We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sky Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$258
US$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azulik(Tulum)
US$480
US$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Aldea Balam(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
197
71
21
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
71
21
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtevery morningposada margheritabreakfast is servedcross breezetoasted breadmosquito nettingbeautiful beachtulum beachboogie boardsbeach chairssea breezeocean fronthotel zonetacosplaya del carmenrubi
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We loved our stay at Posada Lamar. Easy parking, good location kind of in the middle but on the southern side (south side beaches are nicer in my opinion), healthy delicious breakfasts, pristine beach front, comfortable beds with very nice mosquito nets, and nice lounge chairs/mattresses for napping. All the employees are very accommodating and helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karebearox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a gorgeous 5 night stay in Tulum. Our lovely trip was made possible by the incredible staff at Posada Lamar. Carlos and Adrianna greeted us and treated us with such humanity that we will always return to this place. The casitas are artistically built just a few sandy steps from the water. There is a rustic feel at this place that provides precisely the atmosphere we both love. The rooms are clean and beautiful without even a touch of pretentiousness. The morning breakfast of tropical fruits, granola, yogurt and coffee was a perfect start to each relaxing day. The staff and artistic feel at Posada Lamar demonstrate the soul of beautiful Tulum, Mexico. We can't wait to get back there. Enjoy.

Room Tip: The two water front rooms are called Zephire and Ruby, try to book one of those rooms if you can. But honestly we stayed in three different rooms while we were there and found them all to be lovely in their own way.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelincam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have been going to Tulum since 1999...it's hard to see all the new construction and fancy hotels everywhere, but I decided to be happy that Tulum is thriving, and I hope only for best for all the people that live and work there.
But we still love it, and come back every year. Posada Lamar is small, clean, and on the down low. The staff is sweet and respectful. I love my Zafiro room, and our last visit was awesome...

There is limited electricity here, no plugs in the room etc... the staff is very nice about charging whatever you need...there is no restaurant, but the staff brings you a yummy light breakfast every morning.
But I have to say, I got really nervous when a 30 something couple checked in with their baby (ugh). thankfully they were in the back cabana and I only heard it crying once or twice. Seriously folks, if you have children don't stay at the small intimate hotel, thats full of sexy couples and singles.... you screaming baby is the worst case scenario for the rest of us.

Room Tip: you always want beach front no matter where you stay,
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girlpuff_girlpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

This is a very lovely, clean and comfortable accomodation. Unique design, excellent personnel and cozy location. Comfortable lounge chairs on the beach, delicious breakfasts, free botles of water in the room, mosquito netting on each bed and peaceful surroundings. We totally enjoyed out two day visit. Tulum is a quick easy drive down the beach road ( go early as the area becomes crowded quickly with guided tours).

Room Tip: Although our posada was not facing the beach we were just steps away. On breezy/ windy days I think it is better to be set back a bit.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dornesdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

First of all, I would sign every word of the review of Felfly. We stayed in Zafiro, which is one of the two ocean-front huts of the place. Zafiro has a fantastic terrace, which probably has the best view of the beach. It is a traditional wooden hut with very basic decoration. There is no electricity plug, you have to use the front desk for charging telephones, etc. The shower and tap are primitive and the water is slightly salty. There is no AC, no heating, no room service. If you care about any of these, this may not be your place. However if you are type than can enjoy sunrise from your terrace (or bed), wave sound, peace and quite without those, this is the place. There is no other place along the beach of Tulum that can outperform Zafiro. I am not that sure about the other huts of the place. If you can, get Zafiro or Rubi. The difference can be huge in terms of climate (ocean-view huts enjoy the breeze) and view, of course.

Room Tip: Go for Zafiro.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gyucel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews