We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Foxglove Cottage in Derbyshire
Foxglove Cottage's Dining Kitchen
Relax in Foxglove Cottage's peaceful garden.
Double Bedroom
View from the Kitchen Window
Sitting Room with log fire
Another view of Foxglove Cottage's Garden
View from Outside Foxglove Cottage
Twin Bedroom
Another view of the Double Bedroom
View from footpath along the lane from the cottage
Dining Kitchen, newly fitted in December 2013, now includes a dishwasher
Bench outside Foxglove's front door
Foxgloves in the garden
Bathroom
Ashover Village
View from the lane just outside Foxglove Cottage
Heather Moorland within 2 miles of cottage
Bluebell Walk in the Spring
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ashover, Chesterfield, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
janethoma...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Foxglove cottage is cosy, comfortable and has everything you might need. The area is so peaceful and there are lovely walks right from the front door. We enjoyed relaxing in the cottage as well as going out to explore the local area. Susan was very friendly and welcoming. The cottage was immaculately clean and tidy, lovely toiletries are provided as well as a welcome tray of refreshments and there is lots of information on places to visit. This was not our first trip to this part of the country and won't be our last.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ85
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Foxglove Cottage which for anyone looking for a break from the hustle and bustle is ideal. My wife and I took out dog with us to enjoy the Derbyshire countryside and for the walks available from right outside the front door. The property is situated on a very quiet country lane and has wonderful views from it's door step.
The owners were very welcoming on our arrival and Sue walked us around the property showing us all that we needed to know to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The property itself is really well equipped and had everything that we needed for our stay.
Unfortunately you can't legislate for the British weather and although it had been gorgeous the previous week we endured several days of incessant rain. All in all it was an idyllic location and we really did enjoy a relaxing break and would certainly recommend Foxglove cottage to anyone wanting to get away from it all for a while.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect dog-friendly rural retreat”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is lovely - clean, cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. The owners were very friendly and helpful with very good communication before our visit. The location is excellent with lovely walks from the cottage door and proximity to excellent pubs. Highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
84mele
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant family friendly cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Foxglove cottage for 3 nights over the Easter weekend with our 2 children. Sue the owner was really welcoming, the cottage was really clean & warm (heating was on before we arrived as it was a bit of a chilly day), & equipped with everything we needed, plus a few extras such as toiletries & a few chocolates which was lovely. There was a parking space right outside the cottage which was great, & also a little garden with seating - although the weather wasn't good enough for us to use unfortunately. It was a great location for getting to places in the Peak District, Bakewell & Chatsworth House were only a short drive away. We will definitely stay again the next time we are visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
English_L...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Weekend”
Reviewed 1 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both cottages and it worked very well for a large group. Sue was welcoming and very organised a pleasure to deal with. The cottages were both really well equipped and had nice touches like the welcome tray, milk in the fridge & the fire ready laid for a cosy winters evening.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing