We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable lodging near Banff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Our condo at the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort was very comfortable and well laid out, very comfortable mattress, good kitchen and quiet for the most part. Wish the acoustics could have been better, could hear the folks in the 2nd floor condo very well. Also wish the unit had its own washer and dryer, but having the laundry facilities near the hot tub was pretty nice.
Our biggest complaint was the service at the front desk during check in. The young man who processed our reservation did not make us feel welcome, made negative comments about Americans, and just in general seemed to have a chip on his shoulder. The young woman I spoke with on the phone prior to arriving was very pleasant, but this fellow really cast a damper on our first day in Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floor and toward the back of the property, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trianglegd, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your comments.
I take great pride in the quality of service our front desk provides. I cannot account for your particular experience but am confident that it was an isolated incident or a misunderstanding. We are privileged to serve numerous Americans and strive to provide them with an excellent experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

To the hotel management: hey, it's almost 2018. Your WiFi is basically un-useable !!
It connects for a short period of time, then drops again and again for a long period of time. WiFi used to be an "amenity". It is now a necessity. Get some people out there who know how to install and operate a good network! This was a vacation trip for my son and me, but we really DO need/expect reliable WiFi in places we stay. I don't know how your conference attendees (in particular) can tolerate this when they are there on business

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trianglegd, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Thank you for your comments and please accept my apology for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We have made significant improvements regarding this service recently so I am surprised by your comments. I would hope this was an easy fix by resetting an access point once we were aware of the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the loft suite which was amazing. The apartment was spacious and had a working fireplace (order wood from reception) the staff were delightful, the restaurant was good,friendly service and fast. We even saw an Elk walk past! We stayed two nights and walked into Banff town so we could walk up an appetite. Would highly recommend and wish I could stay longer. Delightful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

This is a nice resort placed just outside Banff. only thing is that in the evening and early morning you hear the cars on the highway. But if you like us is out most of the day and only use the place for sleep, your fine.

Room Tip: Take a room on thee reception side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henning252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The "resort" is very dated. The rooms are spread our over several buildings, most of which look like they could use some TLC. Our room was up a flight of narrow, rickety wooden stairs (very fun trying to drag your luggage up those). The room itself smelled quite musty but looked clean - mind you it was hard to tell given that the lights are dimmer than the moon on a cloudy night. Not sure when this place was built but the furniture looked like it may have been original. The restaurant here was pretty good, you get a buffet meal for a very reasonable price and the staff were very friendly. The resort is also a bit of the way outside of the town but they do have a free shuttle that takes you there and back which runs pretty frequently, the driver was also super nice. Also free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Awenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
1.5 km away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,136 reviews
2.4 km away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
1.9 km away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
2.6 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,245 reviews
2.1 km away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#31 of 33 in Banff
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: RM 335 - RM 1,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing