We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Azulik(Tulum)
US$415
US$403
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$147
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Book now, pay at stay
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alma Zama(Tulum)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
197
71
21
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
71
21
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtevery morningposada margheritabreakfast is servedcross breezetoasted breadmosquito nettingbeautiful beachboogie boardstulum beachocean frontbeach chairssea breezehotel zoneceiling fantacosplaya del carmen
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

The place is gorgeous. Great staff and healthy breakfasts included. The rooms were private and clean, all be it a bit spartan with only a few electric plug ins. There is wifi.
I would recommend having Mexican money enough for restaurants in the city which were better food and more local.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We had not booked a hotel for our trip and had driven from Cancun to find a place south of Playa del Carmen. We drove the beach strip which was crazy busy with taxicabs and pedestrians and lucked-out when we found Posada Lamar. This well-maintained property is a small group of cabanas right on the beach. We were greatly relieved to get into "Marfil" (the rooms are Spanish names for gems) modest, but stylish and comfortable. We were able to relax and were happily surprised to awaken the next morning to a lovely breakfast of a variety of sliced fruit, yogurt and granola, toast and jelly, and fresh orange juice, set on our balcony table just outside our door. We were pleased (and lucky, since it was full-on tourist season) to be able to book a room for that next night as well. Our hostess, Adriana, spoke English, which was a relief for us "Me habla muy poquito Espanol" Americans. She gave us some good tips for restaurants in the area. The housekeeping and groundskeeping staff were friendly and did a great job at keeping the place fresh and clean. I will book this place for out next Yucatan excursion!

Room Tip: Marfil was awesome for a couple. However I would like to stay in the larger beachfront room just to try it out.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

We came back again to the cabana Marfil for another refreshing week on the most beautiful beach in the world. "Our" cabana is private with a sweet view of the turquoise waters and the soothing sound of crashing waves....and a great king-size bed! We looked forward to our fruit and yogurt brought to us each morning, sometimes on the beach! We felt very cared for by the kind and accommodating staff, particularly Adriana, but all are lovely people. We much look forward to returning again next year.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank clarkecatharine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Fine rooms, marvelous breakfast, near the nature, quite, calm. Just 50 meter from a lovely beach, 200 meter to nearest restaurant. A couple of restaurants around to choose from. Little too long way to nearest shop. Irritating that there was a constructions site as neighbor,

Room Tip: Ecological, near sea, holiday residence
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pblixt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

This review would have been far less than favourable if we had not been able to move to one of the rooms nearer the beach. On arrival we were shown to a room that was very close to the very noisy building work next door. Obviously unhappy about paying full whack for this with no mention of discount, we started looking around for another place. The concierge knew we were unhappy but failed to inform us that there was an empty room near the beach which was quieter! We found this out by chance while searching on a booking website. The hotel also has a noisy generator for electricity generation. Once we moved things were better. The rooms are big. Lovely to hear the ocean at night. It gets very warm and you have to accept this as there is no a/c for ecological reasons which is right. Despite others on this site having complained about the breakfast I find that unfair. It's very good. Fresh fruit, bread, spreads, juice, coffee or tea brought to your veranda. What more do people want? Word of warning: There is a lot of gold rush mentality development going on towards the southern end of Tulum and it is high density. Choose your accommodation with care as you may be slap bang next to a building site. When we went for a walk along the beach we were surprised to see that the beaches towards the ruins end are less built up with natural vegetation perhaps because they are protected being part of the biosphere reserve. If I was to go back I'd book somewhere near the public beach which was beautiful, spacious and well maintained.

Stayed: December 2016
1  Thank shegbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews