We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
US$261
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$279
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Emporio Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Brisas Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$169
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fontan Ixtapa(Ixtapa)
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$162
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada Real Ixtapa(Ixtapa)(Great Value!)
US$104
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$414
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
355
321
138
45
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
321
138
45
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoyster bareco gymwater wingsplaya lindaupper poollobby barwaterpark areakids clubrifle shootingitalian buffetdark sandgold flecksa la carte restaurantscrocodile sanctuarywater taxiseafoodkayak tour
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel and grounds were beautiful. A lot of care and attention to detail on the landscaping. The beach at the resort is tiny and a lot of rocks when we were there. Food was OK but we aren't gourmet food connoisseurs in the specialty restaurants weren't so special. We stayed for a week and we're only allowed to book 3 nights at the specialty restaurants all of the other nights had to be spent at the buffet. The buffet didn't very pretty much the same food each day and night

Walked down to the pier in Playa Linda and the little little shopping center. Went to the crocodile farm which was nice to see but be prepared for the smell.

Took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was a lot cheaper than taking a shuttle. Took a taxi to a flea market in Zhiuatenejo. Much better prices than the flea market in Ixtapa. Taxi drivers weren't very out going or friendly.

And a massage at the spa while the prices were great compared to US prices the massage itself was definitely not anything special. The staff outside of the massage room was loud so it wasn't very relaxing.

Of all places we have been I have to say this was our least favorite. Cozumel has been favorite for the friendly people, beautiful scenery, rich history, clean and reasonable prices.

Won't be returning to Ixtapa.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kangaruhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We have been to quite a few all inclusive resorts and this one was great.
Rooms- we had a king bed with a cot and used the chaise lounge despite the many request for two cots we could only get one. The rooms were very large and we had a large balcony! Fridge - water only. Beds were comfortable pillows not as much.
We were only a few floors from the lobby noise was not an issue the air conditioning drowned it out and we always use ear plugs.
Food our first night in we did have a big problem the whole Buffett was cold so I was very worried, but after that every Buffett had great options. The room service was amazing it always came when they said it would and it was always hot.
Alacarte enjoyed the three we tried. Oyster was great had breakfast here as well. Italian had a great pasta station. They have a steak night once a week you ha e to ask about this it was great! There is always two buffets both small but always something to eat,
Note: this one of the few Mexican resorts where I enjoyed the coffee and the wine!
Pools two huge pools one with swim up bar kids loved the drinks. The kids park looked great but my eleven and eight year old weren't into it.
Kids club my kids didn't enjoy the kids club because of a misunderstanding between us and the club as you can't sign out the kids until each session is complete so when they wanted to leave early I wasn't allowed to take them out.
Beach we loved walking the beach the waves were great but yes very murky. Quick ten minute walk to an awesome crocodile sanctuary near the pier and market.
There was a great area for playing pool ping pong foozeball and you could get cards or chess great for at night my kids weren't interested in the shows.
Service was good although language was a barrier sometimes had to search out someone who spoke English which was fine.
Ixtapa Island was great but take a lot of cash not everywhere takes credit there was great for snorkelling. I wish they had signs about not touching the coral people where standing on it which was sad.
Overall great trip good value for money awesome for families.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devona35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

We went here with our son in March 2017. We went with sunwing and will try and avoid ever vacationing with sunwing in the future. Food was disappointing beds were the worst I've ever had in Mexico and we've been more than a dozen times to resorts all over Mexico and these were awful. There is nothing for night life at this resort. The lobby bar closes at 11pm and you can't get a drink anywhere after that. The fridges are not stocked with beer as every other resort I've ever been to is. You get a couple bottles of water. That's it. No snacks no pop. Our son is 17 so we can't comment on the kids club but the resort had lots of kids. This resort caters to locals more than anything else. And the weekend was packed with locals. Come Monday the resort almost seemed empty. On the weekend you can't get a chair around the pool. The beach is gross. Sand is hard and smells. You can swim in the ocean which is nice. If you walk a few minutes down the beach you can take a boat across to the island for $50 pesos per person. We went twice while there as the service was awesome food was fantastic and swimming was great. Beautiful sand and the little fish swim all around you. This was the highlight of the trip for sure. For $100pesos you get 6 bottles of beer in an ice bucket. They had lounge chairs with nice cushions and we had the best coconut shrimp while over there. There is also a market like shopping area beside where you take the boat. The prices and selection of items were as good here as in the city. The weather in Ixtapa was hot and lovely.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Shawna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

We spent 2 weeks in April in Ixtapa. A great resort for families with lots for everyone to do. My wife and I had a great time. Weather was perfect every day. Sun Sun Sun

Pros
2 huge pools as well as a separate kids area. The service was always great no matter what part of the resort you were on. There is always someone to get you a drink no matter where you sit at the pools. We found that until about 9:00 am you could always find an umbrella seat and if you needed to get one closer to you hi
someone would bring one to you.Great Caeser salad at the Costa Azul al la Carte that is made at your table. The view from the Oyster bar restaurant at night is incredible. Dinner at Sunset. You have to try it. Ask for a B52 at the lobby bar. They have there own version of it but it is so tasty. MY wife got hurt and the paramedics on sight came in less that 10 minutes to look at her leg. They checked her leg and bandages it up. Called them back up on the second night and they were there in less than 5 minutes. Any time we needed anything from towels or water someone arrived in less than 10 minutes. Can't say enough about the staff at this resort. We have been to Mexico 4 times and this is by far the best service we have had. If you have any questions about the resort feel free to ask.

Cons.
If you have mobility problems this resorts might be too large for you. You can use elevators from the rooms to the upper pool but then you have to do stairs or ramps. My wife got hurt and so I pushed her in a wheelchair (supplied by the hotel at no charge) for the last week of our vacation and I found it ok to get her around to wherever we wanted to go.

Stayed: April 2017
3  Thank allensfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

My Wife and I just returned home from a weeks stay. First thing I have to say is this resort really is as nice as others have described. We had a Balcony room on the top floor and it was large and very clean. The house keeping staff were terrific and virtually invisible as we only saw them once or twice. The food is a bit of a joke. buffet items were rarely warm and lacked a lot of seasoning to make them some what palatable. The a la carte restaurants were decent. The best by far is the Oster Bar, best surf and turf, best location, and best service! Alberto...you sir are a star!
while on the topic of food, We did team up with a few other guests and did a trip into town to Franks to watch a hockey game. Great food and really worth the trip!
Bar service was pretty quick and drinks were good! I think they should have a little flip book of drinks so people can try different drinks!
The beach... yes the beach is hard packed, but that's because the tide comes up so high at night! I went for many long walks and loved it. We couldn't believe there were no warning signs but here it is... **Watch out for crocodiles!**
My biggest issue is the incredible number of day passes given to those brought in for time share presentations. Literally by the buss loads.
Would we return...to Zihuantanejo, most likely yes... to this resort, nope.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank r0b1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2017

Dear client:
Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved. We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews