We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical location, outstanding attention to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shepherd's Delight

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer. Bluebells in May.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Himalayan balsam keeps the bees busy in the summer.
Bluebells in May.
Cosy even in the snow.
The entrance to your own woodland.
The outdoor wood burning hot tub an amazing experience any time of year.
Cosy wood burner keeps you warm in the winter.
Our friendly alpacas just after being shawn.
Our 5 acre field.
The alpacas at sunrise in the autumn.
Luxurious bedlinen and an alpaca fleece duvet-a good night's sleep is imperative.
The composting toilet and washstand.
Try the unique experience of the steaming outdoor shower or use the guests only shower in our home.
Shepherd's Delight.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical location, outstanding attention to detail, wonderfully relaxing experience!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

There are not enough superlatives to describe how idyllic this shepherds hut is. I booked a 2 night stay for my husbands birthday and for a chance to just get away from it all and the standard of accommodation and attention to detail exceeded all my expectations and my husband was blown away by the surprise.

Shepherds Delight is the most luxurious "camping" like experience; comfy double bed, luxurious shepherds hut, hot tub, secluded location, picturesque scenery and a pet pheasant to boot!

We most enjoyed how private the hut and facilities were, me and my husband felt a million miles away from the world in our own little Eden. My husband loved the hot tub and we would recommended that you give it a try at least one night, sitting back and watching the bats fly between the trees was truly magical. I especially enjoyed exploring the various bits and bobs located in and around the hut, literally everything you could ever need Jo had thought of (from plasters to reading glasses honestly!) I was so upset that I only discovered the old record player and records under the bed on the morning I was leaving, I'm looking forward to our next visit so I can give it a whirl!

I am out of words to describe how fantastic our stay was, Jo your attention to detail was much appreciated and we wanted for nothing not even a book light!

Can't wait to see the Alpacas again soon!

Fiona & Kris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sez2009Le...
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truly magical place.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I can't praise this place high enough, it's just lovely. The setting is beautiful and totally secluded. We shut ourselves off from the world for two days and completely relaxed. Every little detail has been thought of and the finishing touches in the hut such as the breakfast packages are just perfect. We can't wait to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“One complaint - nothing to complain about”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We came for our mini-moon, and we did not want to leave. Beautiful area, beautiful hut. Jo's thoughtful attention to detail will astound you all the way, just perfect, PERFECT.
Sitting I the hot tub and enjoying the wildlife is magical, the bbq was great, as was the outdoor shower, even the loo was an exciting trip! All you need it clothes, and some sausages/burgers and you're set for gorgeous romantic retreat! Can we come again?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Jo was extremily helpful, and has put a lot of work into making it homely.
Liked least: It's too far away for us tovisit again for a while!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirelessk...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“11 out of 10, astounding place, then Jo makes it 11!”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

What a treat, a real proper treat, do not underestimate how the incredible attention to detail (provided by Jo) will lure you in and make going home again a bit miserable!

No bourgeois nonsense here, if you want that stick to the normal Hotel/B&B scene. At Shepherds Delight you will find everything you need, all thats required is a sense of adventure and a willingness to immerse yourself in the wonders on offer. Sound wild? it is!

Could go on all day about the place. I can't wait to go back. Thank you Jo, you've created something quite special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing