We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Elmo

St Elmo with its spacious paved parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St Elmo with its spacious paved parking area
Comfortable living room with new leather furniture, flat screen TV, DVD etc. Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
St Elmo with its spacious paved parking area
Comfortable living room with new leather furniture, flat screen TV, DVD etc.
Living room
Dining room with access to totally enlosed rear garden
Spacious bright and airy kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom with ensuite shower and flat screen tv
Twin bedded room with flat screen TV
Single bedroom
Family bathroom
Stairs
Rear enclosed, secure garden
Rear garden
Nearby sandy beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Mersea Island, Colchester, Essex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickyRedh...
Redhill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We had a great time at St Elmo. It is a very comfortable house with good sized rooms, 5 minutes walk from the sea and round the corner from local shops and a supermarket. The only down side was the very thin curtains in the double and twin bedrooms, which don't seem to have any light blocking properties!
We would happily stay there again, but will bring a blackout blind!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2016
It is nice to know that you enjoyed your stay in St Elmo and hope that you will be back. After the new curtains were hung we did wonder if the sun would be a problem, but as the house is fully booked for some weeks it has been difficult to have blinds fitted. We will be doing this in the near future. Thanks for your input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
369Mitche...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“St Elmo”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Having stayed in various self catering properties around the country, St Elmo ranks among the best. Equipped very well, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and on the island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and location
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We aim to provide first class accommodation and service to our guests, hoping to contribute towards an enjoyable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan P
Tilbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“relaxing”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely place to stay, very well equipped. 10 minute walk to beach. Great break enjoyed by 4 adults and 2 dogs. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: close to shops and beach
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay, including the dogs! We are fortunate to have dog-friendly beaches here in Mersea Island. Look forward to hopefully having you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALCOLM S
Washington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely house,clean and tidy,nicely furnished and all rooms were a good size.
Ample off road parking,private enclosed rear garden great for the dog.
Comfortable beds,loved the "fluffy" towels.
Well-appointed to explore cafes,shops,restaurants and the sea in West Mersea.
Made for a very nice holiday truly "home from home" would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind comments. It's always nice to know our guests are happy with the accommodation. We are glad that you found the Island to your liking and look forward to welcoming you both and the dog! back sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
287tclark
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“enjoyed my stay, st elmos very clean and in the right place for shops and the beach, would stay there again.”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Loved the enclosed garden for my dog. Parking was easy. The place was spotless, only downside was no sun loungers, lol, will book st elmos again but will bring my family as it is a great place to stay. Ps. My dog had a good time too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: near shops and beach
Liked least: bit of noise from neighbours at the back of property.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad to know that you and your dog both enjoyed the stay and the central position suited your needs. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$94
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing