We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massage and sea breeze”
Review of The Sand Bar

The Sand Bar
Ranked #24 of 592 Restaurants in Cabo San Lucas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I arrived on the beach below the main deck, looking for friends who'd already left. One of the friendly waiters, who I would see several times over that visit, helped me find them, and we ended up on the deck drinking a mango margarita, and contemplating life. Five or 6 o'clock is the perfect time to be on the beach-it is just cool enough that the heat is not so punishing and the water just stretches on and on.

The cheap massage was just ridiculous! And I mean that in the best way- I could have cried real tears it felt so good. If you decide to get the massage, be sure you bring a little extra to tip your masseuse. If yours is as awesome as mine, You'll be really sorry if you have nothing extra. Sure the experience is a little awkward, lying there in a line of strangers as the twilight melts away into darkness. The distant "shush" of the waves is punctuated by bits of muffled party music that float in on the breeze, like you are at the party, but separate from it at the same time. My friends and I returned to our table, finished our drinks (which the waiter had refilled and made cold for free without us having to ask) and I went down to dance with the ocean in the moonlight (a fabulous coastal past time, if you've never tried it). The bank there is steep -the water rushes in suddenly waste high, and then back out. The Sea of Cortez is a little unruly, but if you try hard, you can learn the steps.

1  Thank supersusanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sand Bar C, Propietario at The Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear supersusanita thanks huge for your great and detailed review regarding the experience you and your friends has at The Sand Bar. When reading your review to our team we all feslt truly wverwhelmed as we work really hard to achieve a sincere, joyful, simple and long lasting experience service. We will be all waiting for you and your group during your next trip to Cabo San Lucas. Hasta siempre!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 552 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2017

We stopped here for a drink because the view from the deck was amazing and the breeze was perfect. However, what made this place outstanding was the staff. We first met Javier and he was so great we came back 3 more times. I can't say enough about the staff. Javier, Christian, Sebastian, Chino and Isaias went above and beyond. By the second time we walked in they greeted us with hugs.

My husband took advantage of the happy hour beers and we both grapped a bite. The prices were great and the food was good. You are definitely coming for the view and the great service. Also, they have access to the beach with chairs and umbrellas if you wanted to eat or drink right on the beach.

I would definitely recommend checking this place out.

Thank stefainet2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sand Bar C, Propietario at The Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear stefainet2015 thanks huge for your support and recommending the Sand Bar due to its location, view, food , cocktails and our personalized service. We hope you can come back soon and Javier, Christian, Sebastian, Chino and Isaias will do their best to have a great time again. Hasta siempre!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

The Sand Bar in the vicinity of Casa Dora/Me Cabo on Medano Beach is a great place to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner. They have "in the sand" dining to get sand in between your toes and second level dining that provides a outstanding view and cool breeze while eating. My wife and I went to the restaurant 4+ times due to freshness of food, great service and great prices. You cannot go wrong, portions are great and its convenient access from the beach. Enrique is the manager, who was great in making recs on other activities. Be sure to sit in Javier's section-he is an outstanding waiter! We will miss this place. Do not miss the opportunity to eat at the Sand Bar during your Cabo visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank erporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sand Bar C, Propietario at The Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear erporsche thank you very much for your overwhelming review where you describe The Sand Bar´s service, food cocktails and service leaded by Enrique. We hope you can come back soon and let us show you more about our concept. Hasta siempre!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

We decided to hit the Sand Bar after renting some jet skills and before the tropical storm rolled into town. We were a bout dubious with the message parlour being up top. The deck is elevated and offers great views and a vendor-less experience. Manny, our outstanding server, recommend the chef's tacos and he did not disappoint. They are definitely in the top 3 tacos I have had in Mexico. My daughter had the chicken enchiladas with green sauce and they were also excellent. A chilled bucket of beers and great tacos. What else do you need on Madano?

Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sand Bar C, Propietario at The Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Patrick C thanks huge for your great review describing our chef tacos and enchiladas prepared by chef Alex. We hope you can come back soon and let Manny show you more about our concept in front of the Cortez Sea. Hasta siempre!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

We ended up eating here a couple of times during our stay. You get a lovely view overlooking the beach, nice breeze on the first floor. Service was great - happily served my daughter wings for dinner even though not on dinner menu. All the food we tasted was good (and there seem to be a lot of very mediocre places in Cabo) and prices were reasonable.

Thank UKMorwenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Sand Bar C, Propietario at The Sand Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear UKMorwenna thanks huge for considering The Sand Bar in between the best food spots in Cabo. We hope you can come back in a near future and let us show you more about our restaurant located in front of Land´s end. Hasta siempre!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sand Bar also viewed

 
Cabo San Lucas, Los Cabos
 

Been to The Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing