We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Azulik(Tulum)
US$415
US$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
197
71
21
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
71
21
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtevery morningposada margheritabreakfast is servedcross breezetoasted breadmosquito nettingbeautiful beachboogie boardstulum beachocean frontbeach chairssea breezehotel zoneceiling fantacosplaya del carmen
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Posada Lamar was heaven! From the second we arrived until we left four days later, we were treated with such care and personal attention from all the staff, especially Jose and Tony, the fantastic guys at reception, and Florisita, the lovely housekeeper who left a little honeymoon surprise for us in our room every afternoon - petals arranged in hearts and swan shaped towels and cooked us a lovely breakfast brought up to our little beachfront terrace every morning.

We stayed in beachfront cabana Rubi and absolutely loved the fact it was standalone and private. We woke every morning with the waves crashing on the shore and fell asleep with the same lulling sound. It was so romantic and special. Jose had especially kept a white bottle of wine for us in the cooler and rightly suggested we have it under the stars on the beach and that really was one of the best nights of our entire 2 week honeymoon. Jose was particularly attentive to us throughout our stay. Tony was great fun too! One of the evenings he arranged a masseuse to come in and give us an hour massage each in our cabana, with the breeze and sound from the Ocean through the open door, it was just incredible.

We also had the luxury of being a 15-20 minute stroll on the beach from Yoga Shala where you can partake in daily yoga sessions on a drop in basis. The quality of the yoga taught there was excellent and a fantastic aspect of our time there. In terms of food, there were some excellent choices in the town centre that were recommended to us by the staff. On the first night, we ate at the nearby Posada Margherita, which was really great fresh seafood, however all the food on the beach strip is quite expensive.

I cannot stop recommending this place enough - it was absolute paradise and sheer bliss and looking back on it, the days we spent there were the best of our entire honeymoon! We went on to stay in the Secrets Maroma Resort between Playa del Carmen and Cancun for the all-inclusive - what we thought to be a typical honeymoon experience - but it just didn't compare with the paradise and genuine care and attention that we got at Posada Lamar! It was absolutely fantastic! Thank you to Posada Lamar for an incredible time on our honeymoon - we will never forget it and hope to be back again! Svetlana and Martin x

Room Tip: We would suggest either of the 2 beachfront cabanas - it is an incredible feeling to wake up to the Ocean and have your breakfast on the little terrace. We had the option of moving to Zefiro (same price) but we preferred to stay because we liked the fact that Rubi was stand alone, whereas Zafiro had another cabana attached behind it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We didn't expect this from a place in Tulum, but when we got to Posada Lamar the employee there told us that there were no bagels in Tulum because there were no Jews in Tulum which was good because it was a place to relax. When our friends arrived he said to one of them, "you're not Jewish, are you?"

The cabins were fine, austere and way overpriced given what else you can get on the beach for similar prices. The ones in the back were very hot.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the beach.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I have stayed at the Posada Lamar in Tulum once a year for the past 4 years and highly recommend it if you are looking for a low-key place (no electricity except for some hours at night, no a/c, ceiling fans or the like) that has the best view and is very conveniently located. Since the two beachfront properties that are to the left and right are currently not occupied, the sense of space and privacy is just wonderful. And the view from left and right on the beach has to be the most beautiful in Tulum.

Breakfast is included with the rate, but it is a very modest continental breakfast so if you are the huevo rancheros type, just make sure you let them know that you would prefer no breakfast - it is taken to your room every morning at the time of your choice between 7 and 10 am, which is nice (they quietly bring it to the outside patio, which every room has a cute patio or sitting area). Breakfast is usually a plate with two or three fruits, usually banana, watermelon and/or canteloupe, toast, jam, and coffee or tea. If you pay a modest additional amount and place your order the night before, they can add scrambled eggs, quesadillas, or a sandwich to your order. Again, very modest, but good.

The fact that it has no restaurant is not a bad deal, considering that you have a number of great restaurants at walking distance, a couple right next door (KinHa and Posada Margherita), and others a 5 or 10 minute walk by the beach in either direction.

I recommend that before you get in, or if you rent a car - once you settle down, you go down to the San Francisco supermarket in the downtown area and buy a cooler (ecofriendly travelers beware you can only buy styrofoam ice chests). You can buy ice from the guy in the front desk for 15 pesos, and I recommend that you buy it from him because the ice is in larger chunks than the one in bags and it lasts a whole day. Otherwise you need to buy ice in bags, and at least buy 4 to 5 bags to last for a day, which entails buying two, instead of one, cooler. each cooler is about 65 pesos (US$5) at the supermarket.

If you dont want the cooler hassle, you can always get beer from the KinHa right next door. I always like to have my own cold beer at hand, and it is in the end much cheaper, so always worth the hassle. Also, you can keep things other than beer, such as water, gatorade, chocolates, etc. cool too.

Please do not forget to take Off or any environmentally friendly insect repellent. It does not matter where you go in Tulum, bugs are everywhere. In fact, you really do find there is a good use to the net that is placed above the bed - you will appreciate it.

In terms of temperature, if you are an A C person (used to air conditioning all the time), do not stay here. It is not hot at all in the months other than June, July and part of August, the breeze from the sea is nice and should be enough, but if you are the kind of person that needs cold air, you will suffer. Particularly if you stay in the rooms that are not Lapiz, Rubi, Marfil or Zafiro, the four of which have a beach front and get fantastic breeze (sometimes too much, for example, when it rains, you get a lot of breeze and sometimes it is difficult to even open or close the door with the gushes of wind). All of that being said, one of the great things that I find is great from staying in Tulum is precisely not having to need those usual comfort items that we get in our everyday lives. It makes you live the experience more fully and connects you the place. Also the fact that there are no electrical plugs in the room contribuets to this rustic feeling that makes you forget about the Blackberry , etc (you can take your Ipod, cel phone, laptop etc to the front desk / entrance and have it charged there).

Therefore, if you like music from a juke box, or a stereo player, bring something with you that can house your Ipod to play its music and uses batteries. I found a little one that uses 4 AAA batteries and take it with me every time I go.

I very very highly recommend the Posada LaMar with this caveats. I am sure you will feel that you are in the best resort in the world view-wise even if you do not have all the related amenities.

Lastly, the staff is super friendly. Jose in the afternoons and night, and Tony during the mornings, plus the cleaning staff, and the guy that takes you breakfast each morning, make you feel at home!

Room Tip: Zafiro and Rubi are right in front of the beach, but it can get pretty windy, also recommend Marfil which has a great view to the beach
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Valuca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have been in Posada Lamar for about 9 days, and we found a very paradisiac beach. Our cabana, the "Zefiro" was the one in front of the see, with less problem with mosquitos than the others behind, and more chilly. You will have your own amaca to read and rest in the hottest hours, and there are plenty of restaurants around that cook marvellous shrimps, or you can ask the personnel- very lovely- a suggestion for some place to eat in town "el pueblo" (10 minutes, 50 pesos). Very good also the restaurant of Kin-Ha, right beside the Posada Lamar.
The breakfast is perfect for the beach: coffee, yougurt, cereals, a plate of fresh fruits and bread with jam- I wouldn't eat more- and is served in your room or at the beach, as you prefer. They also prepared us a early breakfast when we had to leave early for the plain back. I absolutely, raccomand it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Cute hotel with bungalows on the beach.
Nice white sand beach.
Good breakfast on the terrace of your bungalow.

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LL_Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews