We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,355)
Filter reviews
2,355 results
Traveller rating
1,037
867
273
99
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,037
867
273
99
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck pond groupon deal leisure facilities log fire jacuzzi bath manager wayne four poster bed quiz night evening meal reception area dog friendly hotel venison two nights three course meal breakfast was buffet style lake district family room
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,355 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

My husband and myself had a two night stay in the Damson Dene hotel. We found the staff very friendly, efficient and helpful. Although we didn't eat at the hotel in the evenings, we did take advantage of the breakfasts which were tasty enough. Being just the two of us, we had a double room. We had previously read reviews that said the rooms were 'cosy' but 'pokey' would be a more accurate description. For example, my husband had to rearrange some of the furniture in the bedroom to make way for our suitcases. A suitcase stand was found folded in the wardrobe but sadly there wasn't really enough room to use it. We had to develope a kind of sideways shuffle to make our way between the bed and the wall (dipping our heads to avoid cracking them on the wall mounted TV) to get go the shower. This too was very small and again the sideways shuffle was needed to get past the door behind which was found the shower. This had no elbow room and dropping the soap meant you had to open the shower door and come out to afford enough room to retrieve it. The walls between the rooms are extremely thin and conversations being held by the other guests were clearly heard. Also, every floorboard on the first floor creaks. The hotel is set approximately 4 miles from Bowness on Windermere (being the closest town) on a country road with no pedestrian pavements. The grounds are very pleasant with a pond and lots of ducks and the hotel is dog friendly.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ogglet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Many thanks for your comments. Of course we wish you had a 5 star stay with us but we appreciate your feedback. We have a variety of rooms here, some smaller, some larger. We will always try and offer another room if guests are not happy for whatever reason. Always let us know and we will do our best. We appreciate your review and comments about our staff and grounds too. Perhaps we will get to welcome you back another time, in one of our brand new rooms perhaps!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Slightly out of the main Bowness & Windermere area but not a problem so long as you have a car. Situated in a nice quiet area east of Lake Windermere.

Nice facilities including a new bedroom wing since I last stayed here. The bedroom was superb. Meals were all very nice including the evening bar menu. Lovely grounds including a pond where the children can enjoy feeding the ducks each morning.

Staff were all very pleasant and the Manager is an absolute scream. He jokes on with the customers in a very nice way and we had the pleasure of listening to him on the quiz he hosted. You cannot go through this without laughing at his comments and he is an excellent host and would make a very good comedian.

It was our wedding anniversary whilst staying and he made a little presentation of the cards to our table at breakfast sprinkling confetti on the table where my wife was sitting. A nice day and a wonderful stay here.

Room Tip: Nothing in Particular it very nice
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks so much for staying once again and spending your wedding anniversary with us. We are so pleased you had a relaxing time and thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. It is easy to relax when you are in such a beautiful and peaceful location. We appreciate your comments about our new wing as well, it has quickly become a firm favourite of our guests. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Quality Staff,Nice Rural setting.Deluxe Family Room was Modern,Spacious with a Nice bathroom but the Room had Dog Hair on the carpet! My Issues: After checking in,we were confronted by a miniature bulldog within the building,albeit on a lead but it did take my 7 year old daughter by surprise.In the Morning,i opened the patio doors to find a Golden Retriever/Labrador sitting on our balcony/terrace.Our Ground Floor room shared a balcony/terrace with 4 other rooms which obviously Dogs could roam.
Being Honest,i've owned Dogs myself but would i expect this from a Hotel at £160 a night,certainly not.
My Mistake for Missing the 'Dog Friendly'

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank _tonykirkf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks for your comments. We do ask our guests to keep their dogs on leads at all times, but unfortunately not everyone follows these rules and we aren't able to police them 24/7. Even so, we will redouble our efforts to ensure everyone knows to keep their dogs on lead and under control and certainly not roaming into other people's areas. We're sorry that this impacted upon your stay and appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Visited this excellent hotel once more, this time to celebrate, with friends and family, my wife's birthday. Again, the food, ambience, and superb staff made the weekend truly special for all of us, so much so that all members of the party were reluctant to leave.

My thanks to Wayne and his boys and girls for yet another break to remember.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davebee0730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Lovely to see you again, and with reviews like this you will always be welcomed back with open arms! We couldn't be happier that your wife's birthday was so enjoyable and that we were able to play our small part in making it memorable. All of the staff really appreciate your comments and will look forward to seeing you again. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights in the damson dense hotel and feel well rested for it, I don't know what some people expect for their money!! Ok so it is a little tired in places but our room was perfectly clean and had everything we needed, we took our dog with us and they are extremely pet friendly here, breakfast was excellent and of a high quality and the evening meal was very good, the staff are all absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble, I think for the price of this hotel you get good value for money especially in this part of the country .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kim Green G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Damson Dene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thanks so much for your kind comments and review. We always appreciate when guests highlight the value on offer here. We work very hard to keep the hotel a great place to visit and always reinvest to update and improve what we can. We have recently added some beautiful new rooms and we have some great plans for the bar and restaurant too. Thanks again and hope to see you in the future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews