We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!!!”
Review of Hotel Il Melograno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Il Melograno
Ranked #2 of 7 Montemerano B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

In the middle of Olive trees, run by very hospitable family, excellent service and the freshest vegetables and fruits straight from the garden to your plate. Tomatoes dishes are simply the best (more than 200 types of them). So tasty! The place where you want to eat again and again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaGaraeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Having read the great reviews I should have been warned by the fact that they were from 2007. A lot has obviously happened to this 'hotel' in 5 years.
We were greeted by a surly man manning the front desk.
Our room initially looked lovely until the dirty bed cover was properly looked at. The bathroom was disgusting - had not been cleaned from the previous guests. We had to clean the toilet seat just to be able to use it (thank god for antibacterial wipes).
We had one bath towel to share and a pillow each. No spares in the cupboards. The aircon didn't work and there was no fan until we begged the surely man in the evening when we couldn't breathe.
In the morning we thought that we'd been through the worst - but no. A poor excuse for breakfast and cold coffee topped it off as did the €110 we spent staying at one of the worst hotels I've ever been to. My recommendation would be to STAY AWAY from this place if you value your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SaraGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I've been to Il Melograno several times and have sent friends to stay there as well. They have all returned from their trip thanking me for recommending Il Melograno and telling me it was the best part of their time spent in Italy. It's a wonderful base from which to explore all the Maremma has to offer - 5 minutes from the Thermal Baths and charming town of Saturnia, 30 minutes to the picturesque Pitigliano, 45 minutes to the seaside, etc, etc. If you feel like staying nearby, you can walk up the hill to the quaint town of Montemerano.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the attached restaurant - "La Verdiana". Without a doubt the most memorable meals I've experienced in Italy. A great way to spend your evening after daytrips around the countryside....and when your done eating and drinking you only have to walk back to your room.

The hotel is spotless and all the rooms have their own balcony with nice views (ask for the rooms on the upper floor as they have better views). Another highlight is the breakfast that you'll wake up to every day - be sure and eat the ricotta with honey drizzled on it...

Also be sure to visit the thermal baths just down the street.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jdp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I have been travelling in the Maremma for the last ten years. The Il Melograno hotel near Montemerano is “the” place to stay to explore this most fascinating area of Tuscany because of the great service, hospitality, surroundings, and quality premises to be found there. The family that manages the hotel understand how to entertain visitors to the area, to guide them to the hidden treasures of the Maremma. Let them lead you to some of the best wine and olive oil makers, best restaurants (“La Trattoria Verdiana”), spas (The Terme of Saturnia), beaches etc. They will know how to counsel you. The Melograno is much more than a hotel, it’s the beginning of a great Tuscan adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maldenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

l Melograno Hotel is a small, seven-room place just at the base of the hill that is topped with the very old town of Montemerano, about a 40 minute drive (and a lovely one at that) to the east of Grosseto, and only 15 minutes from the historic spa town of Saturnia. Melograno is family-run and its details show it. The rooms are spacious, light, impeccably clean, and well furnished. Most rooms have small terraces that look out on the lovely rolling hills of the area. The bathrooms are exceptionally large with showers, double sinks, and truly absorbent towels. The breakfasts are a pleasure, with local breads and pastries as well as jams and honeys, all to the tune of a noisy machine that in the owner's hands produces very fine cappucino. The bonus is that less than 100 yards away is the Trattoria Verdiana where one can feast on a contemporary interpretation, using the very freshest ingredients, of the authentic dishes of the area.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank billrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montemerano
0.7 km away
Relais Ciavatta
Relais Ciavatta
#4 of 4 in Montemerano
328 reviews
1 km away
Bio Agriturismo Podere Santa Croce
1.3 km away
Hotel Poggio Bertino
Hotel Poggio Bertino
#2 of 4 in Montemerano
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Il Cantuccio
Il Cantuccio
#4 of 15 in Manciano
242 reviews
15.9 km away
Borgo Magliano Resort
Borgo Magliano Resort
#1 of 1 in Magliano in Toscana
400 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Acquaviva
Villa Acquaviva
#3 of 4 in Montemerano
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Melograno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Melograno

Address: Loc. Ponticello, 58050 Montemerano, Manciano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Montemerano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montemerano
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Melograno 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing