personal shout out to the BEST trainer on the planet, Kiya Fire! I say trainer but she is way, way more than that label can even begin to describe her. Go, girl, go!

We had several yoga instructors during our stay as there was a yoga retreat happening at the same time as our bootcamp. All interesting but Darlene was hands down my favorite for being exactly the calm and positive force I need in my practice of yoga. Darlene, you have a "melty" kind of voice that is so peaceful! Please be there next year.

Who doesn't want to go on a tour with Josh? That's all I need to say there but will add one thing. He is passionate about the natural surroundings the area offers and enthusiastically shows them to you.

Melissa, how have you kept the place and program so inviting and fresh after how many years, ten? Your concept works and provides us with exactly what we need. I'm always reminded of your opening circle comment of looking around the group and thinking there's no way I have anything in common with these different women and in the end, the bonds between us become very strong. You provide that and I am grateful for it three times running! I'm trying to swing like the monkey in the story your Buddhist friend told you.

I love Four Seasons resorts. Amansala is not that, not trying to be, but something quite different. I wouldn't trade the opportunity to stay at either. I can say that I take a lot more away from my stay at Amansala than all of my FS vacations combined. That's saying something if you know me.

Set your expectations. Be prepared to work hard. Then reap the countless benefits!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Manager at Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Gina
It was wonderful to have had you back again! We strive to be like a fine wine, getting better with time! Hope to see you again next year. Stay happy and healthy!
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I went to Amansala twice. It is on an absolutely breathtaking beach and really gives you the ultimate getaway experience. My first trip was pretty soon after it started and it was a blast- the staff were having as much fun as the guests and it all felt very low key and authentic. The second time it was still a very nice experience- but it felt a little more polished and a little less authentic/genuine. It felt like the staff were going through the motions. Honestly, having worked in a similar place- it does get very hard to stay in-tune with the guests and motvated week after week.
You definitely feel great when you leave- but don't expect a physical overhaul. It is a boot camp with options, which gives you the flexibility to do as little or as much as you would like. I think for most people this is ideal. For the die-hard, want to get their butts kicked type, Amansala may not hit the spot.
I love the natural and relaxed location- you are ON the beach in very clean but basic rooms. You eat amazing food and exercise and relax. I am one of those people that loves to go home feeling better than I left- and all too often when you travel you actually come home tired, bloated and feeling like you need a vacation:). Amansala is the cure!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amiguinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Short and sweet!
Good location,price,attmophere.
Bad barking dogs,ants in my bag,no mosito nets. I got eatten up at night,no door locks. No one explained anything to us for our one night stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 19Livetotravel64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa P, Manager at Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
This one night stay sounds like it was not ones typical stay at Amansala. If I remember correctly I think these people showed up during the holidays without a reservation right around New Years and probably got a room we typical do not rent out which they decided to take being Tulum was totally full.. We do a very detailed orientation with everyone who arrives to go over the details of our place and the how things run here. I am sorry these people had a bad experience and as for ants in the bags...if you have anything to eat in any of your bags, you will get ants! So don't bring food..we have great food here for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
0.2 km away
Coral Tulum
Coral Tulum
#51 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.5 km away
Papaya Playa Project
Papaya Playa Project
#37 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.0 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#23 of 90 in Tulum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#17 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
4.7 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#10 of 90 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 km away
Coco Tulum
Coco Tulum
#5 of 81 in Tulum
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat

Property: Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat
Address: km 5.5 Boca Paila, Tulum 77788, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Tulum
#17 Spa Hotel in Tulum
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price range (per night): RM762 - RM4,657
Hotel Class:3 star — Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amansala is a beautiful boutique resort located right on the white sandy beaches of Tulum. Bikini Bootcamp takes place almost weekly which is a tune up for the mind, body and spirit. Days start with a power walk on the beach, and include yoga, fantastic fitness classes, tours to see the highlights of the area, healthy natural food, massages, and much more. A perfect place to come on ones own or with a friend for anyone seeking a holiday with a purpose with a good blend of being active but still having time to relax on the beautiful beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Amansala Eco-Chic Resort + Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amansala Bikini Bootcamp Hotel Tulum
Amansala Hotel Tulum
Amansala Resort Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing