We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$63
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$200
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacifica Resort Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,949)
Filter reviews
2,950 results
Traveller rating
1,303
987
415
153
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,303
987
415
153
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachbella vistalobby barbrisa iiel mexicanosolarium restaurantbellavista restaurantbreakfast buffetall inclusive packagemobility issuescocktail hourall inclusive planquiet resortsitting areameal planbaby turtlesocean view
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 2,950 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed over Holy Week for 7 days. Overall, we liked the hotel. Checking in was extremely slow. Over a half hour waiting in line for about 5 groups ahead of us. But our own check in took less than 5 minutes so I’m not sure what the problems were with three people manning the front desk.

The room was fine. There’s a sofa of sorts that will readily sleep someone to avoid a rollaway for groups of three. Or five if you’re sharing double beds. Furnishings are typical Mexican resort hotel with a touch of old colonialism. Dark wood and such. Some updating in the bathroom and the chairs in the sitting area would be good. But no ones in the room much here anyway. All have balconies overlooking the ocean. Great views. AC needs updating; bearable but got a little warm at the end of the day even while on high all day. WiFi is weak in the rooms and your device will likely lose the signal a lot moving around the hotel with all the concrete. But when you have it, it was good enough to send photos and such.

The hotel needs a bit of maintenance. Things like missing tiles in the pools, some floor tiles, etc. But i did see people working on it so with a big hotel I’m sure it’s always ongoing.

The lack of easy public access to the beach keeps out vendors. The beach is nice. Big waves- the red flags were up every day. Lots of palapas for shade. On Good Friday it was packed and they brought out beach umbrellas with the palapas all taken early. The pools had many umbrellas too and it was nice to have a kiddie pool, kids pool, and adult pool. Also there are lots of stairs given the geography. There are elevators if you’re lazy or tired. Or on vacation. I liked the winding paths to the beach and pool.

The service was excellent. The best I’ve had in any resort hotel. Waiters always circulating on the beach, pools, and restaurants. You can go all inclusive or not. Beers at 45, breakfast buffet at 250 pesos can give you an idea if you want to go AI. Three specialty restaurants along with one at the pool and the main one at the hotel. (Also outdoor buffet nights). Even the main one has a menu to order off if you prefer that. You could also request things like espresso coffee and bacon if you wanted. You get one specialty restaurant/two days. Most of the guests were Mexican so the buffet had lots of Mexican items. But plenty other for breakfast. Cereal, omelets, rolls etc. Good fruit too like papaya. If you don’t go AI, note you are a taxi ride into town. Overall, I’d put it a bit above average food for AI.

Dress code is a bit tiresome at specialty restaurants. They said pants collared shirt and closed shoes for men but at the first one outside I saw sandals T-shirts and shorts. Not knowing I sweated throughout dinner. Then at the Mexican I dressed down but had to go back to the room for pants. Inside was a guy eating in a T-shirt that said “drunk skunk”. So I’d say the dress code amounts to wear pants inside men. You need reservations for all. About 1/4-1/3 of menu items at specialty restaurants required a premium of half the listed price if on the AI plan. That was mostly shellfish.

So while not perfect we enjoyed our stay a lot. The service is the best.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Prolix50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisasIxtPublic, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

We want to thank you for sharing your valuable insights regarding your recent staying at our resort, we´re glad to know that you enjoyed our current configuration and we also truly thank you for mentioning the aspects that can be improved to enrich our many features. We deeply value the high rating conceded to our services and we are definitely looking forward your next visit.

Thank you for choosing us

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Over the past 10 years, we have returned to Las Brisas every time we go to this part of Mexico (6 times now). This is predominantly because of the great staff and service, particularly Sergio, Klein, Margarito, Pedro, Arturo, Victor, and Cirillo, to name a few. It's amazing to us that they always welcome us by name, considering the amount of people they meet in a year, and the fact that we do not go every consecutive year. The ocean view rooms with hammocks, the private beach, the amazing views, the breathtaking sunsets, and the good food and drinks never disappoint. Yes, there have been some changes over the years, in terms of what is no longer offered in the all-inclusive plan, but at the end of the day, it's still worth the money - if the goal is a relaxing vacation. I am sure we will return to Las Brisas, when we go back to Ixtapa!

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisasIxtPublic, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we just loved read your review and I am shure that Sergio, Klein, Margarito, Pedro, Arturo, Victor and Cirilo loved too. We are so happy to know that you lived a pleasant time enjoying our great configuration as well as our magnificent facilities.
We thank you as well for the highest rating conceded to our services, it truly means a deep motivation to keep up our major efforts every day.

Looking forward your next visit

Thank you for keeping choosing us

Sincerely yours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

My boyfriend and I just spent 5 fantastic days at Las Brisas Ixtapa, and had a wonderful time! We didn't experience anything mentioned in the negative reviews (but are also familiar with the typical all-inclusive experience, and were not traveling with children).

The private beach was a dream; it was so nice to get to relax without feeling guilty about turning away the vendors that usually stroll resort beaches.

I loved that the restaurants and bars were open until midnight, as we prefer late dinners. The only thing not included in the inclusive package were room service (which was inexpensive--about $40 for 4 generously portioned dishes), and extra dinners in the Portofino and El Mexicano restaurants (we were granted 2 for our 4 nights). Yes, there were a couple items on the dinner menus that were not included, but they were clearly marked. The buffet and beach snack bar were on par with typical all-inclusive buffets, and the dinner restaurants were absolutely delicious.

Our room was the Junior Suite with the jacuzzi, hammock, and double-sized deck, and it was SO worth the upgrade--we loved watching the sunset from the jacuzzi. The view was stunning as well, and I think it's great that every room in the hotel has an ocean view.

As for those stairs everyone is mentioning--huh?? There were a few to the restaurants and from the beach elevator to the beach itself, but they were very short flights. I was expecting full-on hikes based on other reviews, but honestly, we barely even noticed that they existed...

Overall, this was my favorite experience at an all-inclusive hotel. Again, it might have been different had we been traveling with children, but for a romantic getaway, it was everything we were hoping for, and more!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisasIxtPublic, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

It is a great feeling to know about such detailed moments on your recent experience at Las Brisas Ixtapa, we want to thank you for expressing such kind appreciation on our many features and facilities. We also value the high rating you´ve just conceded to our services, it represents an enormous impulse to enhance our performance every day.

Looking forward your next visit

Thank you for choosing us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Starting with the positive : Very nice beach, with exceptional service for drinks and food. If you ordered beer, they brought a bucket with good bottled choices, and refilled the ice all day! You could order lunch right at your pals park or eat the beachside restaurant, barefoot if desired! Wine was served in a glass! Great Caeser salad and good fish!
The rooms were clean, good view, (we were on 14th floor..)
We tried 2 ala cartes (Portofino and Las Brisas 2) Las Brisas had exceptional view, outdoors and good menu. (the best meal options tho were not included in the all inclusive, somewhat annoying!
Easy 15 minute walk to town, but you better be in prime physical shape to walk back. Very steep hill, although taxi ride is only 60 pesos (5$).
The negative : if you are a pool lover you will be disappointed. Small, far from main building, and a disastrous lunch restaurant. (did not have a single fruit item) on our arrival date, and we never went back.
They seem to chince out as mentioned on food and drinks, as often the "choice" was not included or extra. As we were not overly impressed with the regular options we rarely paid the extras for top shelf. The lobby bar paled in comparison to other resorts we've been. Also virtually no entertainment or dance floor. The hotel must have been grand when built, but very outdated by now. We were in Ixtapa as well in Feb and stayed at the Azul Grande which we liked a lot better (and on the last few years, less money) The best deal in Ixtapa are the massages on the beach! Excellent value. Don't waste your money on the overpriced spas!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank I6458IKjohnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisasIxtPublic, Public Relations Manager at Las Brisas Ixtapa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

We want to thank you for sharing such various details concerning your recent staying at our resort, we value your insights as a great reference to improve our diverse features and services. Overall, we sincerely hope that you were able to enjoy a pleasant time at our beautiful facilities.

Thank you for choosing us

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

I checked in to Las Brisas yesterday for a 1 week stay. At check in we were told about the 3 a la carte restaurants and given our vouchers for 3 visits. When we went to make our reservations this morning we were informed that 2 of the 3 do not allow children. We have stayed here before with children and have never had an issue. When I asked the concierge when this changed she said it has been at least 7 years. No where in any of the marketing material or websites does it state that children cannot go to Portofino or Las Brisas II. I feel completely misled and terribly disappointed as one of the highlights of our last trip was the meal at Las Brisas II, and my daughter was looking forward to Portofino. If this is a hotel policy, then guests should be made aware prior to booking their stay, not blindsided after the fact. It is enough to ensure we won't be back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank KMS091209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews