We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mena Farm(Lanivet)(Great Value!)
US$27
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trehellas House(Washaway)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hustyns Hotel(St Breock)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Royal Oak Inn(Lostwithiel)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
246
77
12
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
77
12
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslanivet inneden projectlocal pubwarm welcomelots of historylounge barbreakfast was excellentfish and chip shopguest houselovely old buildingsuperior roomanyone wishingfour poster bedother guestscomfortable bedmain roadpudding
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We got there about 2pm and found that we could not book in until 4pm and were shunted off to town. It was my mistake because we did have a note that we couldn't get in until then, but being tired, it would have been handy.

I enjoyed the convivial dialogue with the proprietor who turned out to be a PTI in the Brit Army and I could see was from the old school. He managed his delightful young daughter with aplomb and gentle, calm composure. I am sure she will grow into a valuable asset for his business.

We were allocated the front room which was fine, well appointed, clean and very livable.

I really enjoyed the couple of drams of whisky we both got into in his magnificent whisky bar as the hours past, you will have to try that. Brilliantly set out. Could have done with some Dalmore!

Finally, he (and his wife of course) have this old stone building falling down out the back of the premises and I mentioned he should do something about getting it renovated. He did say it was all down to money so if anyone out there is keen to see a very old English friary reborn, let him know. What a draw card this would be for the area. I would have started the fund but I am just a poor aging Australian.

Breakfast was brilliant and of course, we would stay there again.

By the way, this is not Heather but her descriptive partner.

Room Tip: They are all good.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay after your initial disappointment and apologise for not being able to accommodate your early arrival. If you are ever this way in the future we hope we can continue our chats and stories - and we can get you in some Dalmore!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here recently as a family taking 3 rooms. The welcome was warm and our introduction to this lovely place thorough.

The superior double (room 2) was large, faced out into the very attractive front garden and had a lovely large bed and good ensuite with strong shower. It was warm but not stuffy.

Room 4 was a standard double with standard double bed - also very comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent - a good variety of hot and cold options.

A very nice touch way that there is a lovely sitting room where you can go and have a drink in the evening.

The owners are delightful and it is well worth taking some time to ask them the history of this 600 year old building!

Would highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank fjg22cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and sharing helpful information. We are glad we could make your stay comfortable and enjoyable despite the circumstances of your visit to Cornwall. We hope to meet you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

The property is part of an old abbey that has been converted to permit about six bedroooms, all with en suite. It is located about 600 metres from the small town of Lanivet which is about 4 kms from Bodmin. We spent two nights there while exploring local interests expecially the National Trust Lanhydrock House, well worth a look. Breakfast at St Benets is good with the usual choices. There is a lounge with bar. In Lanivet there is a pub with good pub meals.

Room Tip: Be careful as the property is easy to drive past in the dark
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank charles s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for providing some helpful info and for taking the time to post a good review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

A freindly host with a warm welcome. The bar, although small was well stocked with local real ales and 22 malt whiskies, which I did not try. The room was OK but the en suite was small and the hand basin very small. The owner apologised for this but it did not detract too much from the systay. More than 1 night may have been an issue. The breakfast was very good, being cooked to order. A nice place with some interesting history and we will be back but not to room 9.

Room Tip: Not room 9
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Szlachcic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and share some helpful details. Room 9 is indeed our smallest ensuite and is priced accordingly in comparison with our other rooms. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We were visiting Cornwall to see the Bloodhond trials and booked this place for 2 nights. For those in doubt this is a B&B in what might be described as the best traditions.

You book your room, sleep have breakfast and then go out for the day. Nothing wrong with that in my view.

We arrived after a relatively long drive from Essex and were warmly welcomed. The host made us feel welcome and showed us the facilities and our room. Whilst this is not a 5 star hotel, the facilities were more than adequate and the service good. Towels change everyday, supplies in the room replenished every day, free wifi and a lounge/bar if you wanted to have a drink in the evening.

We had brought some soya milk with us in a flask and asked if they would put it in their fridge, which they gladly did for us, they also told us they have soya milk in anyway if we needed any more. Unusual in many establishments in our experience.

A good place to rest ones head.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn J, Owner at St Benet's Abbey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you for posting us a nice review. We enjoyed looking after you and hope that we enhanced your trip to Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews