We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Visit to The Cove Cafe & Bar”
Review of The Cove

The Cove
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Hope Cove
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Uber cool. 50 yards from the beach. Fresh Coffee, Craft Beers, Great Food. Open everyday from 11am until late.
Reviewed 10 December 2014

Had just walked from Thurlestone, six adults 2 toddlers and one babe in Arms were welcomed with a lovely smile by Anna who quickly got us settled, warm in front of a log fire and served with a surprising selection of drinks from the small bar. I had a Yellowhammer Draft Devon Ale from the cask. It was excellent. The house red wine was well received too. The menu whilst not extensive seemed to have so much variety that we all had a very good lunch. I had the home made fish finger club sandwich. It was delicious. We will go back again as we often visit the area. We were not out for gourmet food, just a good lunch. It exceeded expectations and it was so nice to be served by someone who was pleasant, knowledgeable about the local area and got the balance just right. Well done..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BlairLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2014

Thank you very much for the feedback and calling into The Cove for lunch. We have passed your feedback on to Anna who is an excellent member of our team. It is always nice to receive such positive individual feedback and I thank you for taking the time to comment. Hope to see you again when you are next back in Hope Cove.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for The Cove
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2014

Just had a weekend break at Hope Cove, South Devon and The Cove bar & restaurant was so good we visited each day. The place is very relaxed, dog friendly, great choice of real ales & ciders plus really good homemade food from a menu that is not fussy and caters for everyone. A great group of people work there all are very welcoming and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris9992014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thank you. We have a great team and have worked hard to try and provide a menu that caters for everyone but is full of fresh, local ingredients. Our homemade dishes have proved very popular and our range of beers, wines and ciders have been a real hit. Thanks for leaving positive feedback, it is really important to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

Having been a regular Hope Cove visitor since the age of 3 ( 40+ years) its great to see a bar / restaurant like this appear. Great service & beer .
Good luck !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Saffrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

Thankyou. I am glad you enjoyed it. It is really important that people who love Hope Cove like what we are doing in The Cove. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2014

sorry but the food here is awful and it was freezing and they only put one lump of coal on when we were there.we and to sit and eat in all our coats.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Krudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

I am really disappointed to read your comments. We have a very small team of great staff who are always more than willing to rectify anything that customers may be unhappy with. The open fire is a great hit and has coal and logs at the side should you wish to add. There have been no complaints regarding the food brought to any of my staffs attention and we always do check backs after meals are served to ensure complete satisfaction. Should you have had any complaints I think it would be fair to let us have a chance to put right what you are unhappy with before leaving such feedback on Tripadvisor. Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss your complaint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Three of us visited for a late lunch snack after a brisk Sunday walk. There is a small bar and separate dining area with a lovely fire; and an window off the bar where you can stand outside and order your mael and drinks if you want to sit and look west over the bay. The service is friendly. We ate soups off blue and white tim plates outdoors, despite it being 30th November! I would definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MEPNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoveDevon, Owner at The Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2014

The hatch has been a great addition and its great that you enjoyed it. Our soups are homemade as are the majority of our dishes. Thanks for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing