We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cusine, mexican colonial architecture”
Review of La Candela

La Candela
Ranked #5 of 256 Restaurants in Xalapa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$24
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Local food, good taste, poor service, food vs price average. Hidden location near from the center town

Thank OswaldoRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradodelrio, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Oswaldo.


Thank you for your comment, We hope all the dishes have been of your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

A little hidden off the main street, but worth finding. Definitely some of the best food you’ll eat in Xalapa centro. Even simple dishes like enchiladas are elevated in flavor compared to most other places around here. Lovely room and attentive staff, as well. Note: They’re only open for breakfast and lunch, which is fairly common here because those are traditionally the bigger meals of the day.

Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradodelrio, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago


Thank you very much for the time it took for your comments, We work every day to improve our attention and taste of food.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

La Candela is a restaurant in Xalapa which is an absolute treasure. Excellent Mexican food as well as some European choices. Very attentive staff and impeccably clean. If you're looking to sample the Mexican food then La Candela in Xalapa, Veracruz, should definitely be on you list along with the other tourist attractions.

Thank Westendgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pradodelrio, Director de Relaciones Públicas at La Candela, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for the time it took for your comments, We work every day to improve our attention and taste of food.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We ate here because it was in our hotel, but I would choose to eat there anyway. The food is delicious and reasonably priced and the atmosphere is lovely.

Thank happytraveller1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This is a small restaurant perfect for family breakfast. Bread is done in the place. Great variety of Mexican dishes.

Es un pequeño restaurante perfecto para desayunar en familia. El pan lo hace en el lugar. Gran variedad de platillos mexicanos.

Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Candela also viewed

 
Xalapa, Veracruz
 

Been to La Candela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing