We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort is beautiful! Great service, minus the SPA!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Puerto Aventuras
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Resort is beautiful! Great service, minus the SPA!”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This resort is BEAUTIFUL. Although extremely far from the airport. We were on the bus an hour and a half - we had quite a few stops though!
The pools are stunning and the entertainment at the pool was great, especially the band. I have to say, we booked the Cove side, which was much cheaper, but conveniently ended up with an ocean view room right on the border (spa, cove) so we spent our days at the Spa pool (Adults only) and our nights at the Cove- disco, shows, sports bar!

Room:
Cleaned daily, jacuzzi was a great touch! HUGE water bottles given to us every day! Coffee maker was a life saver! Balcony was where we spent our mornings!

Food:
The food was great. I appreciated the bottled water given to us every dinner. The mexican restaurant on the cove side was my favourite because the service was outstanding. I asked the waiter to "surprise me" on the dessert because I couldn't understand anything and I ended up getting a FULL ON cooking show! Fresh strawberries, ice cream, 3 kinds of liquor, being made right in front of me! As well, the guacamole is made right in front of you, infused with tequila! So good! The breakfast buffet was really well done. We realized the resort was extremely under staffed so some of the restaurants were closed on random nights, but you can manage your time just by asking ahead! The Italian restaurant on the spa side was another favourite! Very well done, felt just like home!

Eduardo at the martini bar (spa side) is HILARIOUS! you have to ask him to show you a card trick, as well my boyfriend was given a "good night my friend see you tomorrow" drink, tasty!!!! The martini bar was our favourite. Right on the water, VERY WINDY but beautiful, it was just us and Eduardo all night! I have to say the liquor served was INSANE! They have top shelf brands!!!!!!! Anything you can imagine!

The most apparent downfall of the Aventura Spa Palace is that it does NOT have a beach. It is a man made "cove" .. which is fine, it was EXACTLY what we expected: fake sand (like cat litter, honestly) and steps DOWN into the water (the water does flow into the sand, not even remotely "beach" like)! So needless to say, we were not disappointed because we knew all of this prior!

The spa was FULL when we arrived, so unfortunately we did not get to indulge in the 1500 credit. So i guess that was a "catch" but as long as you book ahead you will be fine! That was our mistake! Although the under staffing probably didn't help!

Room Tip: On the cove/spa border, because the better restaurants and disco/cafe/theater are on the cove side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and observations as well for mentioning Eduardo who provided you with an outstanding service and make you rock!

We are glad to know that all of our services were of your entire satisfaction. Yet all your comments have been shared with our Management team in order to keep revamping our processes.

We are glad to know that your recent stay was as you expected, and we will be delighted to host you again in any of our resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,349
    1,145
    365
    249
    184
See reviews for
791
2,689
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (862)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I recently went to Mexico with my girlfriend. It was my first trip with her there. The last time I was in Mexico was for a stag party, so I was looking for a more relaxing, yet fun experience.

Being a 5 star resort Aventura Spa / Cove catered to all our needs.
Lets start off with the room we got. First it had a jacuzzi in it....very cool. You even get your own liquor dispenser loaded with 4 bottles , rum, tequila, vodka and whiskey in your cabinet so you can have a shot whenever you want. The fridge was loaded with beer, pop juice and water. There was also a coffee maker which I should mention the coffee they provided was very good. Room service was free of charge 24/7. And they have the air conditioning one in the room 24/7 as well so your room is always nice and comfy. We got a king size bed and a view of the pool area over looking the ocean. Great view to wake up to every morning!

The pool area was huge there being two sides, the Spa side for adults only and the Cove side which allows kids. There is also a cove area which you can swim , kayak and enjoy the corrals and fish.

Throughout the pool area there are food/ snack bars so drinks and snacks are readily available at all times!

I may be missing out on some stuff but I really liked this resort , more power to the staff they were all awesome.....everyone!

Tipping also helps just as a good gesture, these guys don't get paid much, so tips are greatly appreciated but they don't ask for it which was nice.

Room Tip: Request for a quiet room, with a view when you check in at the front desk. If there is anything avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jde_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
On behalf of Aventura Palace, we want to thank you for your comments.

We are proud to know that you felt our warm and special service which is customary to our Guests.

It will be a great pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in México and the Dominican Republic.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

When we visited this resort in 2010 we had a great time and upgraded our Palace Resorts membership. We returned this year to find that the room service had declined (bugs in sink - room not made up every day), the food in general was not fresh, rather tasteless and we had to make sure that what we ate was cooked properly. We had a pizza - crust still mostly dough. Fish - not cooked. Eggs - not cooked. The transportation service dropped my laptop and broke the motherboard. Tips - ask for your free upgrade when you checkin, book your free spa massage/pedicure/manicure as soon as you arrive and get all of your vouchers at the same time. Use alkl of your $1500 credits - you paid for them with your all-inclusive fee. And above all do not go on the Legends tour no matter what you are offered.

Room Tip: There are only two types of rooms so it doesn't really matter, but if you don't do stairs as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicaKai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
We regret to know that your expectation were not fulfilled, we deeply apologize for your perception.

On behalf of Aventura Palace, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and kindly ask you contact us at customerservice@allinclusivecollection.com for the proper follow up.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from a week at this resort. Not sure what it has been like in the past twelve years but we found this resort to our liking on our first trip. This is our 14 trip to the Mayan Riviera. This facility has been well maintained during that time. Some wear and tear is eveident but not serious.Freindly and coutreous from the front desk to the wait staff in the restaurants. A la cartes were all good. Poolside sevice and activities were appropriate for this mixed adult crowd with a number of 50 plus couples. if your looking for a beach dont go here. It was not a problem for us. I enjoyed the sea life in the lagoons when snorkling. The rooms are not overly large but well equipped with a king bed and a 2 person jaccusi. All rooms are the same on 3 story buildings except for a few upgraded suites. Premium booze was available at all bars (Crown Royal, Bacardi dark rum, etc.)
We used the $1500 credit for massages at the spa (and what a spa!) a Surf and Turf meal at the el Greco and bottled wine off the upgrade wine list. Lots of options on how to spend your credits. The talk is about Hard Rock putting a lot of money into upgrades. Remains to be seen. It was only 40% of capacity this week and not sure what the service would be like if it was full. We did book last minute and felt we received good value.
Overall, it was a great relaxing week and I would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want save on a little walking, request rooms closer to the pool or lobby. This place gets qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
On behalf of Aventura Palace, we want to thank you for your kindly comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our valued Guests were treated and felt our warm service, which is customary in our Resorts.

We look forward with great pleasure to host you again at any of our Resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Prairie
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We booked this vacation through a roulette package and therefore did not find out which resort we were going to until a week before we left. When we discovered the resort I began to worry as the more recent reviews had been mostly negative. I am now glad that my husband talked me out of paying to change our room as we had a great time!

Our room was wonderful and it was great to have the jacuzzi to soak in at night with a glass of wine. The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job at keeping the place clean during our stay and we enjoyed how prompt room service was the couple of times we ordered from them. We did have one problem with our alarm clock not working but they were up within five minutes of us calling them to fix it.

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the variety that was offered on both sides. In fact I don’t think I had anything I didn’t like. Our favourites however, were the Oriental on the Spa side and the Steak House on the Cove side. The spa was great and it didn’t hurt that we could use the 1500 resort credit towards the services, which we had no trouble booking. We also enjoyed the free transportation to and from Playa del Carmen so that we could get in some shopping.

Our only complaint is that most of the entertainment happens on the Cove side of the resort. While transportation between the resorts is easy, they will cart you around if you choose not to walk, it still would have been nice to have something happen on the Spa side. I was also a little disappointed in the lack of beach but the pool was great and the rock formation makes for some decent snorkelling so overall it was not a big issue.

What made the resort stand out in my opinion was the service. From the moment we arrived at the resort to the moment we left, we experienced nothing but great service. In fact one evening we went to the lobby café (on the Cove side) around 10 for some cheesecake only to discover that they had run out. As we weren’t really hungry we ordered some drinks from the bar and then headed back outside to sit and enjoy the view by the ocean. 10 minutes later the lady from the café came outside with cheesecake for us. She had watched where we went and when the cake arrived decided to bring us some!

We are interested to see the changes Hard Rock brings but would defiantly go back after our experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank restnrelax12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Customer Servic... A, Guest Relations Manager at Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your comments and observations as well for mentioning all the staff who provided you with an outstanding service and make you rock!

You can rest assured that your comments have been shared with our Management team.

We are glad to know that your recent stay was as you expected, and we will be delighted to host you again in any of our resorts in Mexico and the Dominican Republic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Aventuras
10.1 km away
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
27.7 km away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,840 reviews
0.1 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
#3 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 km away
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
Grand Velas Riviera Maya
#2 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,131 reviews
37.9 km away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
Iberostar Grand Hotel Paraiso
#1 of 11 in Playa Paraiso
5,829 reviews
20.2 km away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#11 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
15,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya

Property: Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya
Address: Carretera Cancun-Chetumal Km 72, Puerto Aventuras 77710, Mexico (Formerly Aventura Spa Palace)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Aventuras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
#9 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Aventuras
Price range (per night): RM1,462 - RM2,684
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya 4.5*
Number of rooms: 577
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A blend of relaxation and adventure awaits you at this adults only retreat. Set in the Riviera Maya overlooking the aquamarine Caribbean Sea, enjoy 1,266 luxurious accommodations with double Jacuzzi, balcony (most with hammock), and 24 hr. room service. Among the facilities to highlight is the state-of-the-art spa offering a perfect day of pampering. Guests can also enjoy seven restaurants, several bars, a disco, outdoor/indoor pools, and unlimited tours as part of the all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Heaven at the Hard Rock Hotel Riviera Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aventura Hotel Palace
Aventura Hotel Puerto Aventuras
Mayan Riviera Palace
Adventure Spa Palace
Hotel Mayan Palace
Adventura Spa Palace
Aventura Palace Spa
Aventura Spa Palace Riviera Maya
Aventura Spa Palace Resort
Aventura Spa Palace Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing