We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Rustic and Elegant Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Cozy, Rustic and Elegant Charm”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

If you are looking for a cozy weekend retreat in the mountains, look no further than Buffalo Mountain Lodge. Although considered still in the Banff townsite, the Lodge feels as though it is a secluded retreat in the middle of the mountains. The rooms are tiny and dimly lit, but gives to the aura of romance. The smell and sound of the wood burning fireplace (that is in each individual room) adds to that charm. The outdoor hot tub is lovely, as is the steam room. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. We were there for a family wedding and my Grandfather became ill, staff were over immediately and were very helpful and concerned. Overall the food was great except for the 19 dollar brunch buffet that was not restocked and consisted of cold eggs benedict and a few grapes and melon at the bottom of the fruit salad bowl. In fairness, we did get there for 10:30, and the buffet ends at 11:00, but when you are paying that much, you expect a little more. :) The food at the wedding and the ambience was outstanding. The only thing that the guests and family did not appreciate was the cost of the booze. It was a cash bar and we were prepared for that, what we were not prepared for was the cost. Half a can of pop poured into a glass was 3.50. A bottle of Canadian was 8.75. Seriously? Felt like we were getting ripped off, which was a shame because everything else was so lovely. I highly recommend this resort for the staff, ambience and coziness, but if you are thinking about having a wedding here, I would seriously question the cost of alcohol.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    542
    455
    243
    120
    63
See reviews for
327
771
26
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel is a great way to spend a weekend away with serene surroundings a nice quaint room and great food at the restaurant! This was a perfect romantic trip for my wife and I. We loved everything here and the caribou medallions were delicious! We spent 3 days here on a biking trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge during January 2012 as the first part of our honeymoon. We were in a king lodge room, which was excellent. The fire place just added the extra touch we were looking for, and the welcome card and chocolates we received from the hotel was a great touch. The staff were extremely friendly and happy to help - whether it be with suggesting where to go, or directions, or recommending the best place to go for skiing - and helped make the whole stay the perfect start to our honeymoon. The food was also very good - the buffet on Sunday mornings is something we would both highly recommend. We would certainly recommend staying here - its close enough to Banff town centre to walk easily, and just far enough away to be secluded.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Buffalo Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent honeymoon stay at Buffalo Mountain Lodge and congratulations! We are so pleased you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and the fireplace in the room. All rooms at the lodge do have fireplaces with complimentary firewood that is stock daily. As you did, we would encourage all guests to chat with Front Desk agents for recommendations and information on local dining and activities. Thank you for choosing to include Buffalo Mountain Lodge in your honeymoon.
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator or Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at Buffalo Mountain Lodge for 2 nights over Christmas. The lodge is located just outside of the township of Banff on Tunnel Mountain, only a 5 minute drive back into town. We stayed in a premier room, which was a cosy room with natural tones, a king bed, a real open fireplace (set up and ready to be started, with more wood just outside the room), a balcony, comfortable sitting chairs, a large bathroom with a gorgeous clawfoot bath, and heated floors throughout. We were on the first floor and the room was quiet and private. All the staff at the lodge were warm and friendly. We ate Christmas dinner at the Sleeping Buffalo resturant and the food and wine was of a high quality. We would definately recommend staying at Buffalo Mountain Lodge if you are looking for a quality hotel with individual character and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katiekeating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have just returned from our Canadian vacation and our first top was the Buffalo Mountain Lodge in Banff. We booked a premier room with the king bathroom and we were not disappointed.

We arrived on Christmas eve and stayed here for ten nights so really got to test the place out. The main lodge with reception was inviting and staff welcoming. Our bags were taken up to the room while we were taken through the events of the festive period.

Our room was 912 and located at the far rear side of the lodge. The room itself was cosy and inviting and the fire was ready to be lit. The underfloor heating certainly works as the room was very warm.

A couple of the reviews on here have said the rooms are dark (as in lighting not bright enough), I would agree and I think wire halogen lighting would be the answer especially in the pitched roofs in the top premier rooms. The TV's are old school and could do with being updated to flat screens but we didn't use ours anyway.

The bathroom was great and plenty of space which came in handy for drying our wet ski gear and boots with the underfloor heating.

Breakfast at the Sleeping Buffalo didn't seem to be too popular and never busy. There was a buffet breakfast for $19 or you could choose from the menu which we did. The breakfast was good and exactly what you would expect, nothing too fancy.

Dinner at the sleeping Buffalo was the best food we had in town. We ate here twice one evening being the set New Years Eve dinner. The restaurant came highly recommended by a local friend and it certainly lived up to that. The food was amazing and the flat Iron steak was the best I had on this whole trip. The NYE dinner was just as good and again the food was superb, well worth the money. If you stay here make sure you eat here!

On New Years the hotel even left presents in the rooms for all guests, ours was the hotels cook book. We also got married while in Banff and the hotel left us a card and chocolates which was a nice touch.

We stored our skis in the ski locker which was a $50 deposit for return of the lock. It doesn't have a drying room but the underfloor heating in the bathroom does the job.

the hot tub was great and never too busy, the whole place is very well maintained and I would highly recommend staying here. If you are not driving its a good fifteen minute walk into town (uphill on the way back) or there is a bus which comes every forty five minutes (get a $5 day pass if you plan to use it more than once) This did get a bit tiresome carrying skis and then changing in town to the ski bus.

All in all this place is the perfect get away and nice and quiet away from town, the views are great and the people are so nice and friendly. A great place to stay in Banff and I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Opt for the premier top floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJames204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.3 km away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.8 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,142 reviews
0.6 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.5 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
2.6 km away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Mountain Lodge

Property: Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Address: 700 Tunnel Mountain Road | P.O. Box 1326, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price range (per night): RM514 - RM1,542
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffalo Mountain Lodge is a peaceful retreat on Tunnel Mountain in Banff, AB. The lodge is surrounded by 9 acres of towering fir, pine, and spruce trees, yet just a 15 minute walk or 3 minute drive from the shopping, nightlife and restaurants that are on offer in downtown Banff. A favourite visitor pastime is to observe the deer and elk who frequently nibble on the lawn, right outside the lodge's windows. The lodge has 108 guest rooms, an outdoor hot tub, and several options for dining, making it the ideal location for a weekend getaway, wedding, or corporate retreat. Buffalo Mountain Lodge is part of the Canadian Rocky Mountain Resorts' family of companies. Rooms at the lodge have fieldstone wood-burning fireplaces, cozy duvets, LCD televisions and Blu-ray players. Many feature patios or balconies. Each room has been carefully decorated to reflect the mountain lifestyle in Banff-the accommodation is anything but 'cookie cutter.' The outdoor stainless steel hot tub is best enjoyed after an invigorating hike, bike or ski on one of the nearby trails-or perhaps to aid digestion after a sumptuous meal in the lodge's highly acclaimed restaurant, Sleeping Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Mountain Hotel Banff
Buffalo Mountain Lodge Banff
Buffulo Mountain Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing