We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dreams Villamagna Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$609
US$256
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Samba Vallarta All Inclusive(Flamingos)(Great Value!)
US$274
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Marival Residences Luxury Resort(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$594
US$313
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$359
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Occidental Nuevo Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$287
US$182
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hard Rock Hotel Vallarta(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$398
US$326
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Varadero(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Virgilios(Nuevo Vallarta)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$337
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Grand Velas Riviera Nayarit(Nuevo Vallarta)
US$864
US$581
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,534)
Filter reviews
4,534 results
Traveller rating
2,067
1,386
573
284
224
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,067
1,386
573
284
224
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla pergolacasa bellamarival resorttime sharegrand sectionclub lobbymartini barmai taiquiet poola la carte restaurantskids poolkids clubanimation staffmake reservationsitalian restaurantboogie boardingbedroom suite
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 4,534 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We had a great vacation at this resort rooms were clean and spacious , pools were great and food was good we had the best service at the pool and piazzata from Pedro Machaen, he was very friendly and the service was top notch., thanks Pedro for making this a memorable vacation

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank tippys2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Tippys,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind words following your recent stay with us at Marival Resort & Suites. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us and our great service.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and assure you, Pedro will be thrilled to read your review.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

So I should start off with something positive...the beach is nice. The food is horrible. If you are looking for good food stay far away. We started to leave the hotel to have meals because we could not stomach the buffet-it’s literally all scraps. For those looking for authentic Mexican food-The tortillas are not homemade they are bought and the Mexican fiesta on Wednesday all scraps. The Mexican restaurant took us 3 hours to eat because we had to wait on food. We finally had to leave without our desert as the young children were falling asleep at 930 pm. The reservation started at 645. Lol The only decent meal we had was the Italian a la carte. It was prob a 3 out of 5 for food. You want to sit by the pool or beach good luck if you follow the rules. People start putting stuff out at 6 am even though the rules say 8 am. So a tip...keep the towels you are supposed to return, set your alarm for 6 am and run out to get your family a spot. If you stay in the club part of the hotel be prepared to pay for a lock to lock your stuff up. If you lose the key you pay for them to open it. Lol the timeshare folks try to trick you into a breakfast welcome meeting. Why on earth they think someone would want to spend money on a timeshare at that hotel is beyond me. I’ve stayed at 3.5 star hotels that had better service and food. I’m assuming anyone who wrote a review stayed at the residences as the food is much better over there. So if you are committed a couple of tips. Eddies has great food and service and it’s 120 pesos to get there by cab. Nikkon is the sushi place at the residence-you have to pay but well worth it. If you can get out of your reservation do it!!! Don’t trust any positive reviews on here. Lol we did and we were so disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
6  Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Shannon,
It is an honor to read you chose us to be part of your holidays and it is with great sorrow that we learned about your impression of our resort. Your feedback is extremely important for us, as they help us locate our opportunity areas and improve the service we offer. Your comments have been shared with our staff and will be seriously considered. We genuinely regret reading that there were quite a few elements that didn't meet your expectations.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy our restaurant options and food. All of the food in them is fresh and in accordance with the Hallmark "H" for hygiene and safety procedures in the handling of food and drinks. We are sorry you did not enjoy the taste and assure you, we have shared your comments with our Food & Beverage Manager, who will follow up on your comments and will take action to ensure a delicious experience for every guest.
As mentioned, we do pick-up unattended object or towels from the pool and beach chairs every day at 8:00 am. We do this in order to ensure all of our guests enjoy their time at our resort. This practice is also mentioned at arrival and o has been done efficiently and steadily for over a year.
We reiterate our appreciation for writing this review and bringing this matter to our attention.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Just returned from our 8th trip to the Marival and we are treated like family each time. The views, the food, rooms, and people make this a special place. It is also a time to see friends who also visit each year.
Josefina, Jackelin, Shaida and Judith in the lounges and MaiTai were very good and attentive and now feel like friends.
A special thank you to Rene in the Pergola, Alan in Amalfi, and Gerry in Las Palomas for the superb service.
Looking forward to our return visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Brenda,
Thank you for sharing such an excellent review of our resort.
Such an unwavering loyalty and for so many years is really a great inspiration for all of us. Every single person on our staff will be honored to read they helped make your time with us so unique. We want our guests to feel like we are their home away from home and we are happy you enjoyed every minute.
Thank you for being part of the Marival Family, and we are too looking forward to your return.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
19
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL EVER!!! We just returned from Mexico and this hotel completely ruined our trip. I didn’t realize all inclusive meant you get the worst of the worst. This hotel was filthy, like furniture falling apart, crumbs and stains in the chairs and tables at the restaurants, when we were the first to arrive after opening! Even the menus were filthy with old food stuck on them. The drinks at all the bars had barely any alcohol in them and I couldn’t tell if the glasses had even been washed! The food, Oy THE FOOD!!! basically slop that looked like it had been microwaved and sitting out for days! Even at their “nicest” restaurant, the food came out about one minute after we ordered it, so you know they nuked it!
But the worst part about this hotel would have to be the staff! Not only were they disgruntled and unfriendly, nobody says hello or even smiles as they pass you, they were down right rude, on several occasions. I had complained about the buffets being dirty and the drinks being weak the first day, and our “concierge “ basically said too bad because I didn’t book through the hotel but a third party. Our second day, we were swimming in the pool and when we got out, all our shoes had been stolen!!! The hotel had us running around looking for the lost and found, and when we finally found it the women laughed in our faces and said too bad! We decided to leave and we found another hotel to go to, but when we went to the front, they wouldn’t call us a cab! They were literally trying to hold us hostage!!! I’ve never felt unsafe in Mexico until I came to this hotel. These people give that beautiful country a bad name! Don’t go to this hotel unless you are an animal and want to be treated like one!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your sincerest opinion about your experience at our resort. We genuinely regret reading that there were quite a few elements that didn't meet your expectations and you left with a bad impression of our hotel.
Our Concierge has informed us that you had the opportunity of talking to our Room Division Manager, who receive your comments about our food. Our staff works very hard to offer a friendly service at every opportunity and made an exceptional effort to meet your need and expectations throughout your stay. We are sorry to read it was not enough. Unfortunately, not all of your comments were expressed during your stay, which prevented us from taking the appropriate measures.
We are also surprised to read your comments about your departure. We only requested you to reach the front desk staff to check-out pay the extra you requested during your stay and hand room key and bracelets. It is necessary for all of our guests to follow this procedure upon departure.
Your feedback is very important for us to identify our opportunity areas. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We love coming to our timeshare it’s our 8th visit. Our mom comes and we always bring friends or family on our bonus time.
The check in is usually time consuming and stressful. This time, Our family waited 45 minutes outside the gold desk hungry and tired after travelling since 4am - after arriving so the the gold desk could accommodate our requests properly. (After saying they couldn’t) We reserved a two bedroom condo NOT two hotel suite rooms with a joint door. If I wanted a cramped hotel suite I would have not bought a timeshare two bedroom unit. I would just stay at a normal hotel. We have four kids (all boys). Being a mom of the boys I do want and and need some space. The two bedroom units are great for this. (Because of the living room!) So we were annoyed that two hotel rooms is what was given to us upon checkin. Betisabeth at the front desk worked so so hard to try to fix this. Finally it was miraculously fixed. She was professional and kind.
Our mom had requested a main floor suite in October (because of mobility issues) when we made the request. You guessed it.. she was not given that request. We were able to get her moved the second day but we noticed that there were several ground floor units in A or B that seemed vacant already. I am so interested to see how other timeshare/hotels reserve and assign rooms because Marival’s system is not efficient and frustrating as hell. The members are NOT first AS FAR AS ROOM SELECTION GO. (As is suggested everywhere at the resort) we didn’t get preferential room selection. At all.
We talked to about 15 different members during our stay that all had the exact same concerns.
It should be first come first served and members first. When I asked Betisabeth if someone could drop our key cards off at Mai Tai where we would be having lunch so we wouldn’t have to go back to the lobby(the rooms weren’t ready....) she said no problem. Then a Marival staff member interfered and told me this was not possible and that they didn’t do that. He demanded to know what our problems were with check in (as we were walking away to go eat some lunch - after an hour at check in). Our notes requested that we do not have timeshare advances during check in. These staff are just doing their job but we don’t need an update, we needed to eat! So we had to be firm with the staff member that gave us our bracelets and this irritated us further.

As soon as we walked over to MaiTai, saw all our favourite Marival friends our troubles melted away! Laura, thank you for your wonderful service and kindness! Jackie, you are our friend and enjoy your love toward our kids and our mom and us. Christoph (mai tai Concierge) is so kind and helpful smiling and making sure we didn’t get a sunburn with those wonderful umbrellas. We will come back. BUT: We wish there was a way to reserve a unit we want, and not get shafted when we check in. We wish check in was more smooth with out a big argument and hassle. We wish the experience was 100%.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne_Fernande5, General Manager at Marival Resort & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Catherine,
We are excited to read you decided to visit us again and again and had such a great time every visit.
We're thrilled that our staff could give you an amazing experience and made you feel at your home away from home. As part of our Marival Family, we want you to enjoy every bit of your stay and we apologize for not having fully met your expectations. We do have preferential room assignments for our members and we do try our best to fulfill our guest's request. We are sorry if we were not able to honor your desires. Btu we will investigate and make the necessary changes to ensure you enjoy every bit of your vacation.
Thank you for your loyalty and we will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews