We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Playa Kin Ha
Nearby Hotels
Azulik(Tulum)
US$561
US$510
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamante K(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$496
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Tulum(Tulum)
US$531
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$604
US$423
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$338
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$338
US$314
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
60
58
16
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
58
16
12
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

This is a very basic boutique hotel that will meet your needs in a minimal fashion. We stayed in room 3 with an open balcony that faced the beach. My husband and I had a wonderful stay.

Pro's:
-beach view room with balcony
-good water pressure and constant hot water
-towels and shampoo provided
-clean room, however with wear and tear
-an above average quality outdoor restaurant with great prices, right on the beach
-nice and accommodating staff
-has a "homey" feeling
-outdoor beach chairs, palapas, bean bags, tables (get up by 9:00 am to save your ideal spot!)
-cute outdoor living room with hammocks, couches, outdoor shower to rinse from the beach
-perfect location, right in the middle of the hotel zone

Con's:
-No A/C, but we did not need it at all. The wind and fan kept us comfortable.
-The pillows were comfy, but the bed was a little hard. But not unbearable.
-Shower head was rusted and broke when we got there
-Mosquitos (but this was everywhere.... bring repellant)
-restaurant does not open until 8:15am, which means I had to seek out coffee else wear (next door) until they opened.

I would stay here again if I was on the same budget.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We came here to kick off our honeymoon and couldn't have wished for a better start. The hotel rooms are fairly basic, but for the price they're great value and to have the beach literally on your doorstep makes them exceptional.

We had one of the beach front rooms and waking up on our first morning we were able to enjoy an uninterrupted view of the sunrise from our bed, the occasional pelican coming into view as it headed out for a day's fishing. Although the wind increased during the time we were there, our balcony was always well protected noise was never an issue.

The food in the restaurant was just the ticket. Nothing over elaborate, but always fresh, delicious and authentic. The bar too served a good range and 'beach service' was also an option, though for a 10 ft walk it was hardly worth it!

The beach out front is beautiful with flour soft sand and crystal clear waters. Out back, one can walk along the road and investigate some of the other roadside eateries and about a 20 minute walk along the beach you'll find a few livelier bars and restaurants if you're after something a little different (or a bit more action).

We simply loved this place - peaceful, friendly, easy going, personal (I can't imagine there are more than 8 bedrooms tops) and very good value (especially when you look at the prices of some of the other beach front hotels). A great choice!

Room Tip: Our beach front room was lovely - snap one up if you can!
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elke_and_Anto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We definitely enjoy the quaint, local flavor over the all-inclusives (none of which are in the area)...and Kin Ha Playa definitely fits the bill. Only minor beef...suppose I would have enjoyed a light out on the balcony for nighttime reading.

Excellent restaurant next door (Posada Margherita), but also lots of cool bars/restaurants along the beach. Gotta drive to Coba and climb the pyramid!
Literally right on the beach. We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed Kin Ha Playa. Good food, great drinks, and you should ask Sam or Ray about their favorite mezcal! For sure go for an ocean view room.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We loved hotel playa kin ha and it suited all of our needs for a 6 day trip to Tulum. The staff was incredibly friendly and helped recommend local attractions to visit. The restaurant was open every morning until about 930pm, serving beach front food and drinks. They have a range of good friend. The hotel itself is small and intimate which we loved. We had a beachfront balcony and opened our screen door every night to fall asleep to the sound of the waves. The beach had nice chairs, umbrellas, and hammocks (just make sure you snag one!). The room itself was plain but suited our needs. No tv, no ac (fine for february). The bed was very comfortable. My boyfriend would have like stronger wifi in our room (it was very faint). a chair or other sitting area besides the balcony would have also been nice. Otherwise this is a perfect quiet getaway with great staff. Loved our time in Tulum!

Room Tip: ocean front rooms are above the bar areas.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clearlynaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

We spent 7 nights here and I felt it was the perfect place for what we were looking for. Small (total of 5 or 6 rooms), quirky, relaxed. The staff were all very nice; seeing the same friendly faces every day added to the feeling of casualness. As did the charming house dog, Moira, who was often on-site and loved to play fetch with her toys.
The rooms are very basic but comfortable - bed, dresser, side table and ceiling fan, and bathroom. But our ocean front room (#1) got lovely breezes when it was warm and boasted a fantastic view. The cushioned chairs and hammocks in the open air, sand floored "lobby" were fantastic for reading, wandering around online (wifi was not bad), or just staring into space. The small restaurant/bar was open most of the day, served good food and a killer sangria.
We generally drove somewhere during the day, but in the evening it was so fun to just set off on foot down the road - tons of good restaurants within a short walk. We would take the road to our restaurant (we only made a reservation once - for the famous Hartwood - the rest of the time just wandered down to someplace that had looked good online or someone we'd met during the day had recommended.) and walk back afterwards along the beach.
The staff here put quite a bit of effort into taking care of the beach in front, raking up the seaweed every morning. It really made a difference.

Stayed: February 2016
Thank anne_mcgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews