We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
359
326
140
47
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
326
140
47
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoyster bareco gymwater wingsplaya lindaupper poollobby barwaterpark areakids clubitalian buffetdark sanda la carte restaurantscrocodile reserveseafoodcanadian moneykayak tourwater taxikids pool
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel that I would never ever have booked on my own accord, but was put there while working on a 3 day congress. It’s a large property with the Azul on one side, the convention center in the middle, and the more luxurious Grand on the other side.
The Azul is an all-inclusive family oriented hotel which is often not equivalent to either quality or service.
I arrived very early and very tired and was offered coffee while my check in was sorted out by friendly staff. My room on the top floor with a spectacular view, was fairly utilitarian, but large and airy with plenty of storage space, an increasingly frequent rarity these days. The king size bed was very comfortable, the a/c nice and cold and the water pressure pretty good.
The Italian buffet looked nice, the other buffet seems to have a different theme every day and both TexMex, Mexican and breakfast were pretty good, with something for everybody, lots of salad and fresh fruit, and more friendly and attentive staff.
There are all sorts of activities for adults and children and everybody looked very happy and I think this would be a very good place to come with kids of any age. The hotel is a long way from anywhere but there is a reasonably priced mini-supermarket and several other little stores selling whatever you might need and can’t be bothered to go out and get.
Everywhere is impeccably clean, and the grounds are very well maintained and busy people are to be seen everywhere. Little details were provided that you would expect from somewhere much smarter, and all in all this is an extremely well-managed hotel in which I would be very happy to stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.

Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially –Azul Ixtapa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Very happy with this holiday. Food was good, location good. Beach wasn't great, didn't spend a lot of time there. Front desk was very accommodating. We booked 2 separate rooms, it was cheaper than 1 room for 4 of us. They put us in an adjoining room. Was fantastic. One of the best holidays we've been on.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Kfmilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We picked the Azul as last minute getaway. The mixed reviews were a bit of a concern.Here is our view
Check-in Process
Check-in was chaotic as many buses came in at same time and the lobby is pretty small to accommodate large crowds. Staff did go about handing out cold water bottles to everyone and it the actual time at the desk was not very long.

Rooms,
Rooms were average sized and did not contain much seating space inside the room. The balcony was decent and overlooked the stunning ocean view (see photo)

Beach
As others have mentioned, the beach for the hotel itself is not very big. But the beach is part of a much longer beach that stretches for miles. we walked daily on the beach and it was delightful. In comparison the beach for the Grand is tiny rock strewn strip of land

Service
The staff was very pleasant and eager to please. One of the highlights of the trip was when we approached some gardeners who were trimming the coconut trees in the hotel grounds and they promptly cut open a green coconut for us to drink with a big smile. Remember these were not the normal wait staff, just gardeners doing their work.

Trips
We did the kayak tour to the little island off the bay and it was included in our package. The tour was professional and friendly and we spent some lovely time snorkeling with bright colored fish in the coral bay on the island. We also hired a jet ski at the beach for a pretty reasonable price

Food.
They have a number of restaurants. Some thoughts
La Terraza - Italian themed - Air conditioned (useful in the heat)- Food was a mix of Italian and Mexican flavors . A pasta bar and an omelette station made it our most frequented place

Oyster Bar- Wonderful location - Food was so so and with very limited menu options and no vegetarian options. Required reservations even if half full - No variety in drinks from the rest of the hotel. Could be great in the hands of a creative chef but we just stuck to having a glass of wine there and enjoying the sunset.
Plaza Mexicana - hardcore mexcian local food. Worth a visit of you are keen to try the local cusine.

"Colores" Mix of everything - overlooks the beach and pool. Great location although the food was nothing great.

Lobby bar - The best spot to hang out with great drinks and an incredible view of the sunset.

Areas for improvement :

Lifts are slow and prone to stoppages
In room fridge is not stocked with anything other than water . Some other beverages would prevent a trip to the bar/ restaurant.
Taste of food could do with an improvement . All the food seemed to taste the same .

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean. Pick a room in the main building to avoid long walks and to be closer to the bars , pool and restaurants
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel and grounds were beautiful. A lot of care and attention to detail on the landscaping. The beach at the resort is tiny and a lot of rocks when we were there. Food was OK but we aren't gourmet food connoisseurs in the specialty restaurants weren't so special. We stayed for a week and we're only allowed to book 3 nights at the specialty restaurants all of the other nights had to be spent at the buffet. The buffet didn't very pretty much the same food each day and night

Walked down to the pier in Playa Linda and the little little shopping center. Went to the crocodile farm which was nice to see but be prepared for the smell.

Took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was a lot cheaper than taking a shuttle. Took a taxi to a flea market in Zhiuatenejo. Much better prices than the flea market in Ixtapa. Taxi drivers weren't very out going or friendly.

And a massage at the spa while the prices were great compared to US prices the massage itself was definitely not anything special. The staff outside of the massage room was loud so it wasn't very relaxing.

Of all places we have been I have to say this was our least favorite. Cozumel has been favorite for the friendly people, beautiful scenery, rich history, clean and reasonable prices.

Won't be returning to Ixtapa.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kangaruhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

We have been to quite a few all inclusive resorts and this one was great.
Rooms- we had a king bed with a cot and used the chaise lounge despite the many request for two cots we could only get one. The rooms were very large and we had a large balcony! Fridge - water only. Beds were comfortable pillows not as much.
We were only a few floors from the lobby noise was not an issue the air conditioning drowned it out and we always use ear plugs.
Food our first night in we did have a big problem the whole Buffett was cold so I was very worried, but after that every Buffett had great options. The room service was amazing it always came when they said it would and it was always hot.
Alacarte enjoyed the three we tried. Oyster was great had breakfast here as well. Italian had a great pasta station. They have a steak night once a week you ha e to ask about this it was great! There is always two buffets both small but always something to eat,
Note: this one of the few Mexican resorts where I enjoyed the coffee and the wine!
Pools two huge pools one with swim up bar kids loved the drinks. The kids park looked great but my eleven and eight year old weren't into it.
Kids club my kids didn't enjoy the kids club because of a misunderstanding between us and the club as you can't sign out the kids until each session is complete so when they wanted to leave early I wasn't allowed to take them out.
Beach we loved walking the beach the waves were great but yes very murky. Quick ten minute walk to an awesome crocodile sanctuary near the pier and market.
There was a great area for playing pool ping pong foozeball and you could get cards or chess great for at night my kids weren't interested in the shows.
Service was good although language was a barrier sometimes had to search out someone who spoke English which was fine.
Ixtapa Island was great but take a lot of cash not everywhere takes credit there was great for snorkelling. I wish they had signs about not touching the coral people where standing on it which was sad.
Overall great trip good value for money awesome for families.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devona35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We will follow up on the observations mentioned.
We hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews