We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, small bungalow colony with great details”
Review of Posada Lamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Lamar
Ranked #60 of 99 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Posada Lamar for 3 nights. Our bungalow was on the 2nd story with a very private deck (hammock, table & 2 chairs), a beautiful room with an amazing Virgin of Guadelupe sink, and a 1 minute walk to the gorgeous beach. We were much happier staying here than in town, where we had spent 2 nights prior, and the price was about the same. Electricity goes off in the evenings, and the staff lights candles and torches around the bungalows. There is a lot of attention to detail and color and material in these bungalows..not your typical beach bungalows! Also, there are not many of them compared to other places on the beach, so it feels more quiet and private and romantic. Posada Lamar does not have its own restaurant but the beach is filled with places to eat. The included breakfasts of papaya, yogurt, and toast were simple and good. The staff was very helpful and the room was kept clean. The staff booked a kayaking tour for us at the Sian Ka'an, which was lots of fun. The wifi did work and I was able to recharge my ipod in the office after the electricity was turned off. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

Posada Lamar was heaven! From the second we arrived until we left four days later, we were treated with such care and personal attention from all the staff, especially Jose and Tony, the fantastic guys at reception, and Florisita, the lovely housekeeper who left a little honeymoon surprise for us in our room every afternoon - petals arranged in hearts and swan shaped towels and cooked us a lovely breakfast brought up to our little beachfront terrace every morning.

We stayed in beachfront cabana Rubi and absolutely loved the fact it was standalone and private. We woke every morning with the waves crashing on the shore and fell asleep with the same lulling sound. It was so romantic and special. Jose had especially kept a white bottle of wine for us in the cooler and rightly suggested we have it under the stars on the beach and that really was one of the best nights of our entire 2 week honeymoon. Jose was particularly attentive to us throughout our stay. Tony was great fun too! One of the evenings he arranged a masseuse to come in and give us an hour massage each in our cabana, with the breeze and sound from the Ocean through the open door, it was just incredible.

We also had the luxury of being a 15-20 minute stroll on the beach from Yoga Shala where you can partake in daily yoga sessions on a drop in basis. The quality of the yoga taught there was excellent and a fantastic aspect of our time there. In terms of food, there were some excellent choices in the town centre that were recommended to us by the staff. On the first night, we ate at the nearby Posada Margherita, which was really great fresh seafood, however all the food on the beach strip is quite expensive.

I cannot stop recommending this place enough - it was absolute paradise and sheer bliss and looking back on it, the days we spent there were the best of our entire honeymoon! We went on to stay in the Secrets Maroma Resort between Playa del Carmen and Cancun for the all-inclusive - what we thought to be a typical honeymoon experience - but it just didn't compare with the paradise and genuine care and attention that we got at Posada Lamar! It was absolutely fantastic! Thank you to Posada Lamar for an incredible time on our honeymoon - we will never forget it and hope to be back again! Svetlana and Martin x

Room Tip: We would suggest either of the 2 beachfront cabanas - it is an incredible feeling to wake up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We didn't expect this from a place in Tulum, but when we got to Posada Lamar the employee there told us that there were no bagels in Tulum because there were no Jews in Tulum which was good because it was a place to relax. When our friends arrived he said to one of them, "you're not Jewish, are you?"

The cabins were fine, austere and way overpriced given what else you can get on the beach for similar prices. The ones in the back were very hot.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

I have stayed at the Posada Lamar in Tulum once a year for the past 4 years and highly recommend it if you are looking for a low-key place (no electricity except for some hours at night, no a/c, ceiling fans or the like) that has the best view and is very conveniently located. Since the two beachfront properties that are to the left and right are currently not occupied, the sense of space and privacy is just wonderful. And the view from left and right on the beach has to be the most beautiful in Tulum.

Breakfast is included with the rate, but it is a very modest continental breakfast so if you are the huevo rancheros type, just make sure you let them know that you would prefer no breakfast - it is taken to your room every morning at the time of your choice between 7 and 10 am, which is nice (they quietly bring it to the outside patio, which every room has a cute patio or sitting area). Breakfast is usually a plate with two or three fruits, usually banana, watermelon and/or canteloupe, toast, jam, and coffee or tea. If you pay a modest additional amount and place your order the night before, they can add scrambled eggs, quesadillas, or a sandwich to your order. Again, very modest, but good.

The fact that it has no restaurant is not a bad deal, considering that you have a number of great restaurants at walking distance, a couple right next door (KinHa and Posada Margherita), and others a 5 or 10 minute walk by the beach in either direction.

I recommend that before you get in, or if you rent a car - once you settle down, you go down to the San Francisco supermarket in the downtown area and buy a cooler (ecofriendly travelers beware you can only buy styrofoam ice chests). You can buy ice from the guy in the front desk for 15 pesos, and I recommend that you buy it from him because the ice is in larger chunks than the one in bags and it lasts a whole day. Otherwise you need to buy ice in bags, and at least buy 4 to 5 bags to last for a day, which entails buying two, instead of one, cooler. each cooler is about 65 pesos (US$5) at the supermarket.

If you dont want the cooler hassle, you can always get beer from the KinHa right next door. I always like to have my own cold beer at hand, and it is in the end much cheaper, so always worth the hassle. Also, you can keep things other than beer, such as water, gatorade, chocolates, etc. cool too.

Please do not forget to take Off or any environmentally friendly insect repellent. It does not matter where you go in Tulum, bugs are everywhere. In fact, you really do find there is a good use to the net that is placed above the bed - you will appreciate it.

In terms of temperature, if you are an A C person (used to air conditioning all the time), do not stay here. It is not hot at all in the months other than June, July and part of August, the breeze from the sea is nice and should be enough, but if you are the kind of person that needs cold air, you will suffer. Particularly if you stay in the rooms that are not Lapiz, Rubi, Marfil or Zafiro, the four of which have a beach front and get fantastic breeze (sometimes too much, for example, when it rains, you get a lot of breeze and sometimes it is difficult to even open or close the door with the gushes of wind). All of that being said, one of the great things that I find is great from staying in Tulum is precisely not having to need those usual comfort items that we get in our everyday lives. It makes you live the experience more fully and connects you the place. Also the fact that there are no electrical plugs in the room contribuets to this rustic feeling that makes you forget about the Blackberry , etc (you can take your Ipod, cel phone, laptop etc to the front desk / entrance and have it charged there).

Therefore, if you like music from a juke box, or a stereo player, bring something with you that can house your Ipod to play its music and uses batteries. I found a little one that uses 4 AAA batteries and take it with me every time I go.

I very very highly recommend the Posada LaMar with this caveats. I am sure you will feel that you are in the best resort in the world view-wise even if you do not have all the related amenities.

Lastly, the staff is super friendly. Jose in the afternoons and night, and Tony during the mornings, plus the cleaning staff, and the guy that takes you breakfast each morning, make you feel at home!

Room Tip: Zafiro and Rubi are right in front of the beach, but it can get pretty windy, also recommend Marfil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Valuca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We have been in Posada Lamar for about 9 days, and we found a very paradisiac beach. Our cabana, the "Zefiro" was the one in front of the see, with less problem with mosquitos than the others behind, and more chilly. You will have your own amaca to read and rest in the hottest hours, and there are plenty of restaurants around that cook marvellous shrimps, or you can ask the personnel- very lovely- a suggestion for some place to eat in town "el pueblo" (10 minutes, 50 pesos). Very good also the restaurant of Kin-Ha, right beside the Posada Lamar.
The breakfast is perfect for the beach: coffee, yougurt, cereals, a plate of fresh fruits and bread with jam- I wouldn't eat more- and is served in your room or at the beach, as you prefer. They also prepared us a early breakfast when we had to leave early for the plain back. I absolutely, raccomand it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulum hotels
1.6 km away
La Posada del Sol
La Posada del Sol
#72 of 99 in Tulum
225 reviews
1.4 km away
Zamas
Zamas
#20 of 99 in Tulum
599 reviews
2.1 km away
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
Nueva Vida de Ramiro
#14 of 99 in Tulum
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
Dos Ceibas Eco Retreat
#49 of 99 in Tulum
275 reviews
1.5 km away
Piedra Escondida
Piedra Escondida
#26 of 99 in Tulum
610 reviews
5.1 km away
Villa Pescadores Tulum
Villa Pescadores Tulum
#13 of 99 in Tulum
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Lamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Lamar

Address: Carretera Tulum-Boca Palia Km 6, Tulum 77786, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Tulum
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range: RM747 - RM1,016 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada Lamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Eco-friendly and charming hotel is set on the beach, just 6 km south of the Tulum Beach road. It features beautiful decorated bungalows offering stunning sea views. Each room at Posada Lamar is decorated using local handicrafts and colourful fabrics. All bungalows offer a terrace with hammocks and have palapa thatched roofs. The Tulum Ruins are less than 15 minutes’ drive from Posada Lamar. You can also visit Tulum Pueblo, only 10 minutes’ drive away. Here you will find a variety of shops, bars and restaurants. Staff at the 24-hour front desk can also provide tourist information about the area. The beaches in Tulum are ideal for diving and snorkelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Posada Lamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Lamar Tulum
Posada Lamar Hotel Tulum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing