We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-j/08/25/06/c1.jpg
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/c1.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/86.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/59.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/4e.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/55.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/b1.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/5c.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/4f.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/92.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/5e.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/5f.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/71.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/b0.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/6b.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/93.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/e0.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/8c.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/78.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/7a.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/9b.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/bb.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/91.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/98.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/a3.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/ba.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/87.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/a4.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/99.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/cb.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/c9.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/e8.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/d5.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/b3.jpg
https://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/vr-ha-splice-m/08/25/06/f1.jpg
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
7 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Ettrick, Selkirk, Scottish Borders, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Poor - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Laura T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed 16 August 2021 for a stay in August 2021
2
people found this review helpful

A large group of us booked the Ettrick View farmhouse for a birthday celebration, our celebrations were soon ruined by the terrible attitude of the owner. On day 2 after reporting the dish washer was leaking (he lives on-site in the house opposite), he came to look at it, which incidentally was an old model which was being held together inside by string! He then proceded to tell us it was our fault the dish washer was not working correctly and that we should either arrange an engineer to repair it or claim our insurance to replace it and if we didn’t have insurance, we should go to Asda and purchase some! When this was questioned by us, he became very aggressive and intimidating towards us.

The evening before he turned up at the house at 10pm to complain about where our hired hot tubs had been placed, as they were apparently damaging his grass, we used the company he recommends on his website (who were brilliant) it had nothing to do with us where they were situated, yet he still felt the need to berate us about it at that time of night and warned us not to splash (the youngest member of our group is 42!), we were basically spoken to like a bunch of silly girls.

To top it all off, over a week after our return and after numerous emails to his booking agent, I have received no reply or acknowledgment OR received any of our £200 deposit back. We also spoke to another family who stayed in the second farmhouse at the same time as us, they told us he had also charged them money for damage they were not responsible for.

The house is old and dated, it needs desperately upgraded. I have photos of rips in the furniture and curtains and the string holding the dish washer together, yet he has the cheek to withhold our £200!

Because we booked direct there is nowhere to complain to, I really wish we could take this further but hopefully this review will serve as a warning to others. This man is a con artist and basically stole our deposit with no explanation, overall a very unpleasant experience I would not wish to repeat any time soon.

The only good thing about the place is the view, such a shame as the area is stunning.

Date of stay: August 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.