We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Riu.com
RM 1,252
10% for RIU Class Members
Priceline
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,405)
Filter reviews
11,405 results
Traveller rating
3,467
3,938
1,911
974
1,115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,467
3,938
1,911
974
1,115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed in building sports bar ocean view water taxi infinity pool specialty restaurants asian restaurant lovers beach a la cartes pool parties make reservations dos equis younger crowd michael jackson show cabo wabo main lobby all inclusive resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 11,405 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2023

We have been to this resort 4 times now. The rooms are really nicely renovated. Everywhere is clean except the flys on the food in the buffet.
First few days were great until I ate at Tiki Taco bar and got food poisoning, was bedridden for two days. Then the last day we were able to get around the pool really watched what we ate and boom my husband is sick with the same on the day of flighting home. Complete nightmare. Food was a huge disappointment.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Angela H,



Thank you for your comment,
We continually strive to provide the best quality and, to ensure, that all our guests return home with beautiful memories of their vacation with us.
We wish you a speedy recovery.
In accordance with our high standards, we guarantee our guests the highest quality service, which goes far beyond legal requirements, especially in terms of food safety. At RIU Hotels & Resorts, health is our priority. Therefore, we follow a food safety protocol, guaranteeing the safety and quality of the products, in all our processes of elaboration, preparation and F&B service.
In accordance with our high standards, we guarantee our guests a service of the highest quality, which goes far beyond legal requirements, especially in terms of food safety. At RIU Hotels & Resorts, health is our priority. Therefore, we follow a food safety protocol, guaranteeing the safety and quality of the products, in all our processes of elaboration, preparation and F&B service.



Yours faithfully,
Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

An average 3.5 star budget friendly, and clean resort. Party vibe for young adults, Riuland activities for children and lots to interest older couples. The people are wonderful and work hard / tip often. Evening entertainment was very good. Loved Halo (Madonna songs) visually stuning Michael Jackson snd Rock is Alive - live rock.band during the week various times, other live shows and video clips each night. If you are not at the pool parties head to the Stage area
What’s with the fire alarms had three within a 48 hour period. People smoking in their rooms? Or something not set right ? needs attention poor moms and dads with little ones walking out at 2:30 in the morning
Pools are very nice I liked the palapas at the family, main pool. My Fav

Tips: electricity in the rooms turn on with a card - the towel cards work - you don’t need to use a door access card
Overhead fan in room was cold with the A/C blowing - the switch to turn fan off was by one of the beds switches for lamps
Room smell is mildewy iso be aware. It permeates all your clothes my first room was awful second room better but still smells so could be A/C related or dampness
Try the restaurants where I ate the best at dinner Mexican restaurant ( not the steakhouse) the flank steak was awesome. Italian restaurant had good pasta, better pizza too. Pepe’s food - best fries ever!! It became my lunch each day.
Bring the pharmacy with you. Even with Dukoral and probiotics beforehand needed Imodium, Tums and Gravol to settle the stomach. Was it the Ice? The water?
Coffee.. if you like coffee- sports bar has baristas and machines and best coffee in the place!!

Room tip: Coffee- go to sports bar Sunscreen - store onsite sold sunscreen if I’d known I’d not have brought mine
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank U7919YYsharont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear U7919YYsharont,

We appreciate you took the time to leave your impressions regarding your experience. Thank you very much for your positive remarks.

Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies if we failed to provide the best stay.

We will forward your remarks to the management department for further acknowledgement.

Best Regards,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Lovely place to stay with enthusiastic and attentive staff. Adult Poolside games were a blast and the nightly shows were varied and entertaining. Water slides were really fun, but so was sitting in the pool bar watching the water traffic and non-stop crashing surf. Great beach for walking, not swimming. A la carte restaurants were a little confusing, as they are advertised as no reservations required, but if you wanted the steakhouse, it was necessary to line up at opening to book a time for later (or eat right then). Good variety of restaurants, but the open times and status for the reastaurants did not always match what the app said. The buffets had lots of choices of fresh, healthy foods for all diets. The snack bars were good for a quick bite without having to get out of your bathing suit. Quick taxi or uber ride from town and the marina, or a good, long walk along the beach. Definitely have to go back as there are many more things to see and do in the area.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Thank ChristyMM2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Christy,

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words.

Our recompense is your appreciation. It is fantastic to learn you enjoyed it.

We will be privileged to welcome you again soon.

Warmest Regards, Christy!

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2023

Had an absolute blast. The pools, the hospitality, the amazing courteous staff. Food was ok, could have been better. The Riu party (day and night) was over the top amazing fun! Great DJs and music. Overall it is a great place.

Date of stay: November 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
1  Thank luis762023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Luis,

Reading your review is gratifying, since we work to make sure our guests have a great stay.

We are very happy to learn you had a nice time.

Thank you very much, Luis!

Hoping to welcome you very soon again.

Loving Regards!

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Having stayed at 30+ all-inclusive resorts, I just completed my first stay at a RIU. To be objective, my comparitive experiences are brands like Dreams (Hyatt Inclusive), Hilton, Iberostar, etc.

The Riu Santa Fe is one of three different RIU resorts in one large Riu complex (RIU Palace and RIU Baja California-Adults only).

The Pros: Nice, large pools, on the beach (although Pacific isn't very swimmable), great water park, simple nice rooms (recently updated), and friendly staff.

The Cons: Food is not very good--mediocre at best, no hot water--luke warm at best if you time it right, beds are firm with flat pillows (European like), and can be loud late into the night (music, unruly guests).

At the end of our second day after eating in the Asian restaurant, half my family and I got laid up in bed with a bad case of Monetzuma's Revenge (vomit and diarreha). Not sure if it was something we ate or just a stomach virus, but we couldn't get out of bed unti day 4 when we checked out. I must have visited the shower 10 different times hoping for a therapeutic hot shower.

As for restaurants, stick with the buffets, because of a great variety of options. You might find something good enough to eat. Note: this recommendation comes from my family members who remained healthy and were able to try both the speciality restaurants and buffets.

Good to knows: Sign up for Riu Class and get complimentary airport transfers. Building 7 is closest to the beach. Hertz does NOT have a rental location at the RIU Sante Fe. I booked Hertz on Expedia with pick up at the Riu Santa Fe. An Alamo rep is there.

In short, for the price, Riu Santa Fe gets 3 stars. Based on my experience, I wouldn't book RIU again.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Travelguru1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Online Reputation Manager, Owner at Hotel Riu Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2023

Dear Travelguru1996,

Thank you very much for choosing us and for sharing your review about your last stay.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority therefore we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations.

Please rest assured that we will share all your impressions with our management team for a proper follow up as guest service is our absolute main priority.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back for an enhanced experience.

With our best hopes we remain,

Hotel Riu Santa Fe
Online Reputation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews