We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous service”
Review of The Fox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fox Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Matching Tye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017

If you have nothing better to do than sit and wait for over an hour for your meal and then a further 10 minutes for vegetables and sauces once it's in front of you and getting cold - come to The Fox at Matching Tye!
Today a group of 16 of us suffered the most appalling service at this pub. I was getting stir crazy and couldn't wait to leave.
There were insufficient waiting staff to cope with lunch on a busy Sunday and none of us would visit the Fox again.
The food when it eventually arrived was ok but not very hot and the vegetables over cooked and soggy.
So much time could have been saved if a jug of water and glasses and dishes with sauces were placed on the table while we were waiting for our meals. A request for a cup of coffee was totally ignored by the waitress who promised to come back but never did. All together a very disappointing experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ThatSandy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review your visit to us yesterday. The reason that you waited for your main meals was because one of your group ordered a starter. We sent this starter within 10 minutes of receiving the order, waited for it to be eaten and cleared before we could serve your main meals. No restaurant anywhere will serve main meals alongside starters unless you specifically requested this, which you didn't. And so it was the case that the remaining 15 had to wait for a starter to be prepared, served, eaten and cleared, and obviously getting 16 freshly cooked meals out does take some time however including the starter it was less than an hour.
You're comment regarding the water on the table and sauces was addressed when you raised it with us on the day, we explained that it would be horribly wasteful and not to mention unhygienic to have sauces sat on a table waiting to be used, and restaurants do not provide water as standard. If you had asked when we served you all drinks in the bar, or even when you ordered your food it would have been very simple to sort this for you.
I'm pleased to hear that the food was good and will address the forgotten coffee with my staff.
Thanks again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a twin room with my sister. We did not want to pay extra for breakfast and just had what was included. Although there were two packets of cereal we only had one muffin, one orange juice, one bottle of water and one packet of biscuits. Not good!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank pat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LGCford, Owner at The Fox Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi,
Apologies, it sounds as though your room was only set up for single occupancy, clearly we don't expect two people to share one muffin a pack of biscuits and an orange juice! Wish you would have popped in to ask for some more provisions as would have happily rectified this for you immediately!!
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, I'll make sure rooms are triple checked in future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Stayed here overnight.
Staff welcoming
Ate light lunch as we'd been warned portion sizes were generous and the quality food didn't disappoint.

Booked disabled room with wetroom.which had good access, wheelchair turning circles etc.
Good shower with extra grab rails - impressive for a non-chain inn.
Could have done with some bedside lights but that's my only gripe

Room Tip: Only one disabled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank THEL0bmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

The title says it all....
We went there last night and had a great meal.
Proper pub grub with very large portions. We couldn't fault anything. The staff were really friendly, but we did do our best to confuse the waitress. We ended up with the wrong pudding but we ate it anyway and it was marvelous.
The ghost ship beer was on top form and the whole evening was great value for money.
We would definitely go again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

Worth going just a little way off the beaten track to find this hospitable inn (pub & hotel) in a pretty little hamlet in rural Essex. We just came for lunch and it was excellent. I had a guest beer to start (Adnam's Ghost Ship) and my partner had a cider - both excellent. As was lunch - both plentiful and very good quality. I had steak & ale pie and the beef was tender & succulent; plenty of vegetables with it too. My partner had Thai green curry and said it was delicious. Desserts are free for senior citizens but the landlady was offering free dessert for everyone when we were there. The staff are very friendly & attentive, the décor was charming and the toilets were spotless, clean & fresh-smelling. In fact it was excellent all round - especially the prices!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank pd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matching Tye
2.0 km away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,700 reviews
6.0 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
5.5 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
303 reviews
15.4 km away
The Saracens Head Hotel
The Saracens Head Hotel
#2 of 3 in Great Dunmow
306 reviews
2.8 km away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Inn

Address: The Fox The Green, Matching Tye CM17 0QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Matching Tye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Matching Tye
Price Range: RM357 - RM396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fox Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Hotel Matching Tye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing