We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best weekends of my life!!”

Review of Old Beams

The Old Beams
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2 The Main Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Old Beams
The Main Lounge 2
The Main Lounge
The Study (through view from the snug)
The Kitchen/Breakfast Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room
The Conservatory/Dining Room 2
Second En suite Bedroom
Master En suite-Bedroom
En suite (all have large cast-iron baths)
The Lawn
The Garden/Water Feature
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Waterhouses, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vixenstar
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One of the best weekends of my life!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I was there for my hen party, I didn't even know where I was headed while driving through the countryside.
There were 15 of us all together from different places around the country.
My friend Jo had organised the cottage & our activities which ranged from chocolate making to cocktail making & games.
Old Beams was able to cater for all of us to sleep in clean beds (some sharing) in doubles & one bunk bed, all have bathrooms attached, some have huge baths, all have showers & some are jet showers.
There was one large kitchen-dining room with everything needed for meal times & a large oven to use. the room was big enough for us all to gather in at meal times & a huge conservatory attached with decorative painted walls of play scenes which has ceiling fans if it gets hot (look out for the owls eyes). The conservatory has some lovely plants growing inside that I was able to water while there with a watering can & tap set up along the back of it. The purple flowered clematis is beautiful climbing over the conservatory in the same view as the garden.
The garden is really long with grass, has a water feature, garden furniture & a small childrens play area attached.
The whole place is decorated very tastefully in keeping with the time that I think the cottage was built around.
If you play the piano (non of us could) there's one in the entrance hall area which sounded great to a novice :)
There are TVs in the bedrooms & a main TV room with huge sofas & an open fire which is another great area to gather.
Games are stacked up on a shelf in the dining room which is great if the weather keeps you in.
There is a small shop in walking distance which covers the basics which is just after a very friendly pub 'Ye Old Crowne' with outside seating which is a bit of a sun trap (worth a visit or 2). They were very welcoming to a large group of giggling hens such as ourselves, I didn't expect them to be so nice at all.
While walking around we saw sheep, cows & gorgeous bright white chickens.
We have spoke of a yearly reunion as everyone enjoyed the experience so much, beautiful place with magical feeling décor.
Perfect for our needs, thank you :)

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2015
Thanks for your wonderful review!!
We are so pleased you loved the Beams as much as we do and that it provided a backdrop for what looks like a fantastic celebration.
Thanks also for sharing your photos - I often wonder how our guests use our house - and it looks like you were a perfect fit!
We hope to hear from you again for your reunions!
Regards, Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraho567
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend away venue”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Myself and 11 friends stayed at Old Beams for a hen weekend and we were not disappointed! The house is beautiful, the kitchen really well stocked, the living room big enough for a group but still really cosy and the dining area was so impressive - we also appreciated the giant bath tubs! We were really well located for getting to main roads as well as the restaurant we used and for walks along the cycle path. Helen, the owner, was really helpful and easily contactable. It was a lovely weekend from start to finish and the house went a long way to contributing to that.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
98power
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great House for a Family Get Together”
Reviewed 29 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a most enjoyable stay at The Old Beams,we found it spacious,well equipped and loved the character of the house.The children enjoyed two days at Aton Towers which was only a short distance away and in the evenings they enjoyed playing outside in the garden,while the adults were able to relax in the fantastic kitchen.The large conservatory was excellent for eating and upstairs didn't fail to impress us,we loved the bedrooms and en suites.The house offered us everything we needed and a good time was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the character of the house and the garden.
Liked least: Some of the lights were a little temperamental but didn't cause a problem!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living space and local area
Liked least: hard to say
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HanandMat...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Highly recommend!!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Old Beams was the perfect property for a long weekend away for 9 adults and 5 children. There was more than enough space for us all and the bedroom ratio to bathroom worked extremely well. All rooms were very good sizes. The kitchen was my personal favourite, enough space to cook for large groups with all the utensils. The property is very clean and has every comfort of your own home. I would highly recommend the property and will be returning myself. The owner was very quick at responding to questions and is very quick to return the deposit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing