We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Relais Ciavatta(Montemerano)
US$105
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Villa Acquaviva(Montemerano)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Agriturismo Saragiolo(Montemerano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$99
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Poggio del Drago(Montemerano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$82
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Il Capannone(Montemerano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
La Bell'Antiglia(Montemerano)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B La Piaggia(Montemerano)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Mastro Titta Pizza Eat & Sleep(Montemerano)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Il Cancello Rosso(Montemerano)
Free cancellation until 23/07
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
58
98
38
16
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
58
98
38
16
14
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012 via mobile

Having read the great reviews I should have been warned by the fact that they were from 2007. A lot has obviously happened to this 'hotel' in 5 years.
We were greeted by a surly man manning the front desk.
Our room initially looked lovely until the dirty bed cover was properly looked at. The bathroom was disgusting - had not been cleaned from the previous guests. We had to clean the toilet seat just to be able to use it (thank god for antibacterial wipes).
We had one bath towel to share and a pillow each. No spares in the cupboards. The aircon didn't work and there was no fan until we begged the surely man in the evening when we couldn't breathe.
In the morning we thought that we'd been through the worst - but no. A poor excuse for breakfast and cold coffee topped it off as did the €110 we spent staying at one of the worst hotels I've ever been to. My recommendation would be to STAY AWAY from this place if you value your money.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SaraGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

I've been to Il Melograno several times and have sent friends to stay there as well. They have all returned from their trip thanking me for recommending Il Melograno and telling me it was the best part of their time spent in Italy. It's a wonderful base from which to explore all the Maremma has to offer - 5 minutes from the Thermal Baths and charming town of Saturnia, 30 minutes to the picturesque Pitigliano, 45 minutes to the seaside, etc, etc. If you feel like staying nearby, you can walk up the hill to the quaint town of Montemerano.

One of the best parts of the hotel is the attached restaurant - "La Verdiana". Without a doubt the most memorable meals I've experienced in Italy. A great way to spend your evening after daytrips around the countryside....and when your done eating and drinking you only have to walk back to your room.

The hotel is spotless and all the rooms have their own balcony with nice views (ask for the rooms on the upper floor as they have better views). Another highlight is the breakfast that you'll wake up to every day - be sure and eat the ricotta with honey drizzled on it...

Also be sure to visit the thermal baths just down the street.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jdp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

I have been travelling in the Maremma for the last ten years. The Il Melograno hotel near Montemerano is “the” place to stay to explore this most fascinating area of Tuscany because of the great service, hospitality, surroundings, and quality premises to be found there. The family that manages the hotel understand how to entertain visitors to the area, to guide them to the hidden treasures of the Maremma. Let them lead you to some of the best wine and olive oil makers, best restaurants (“La Trattoria Verdiana”), spas (The Terme of Saturnia), beaches etc. They will know how to counsel you. The Melograno is much more than a hotel, it’s the beginning of a great Tuscan adventure.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank maldenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2007

l Melograno Hotel is a small, seven-room place just at the base of the hill that is topped with the very old town of Montemerano, about a 40 minute drive (and a lovely one at that) to the east of Grosseto, and only 15 minutes from the historic spa town of Saturnia. Melograno is family-run and its details show it. The rooms are spacious, light, impeccably clean, and well furnished. Most rooms have small terraces that look out on the lovely rolling hills of the area. The bathrooms are exceptionally large with showers, double sinks, and truly absorbent towels. The breakfasts are a pleasure, with local breads and pastries as well as jams and honeys, all to the tune of a noisy machine that in the owner's hands produces very fine cappucino. The bonus is that less than 100 yards away is the Trattoria Verdiana where one can feast on a contemporary interpretation, using the very freshest ingredients, of the authentic dishes of the area.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank billrohwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

Hotel Il Melograno, just outside the town of Montemerano, is a great base for exploring “la maremma” the southernmost part of Tuscany that is still yet to be discovered by many foreign tourists, so go now! All but one of the 7 rooms has a roomy, covered terrace with a view on the gardens and over the rolling hills, and rooms are quite spacious with double sinks in the bathroom and a sitting area. Very nice for a 3-star hotel and well-priced, too, about 140 euro double with breakfast featuring fresh ricotta and just-baked cakes. The friendly owner is always ready with lots of information about what to do in the area. There is an excellent restaurant next door, frequented by Italians in the know, and after a great dinner, I walked slowly back to the hotel through an olive grove sparkling with fireflies-truly heavenly! Nearby there are fascinating Etruscan sites, sleepy hilltowns, good wineries, hiking trails, the hot springs at Saturnia, the amazing 2-star Michelin restaurant Caino and good, simple trattorie, while the seaside is close enough for a day trip. This makes a good stopover when going to or from the Rome airport, which is about 2 hours away.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soxina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews