We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Ixtapa
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed here last January and I'm just getting around to writing the review now. We had a great stay at the Azul Beach Resort with my wife and two kids (9 & 7). They have a fantastic kids club and plenty of activities for the kids to enjoy and to give mom and dad some alone time lol. The area is beautiful and weather was amazing. The food at the buffets I would say was only average and was fairly repetitive but we never went hungry and the kids always found something they liked. El a Cartes were much better and we really enjoyed the steakhouse and the seafood place that was down the boardwalk and overlooking the ocean (beautiful, romantic setting). If my wife and I were to go again without kids, we would definitely stay at the Azul Grand which is right next door and much more luxurious and couples friendly but the beach resort was amazing for our family. Ixtapa Island is directly across from the resort and a short water taxi ride away at 40 pesos round trip. It is amazing and very much worth the trip to spend a day. All rooms are oceanview as well which was an added bonus! Although ours did not have a balcony which was unexpected but the window was actually a sliding patio door and opened very wide with a railing to make it feel like a balcony so we were happy with that.....amazing views and sunsets!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanview but some don't have balconies, although the window opens like a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Tona8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017


Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 851 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This is a hotel that I would never ever have booked on my own accord, but was put there while working on a 3 day congress. It’s a large property with the Azul on one side, the convention center in the middle, and the more luxurious Grand on the other side.
The Azul is an all-inclusive family oriented hotel which is often not equivalent to either quality or service.
I arrived very early and very tired and was offered coffee while my check in was sorted out by friendly staff. My room on the top floor with a spectacular view, was fairly utilitarian, but large and airy with plenty of storage space, an increasingly frequent rarity these days. The king size bed was very comfortable, the a/c nice and cold and the water pressure pretty good.
The Italian buffet looked nice, the other buffet seems to have a different theme every day and both TexMex, Mexican and breakfast were pretty good, with something for everybody, lots of salad and fresh fruit, and more friendly and attentive staff.
There are all sorts of activities for adults and children and everybody looked very happy and I think this would be a very good place to come with kids of any age. The hotel is a long way from anywhere but there is a reasonably priced mini-supermarket and several other little stores selling whatever you might need and can’t be bothered to go out and get.
Everywhere is impeccably clean, and the grounds are very well maintained and busy people are to be seen everywhere. Little details were provided that you would expect from somewhere much smarter, and all in all this is an extremely well-managed hotel in which I would be very happy to stay again!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
3  Thank archibalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your time to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.

Were happy to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for choosing Azul Ixtapa Hotels as your vacation home!
We hope to see you again in a near future.

Cordially –Azul Ixtapa Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Very happy with this holiday. Food was good, location good. Beach wasn't great, didn't spend a lot of time there. Front desk was very accommodating. We booked 2 separate rooms, it was cheaper than 1 room for 4 of us. They put us in an adjoining room. Was fantastic. One of the best holidays we've been on.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Kfmilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest:
It is a pleasure to express our gratitude for your kindly preference, especially for the valuable time that you took to let us know your impressions concerning the facilities and service provided during your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate your comments that give us the opportunity to know our guest’s valuable opinion since this is the key to our success.

We remain our gratefulness for your comments and look forward for the opportunity to welcome you again in the nearest future.

Cordially,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We picked the Azul as last minute getaway. The mixed reviews were a bit of a concern.Here is our view
Check-in Process
Check-in was chaotic as many buses came in at same time and the lobby is pretty small to accommodate large crowds. Staff did go about handing out cold water bottles to everyone and it the actual time at the desk was not very long.

Rooms,
Rooms were average sized and did not contain much seating space inside the room. The balcony was decent and overlooked the stunning ocean view (see photo)

Beach
As others have mentioned, the beach for the hotel itself is not very big. But the beach is part of a much longer beach that stretches for miles. we walked daily on the beach and it was delightful. In comparison the beach for the Grand is tiny rock strewn strip of land

Service
The staff was very pleasant and eager to please. One of the highlights of the trip was when we approached some gardeners who were trimming the coconut trees in the hotel grounds and they promptly cut open a green coconut for us to drink with a big smile. Remember these were not the normal wait staff, just gardeners doing their work.

Trips
We did the kayak tour to the little island off the bay and it was included in our package. The tour was professional and friendly and we spent some lovely time snorkeling with bright colored fish in the coral bay on the island. We also hired a jet ski at the beach for a pretty reasonable price

Food.
They have a number of restaurants. Some thoughts
La Terraza - Italian themed - Air conditioned (useful in the heat)- Food was a mix of Italian and Mexican flavors . A pasta bar and an omelette station made it our most frequented place

Oyster Bar- Wonderful location - Food was so so and with very limited menu options and no vegetarian options. Required reservations even if half full - No variety in drinks from the rest of the hotel. Could be great in the hands of a creative chef but we just stuck to having a glass of wine there and enjoying the sunset.
Plaza Mexicana - hardcore mexcian local food. Worth a visit of you are keen to try the local cusine.

"Colores" Mix of everything - overlooks the beach and pool. Great location although the food was nothing great.

Lobby bar - The best spot to hang out with great drinks and an incredible view of the sunset.

Areas for improvement :

Lifts are slow and prone to stoppages
In room fridge is not stocked with anything other than water . Some other beverages would prevent a trip to the bar/ restaurant.
Taste of food could do with an improvement . All the food seemed to taste the same .

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean. Pick a room in the main building to avoid long walks and to be closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anuj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Hotel and grounds were beautiful. A lot of care and attention to detail on the landscaping. The beach at the resort is tiny and a lot of rocks when we were there. Food was OK but we aren't gourmet food connoisseurs in the specialty restaurants weren't so special. We stayed for a week and we're only allowed to book 3 nights at the specialty restaurants all of the other nights had to be spent at the buffet. The buffet didn't very pretty much the same food each day and night

Walked down to the pier in Playa Linda and the little little shopping center. Went to the crocodile farm which was nice to see but be prepared for the smell.

Took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was a lot cheaper than taking a shuttle. Took a taxi to a flea market in Zhiuatenejo. Much better prices than the flea market in Ixtapa. Taxi drivers weren't very out going or friendly.

And a massage at the spa while the prices were great compared to US prices the massage itself was definitely not anything special. The staff outside of the massage room was loud so it wasn't very relaxing.

Of all places we have been I have to say this was our least favorite. Cozumel has been favorite for the friendly people, beautiful scenery, rich history, clean and reasonable prices.

Won't be returning to Ixtapa.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank kangaruhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Consuelo_calidad, General Manager at Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Dear client:

Thank you for having taken your to provide us with your comments about the service provided during your stay.
We apologize that your stay with us wasn't a pleasant one, and we weren't able to reach your expectations, for which we are taking necessary actions with the areas involved.
Our quality of service isn't what you unfortunately received during your stay for that we hope that in a near future you will consider giving us the opportunity to provide you with the service you deserve.

Cordially – The General Directorate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ixtapa hotels
4.5 km away
Sunscape Dorado Pacifico Ixtapa
0.4 km away
Azul Ixtapa Grand Spa & Convention Center
5.1 km away
Barcelo Ixtapa
Barcelo Ixtapa
#5 of 23 in Ixtapa
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Las Brisas Ixtapa
Las Brisas Ixtapa
#7 of 23 in Ixtapa
2,707 reviews
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Ixtapa
4.6 km away
Emporio Ixtapa
Emporio Ixtapa
#8 of 23 in Ixtapa
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center

Address: Boulevar Paseo Punta Ixtapa s/n Lote 2 | Zona Hotelera II, Ixtapa, Zihuatanejo 40880, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Zihuatanejo > Ixtapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ixtapa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ixtapa
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Ixtapa
Price Range: RM 659 - RM 1,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Azul Ixtapa Beach Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Azul Ixtapa Hotel Ixtapa
Sol Melia Azul Ixtapa
Sol Melia Ixtapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing