We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$260
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldea Balam(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Papaya Playa Project(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$686
US$595
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Azulik(Tulum)
US$400
US$390
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
197
71
21
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
71
21
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtevery morningposada margheritabreakfast is servedcross breezetoasted breadmosquito nettingbeautiful beachtulum beachboogie boardsbeach chairssea breezeocean fronthotel zonetacosplaya del carmenrubi
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a Fabulous time at Posada Lamar, I researched all the Hotels along the beach and Prices. Posada had the closest bungalos to the ocean. Rubi and Zfiro are 50 feet from the sea.
No other hotel had anything as close. There are no hotels on either side of this property.
Everyone that works there are very helpful and nice. We stayed in Zafiro a very large room with a huge deck. When you lie in bed and look out the windows you think you are on a cruise liner.
It has huge windows on two sides and you can see as far as you can in both directions on the beach, which is beautiful and perfect for swimming. The other bungalos are very lovely too, just not the same view, more in a garden but still extremely close to the ocean. This place is more Mexican style which I really liked but if you are prissy its not your place. The breakfast they serve on your deck is wonderful ! Do not worry about the electricity cause you will be asleep before midnight. We brought flashlights and a very small led lantern, kinda like a bike light. These came in handy for walks on the beach road and the middle of the night to find the bathroom. Most of the time the water was hot but even the cold is not cold but lukewarm so showers were always possible.We took cabs up and down the beach to other hotels to have dinner. The cab fee was about three or four dollars. The cab to town was six or seven. There is a freeway from Cancun to Tulum so next time we will rent a car, you can also rent one in Tulum. We used Cancun Shuttle to take and pick us up to Posada. They were very professional and on time. Tulum is expensive, food, eating out and drinking can cost a pretty penny. I already knew this and came prepared. All the restaurants have very good food. We sunned and swam, read, ate and drank, it was very peaceful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Cabaña Rubí, the smallest, but still very spacies, of the two beachfront cabañas, was my home for the first two weeks of December 2011. Posada Lamar has his own style when it comes to decorating and that was very attractive to me. At the moment they are still improving and they are doing a great job.

Every member of the staff have made me feel so much at home and nothing is too much for them. It felt like they also are a great team amongst each other and that reflexes towards the guests.
Thanks to Manuel, José and Adriana at the reception; Flor and Lourdes who make lovely breakfasts and clean the whole place and to José and Guerardo who do all the work in the garden, on the beach and at the cabañas.

I can't say anything wrong about Posada Lamar.....
Oh yes....unfortunatly there is one thing: a couple of days before I left they planted new palmtrees on the beach which is ofcourse great, especially for the years to come. One of the trees (over 2 meters high) was planted 1 meter from the balcony from Rubí, right in de middle where it already started to block the oceanview. For now there is no real 'problem' when it comes to the view but it soon will. I don't know how fast a palm will grow but I want to warn future residents of cabaña Rubí. Soon you can forget about the fantastic oceanview, and thát is what you pay for in a beachfront cabaña, because it will change into palmview (not joking!).
All the cabañas in de the garden are also very beautiful so don't pay more for an oceanview that you soon won't get anymore.

I was hoping not having to write this because when I talked about this with the owner he promised to take the tree away but it was still there when I left.
Soon I hope to read here on TripAdvisor in someone else's review that the tree has been replanted at an other spot and that Rubí will continue to be an oceanfront with a fantastic oceanview because that is what she diserves!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babbeltje42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Perfect beachfront paradise. We had a group of 8 and stayed in the Amber and Sapphire bungalows. They were both very spacious and the beds were amazingly comfortable. There's only electricity for a few hours at night, but they provide candles if you need light for the remaining hours. Couldn't have asked for a more perfect vacation spot. They have hammocks and lounge chairs by the beach and on the porches, and bring you a wonderful breakfast every morning. No a/c, but cabins are well ventilated by the sea breeze. There are restaurants along the beach within walking distance that have amazing food at great prices. The people of the are are friendly and helpful, and the ambiance is superb, and the archaeological site of Tulum is not far down the road.

Specific advice: if you're going to take a shower, do it in the middle of the afternoon, because the sun is what warms your shower water in a reservoir on top of the cabins. Found this out the hard way.

If you're looking for a positively perfect getaway, with friends or a significant other, I definitely recommend it. I wish we could have stayed longer. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyxiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Posada Lamar for 3 nights. Our bungalow was on the 2nd story with a very private deck (hammock, table & 2 chairs), a beautiful room with an amazing Virgin of Guadelupe sink, and a 1 minute walk to the gorgeous beach. We were much happier staying here than in town, where we had spent 2 nights prior, and the price was about the same. Electricity goes off in the evenings, and the staff lights candles and torches around the bungalows. There is a lot of attention to detail and color and material in these bungalows..not your typical beach bungalows! Also, there are not many of them compared to other places on the beach, so it feels more quiet and private and romantic. Posada Lamar does not have its own restaurant but the beach is filled with places to eat. The included breakfasts of papaya, yogurt, and toast were simple and good. The staff was very helpful and the room was kept clean. The staff booked a kayaking tour for us at the Sian Ka'an, which was lots of fun. The wifi did work and I was able to recharge my ipod in the office after the electricity was turned off. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ocellot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Posada Lamar was heaven! From the second we arrived until we left four days later, we were treated with such care and personal attention from all the staff, especially Jose and Tony, the fantastic guys at reception, and Florisita, the lovely housekeeper who left a little honeymoon surprise for us in our room every afternoon - petals arranged in hearts and swan shaped towels and cooked us a lovely breakfast brought up to our little beachfront terrace every morning.

We stayed in beachfront cabana Rubi and absolutely loved the fact it was standalone and private. We woke every morning with the waves crashing on the shore and fell asleep with the same lulling sound. It was so romantic and special. Jose had especially kept a white bottle of wine for us in the cooler and rightly suggested we have it under the stars on the beach and that really was one of the best nights of our entire 2 week honeymoon. Jose was particularly attentive to us throughout our stay. Tony was great fun too! One of the evenings he arranged a masseuse to come in and give us an hour massage each in our cabana, with the breeze and sound from the Ocean through the open door, it was just incredible.

We also had the luxury of being a 15-20 minute stroll on the beach from Yoga Shala where you can partake in daily yoga sessions on a drop in basis. The quality of the yoga taught there was excellent and a fantastic aspect of our time there. In terms of food, there were some excellent choices in the town centre that were recommended to us by the staff. On the first night, we ate at the nearby Posada Margherita, which was really great fresh seafood, however all the food on the beach strip is quite expensive.

I cannot stop recommending this place enough - it was absolute paradise and sheer bliss and looking back on it, the days we spent there were the best of our entire honeymoon! We went on to stay in the Secrets Maroma Resort between Playa del Carmen and Cancun for the all-inclusive - what we thought to be a typical honeymoon experience - but it just didn't compare with the paradise and genuine care and attention that we got at Posada Lamar! It was absolutely fantastic! Thank you to Posada Lamar for an incredible time on our honeymoon - we will never forget it and hope to be back again! Svetlana and Martin x

Room Tip: We would suggest either of the 2 beachfront cabanas - it is an incredible feeling to wake up to the Ocean and have your breakfast on the little terrace. We had the option of moving to Zefiro (same price) but we preferred to stay because we liked the fact that Rubi was stand alone, whereas Zafiro had another cabana attached behind it.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Svetik82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews