We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautyful”
other traveller has booked this property
The front of the manor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front of the manor
Private Medieval Garden King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The front of the manor
Private Medieval Garden
King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
King Size Master Medieval Bedroom
Lounge
King Size Bedroom
12th Century Doorway
Double Bedroom with open fire
Victorian Bathroom
Victorian Claw and Foot Bath
Great Dining Hall
twin bedroom
breakfast room
Private Garden showing the side of the manor
Medieval Kitchen
Evening
Downstairs cloakroom
Double Bedroom
Hallway
Tower Room Lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Caldicot, Monmouthshire, Southern Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mjglueck
Butzbach, Germany
2 reviews
“Beautyful”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful week in the manor with family and friends. The weather was fine, so we always had breakfast outside. The kitchen was very modern and the whole house was very clean. Thank you!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the manor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike p
mortimer
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great, quirky place to enjoy XMas with the family”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

11 of us were staying over Xmas at the Manor. We were initially worried around 11 people and 2 bathrooms, but that turned out to be no issue at all. It is a wonderful house full of quaint quirky features. We especially enjoyed eating at the refectory table with a roaring fire. The kitchen was well equipped for pots and pans and once you got use to the range it was great for serving up meals for 11 people. I would strongly recommend this house to anyone that has a large family to cater for and it's close enough to Bath, Cardiff or Cheltenham for those that don't like too much relaxation. We found the local Castle great fun to walk around and having a supermarket close by great for those things you forgot :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattstran...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with a group of friends . Stunning building with great character.ideal for a large family or group of friends

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irina753
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“medeival accommodation indeed”
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

It was a unique experience of staying in this house with amazing history. A lot of appreciation that life in medeival time was not that easy and simple. We had a lot of excersises in carrying trays with food and dishes upstairs to the dining area and then everything back for washing - downstairs to the kitchen. Kitchen is modern and well equipped as well as bathrooms. Apart from that, there was no shortage in various medeival experiences including piles of dust and spider webs in all corners. Area around the house is quiet and nice, and the castle grounds available for walk around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
Baughurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Medieval 5 star manor”
Reviewed 8 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I rented the Llanthony secunda manor house for a long weekend to celebrate with friends our joint 60th birthdays. From the tour of the Manor given by Becky the owner on our arrival we knew we would be in for an exciting weekend. The wonderfully restored manor is so interesting in its layout and must be a heaven for kids. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the house has all the modern comforts that the Tudors would have died for; lovely showers and bathrooms; a spacious and well kitted out kitchen. The highlight of our weekend was lighting a log fire in the baronial dining hall and having a murder mystery play. I will never forget the look on the poor girl's face who delivered a chinese meal for eight people to a medieval manor and seeing eight adults all dresssed up ready for the murder mystery.
Thanks Becky for making our celebration one to remember.
Ian & Sara Hanson

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: teh spaciousness and quality of the house
Liked least: needs more heating
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$560
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing