We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goldilocks says "ah just right"”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Whitehorse, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Goldilocks says "ah just right"”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

After traveling for a month now, we found the beds at Charton's Cedar Court to be the most comfortable of our journeys. We stayed for a week of snowboarding and found the staff to be very helpful, and friendly. We liked the direct access from room to parking. The breakfast lounge in the morning was great and the hottub and steam room were good medicine at the end of a long day on the mountain. Everything was clean, updated and well maintained.We will definitely book Charlton's again when we come back to Banff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpringApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Goldilocks,
We are so happy to hear that we provided you with a bed that was "Just Right"! After a couple of day's on the ski hills, the simple luxury of a comfortable sleep after a soak in our whirlpool can make the next days aches and pains disappear. Ensure to let us know you will be a returning guest when you are rebooking for your future stay in Banff, Alberta.
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    316
    167
    62
    47
See reviews for
224
398
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Just had a night stay whist visiting Banff, and what a difference from 9 years ago. Breakfast included in the new breakfast lounge, Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
What a pleasant surprise to hear that 9 years later, we are still attractive and can provide you a very comfortable stay! We have indeed renovated and added more stay benefits, such as flat screen TV’s, added granite countertops to the guest room dressers, replaced all queen and king sized mattresses and of course added a Breakfast Nook which serves a complimentary continental for all staying guests.
Can’t wait to have you return to us again soon!
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked this using the livingsocial deal we got as it was a fantastic price and everything.

We got the fireplace loft which sounded fun and amazing. When we got there it was smaller than we had imagined. The bed was in the upstairs loft and it was always ridiculously hot up there even when the downstairs was cold and all the heating was off. We had to sleep with a window open and fan on in the middle of January!!

Bathroom and another tv were down the spiral staircase along with fireplace.

I think our impression of the room was marred by the fact we had stayed in a beautiful 1 bdrm suite at another hotel in Canmore the night before. Had we been to this place before the other hotel I think we would have been more impressed.

We dined at the Evergreen at the sister property 2 doors down as our package included food credit. We weren't sure whether we should have as the menu was small and expensive. But it was a fantastic choice. Food was amazing!

Service was standard. Wasn't overly great but was not lacking at all. We had no problems with anything.

Location is with all the other hotels, about 1km from downtown Banff. Decent walk even in winter.

Overall a good experience. Doubt I'd stay there again though. Even though we had no problems abd everything was good, it lacked the "wow" factor.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We are very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy a nice stay in our Loft Suite and enjoyed a great meal in the Evergreen Restaurant. We feel we provide just the right cost for the product and services we offer at the Charlton's Cedar Court. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future. Thank you again for your time and consideration to review your stay.
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I bought Living Social Deal vaucher and did not have any problems to book the loft suite by phone.
Staff was friendly. Parking is outdoor and a hike up stairs lead to loft suite. it gets really hot up in the sleeping area and quite cold in the living area and bath-room. So we had to keep fireplace working and put the towel at the bath-room floor.
There are 2 TVs (one up and one down) what is comfortable. There is also a small fridge, coffe maker, electrical tea-pot. Carpet looks a bit old but clean.
Didn't try out the pool area, but it looks attractive.
All cleaners are Philipinos, do their job fairly decent.
Breakfast is typical, they serve it until 10 am.

The main disadvantage of the loft suite is the pretty thin walls - you can hear all that your neighbours do.
The main advantage - hotel close to downtown area (10 min. on foot).

Also keep in your mind if you bought Living Social Deal vaucher: pay in "Evergreen" restaurant by the same credit card.
We didn't (although asked in advance) and didn't receive promised $25 discount.
"Evergreen" is a pleasant and quite expensive place ($170 for the dinner for two). Meal was delicious! We booked table for two nearby fireplace.

I would say with Living Social Deal vaucher it was the good deal for paid money ($189 for 2 nights).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalgaryRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to submit such a detailed review of your Living Social Package stay! As you had mentioned some difficulties with your bill at the Evergreen Restaurant, I thought I would take this opportunity to mention the meal charge should be "Charged back to your room at the Cedar Court" in order to receive the $25.00 dinner credit. This will allow you to experience a relaxed meal while knowing you can settle your discounted bill upon check-out.
We look forward to your return stay with us! Thank you again for choosing the Charlton's Cedar Court.
Sincerely,
Liisa Acheson
Guest Experience Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Charlton Cedar Court is a great hi end Motel. All the comforts of an expensive hotel without the high price. Free continental breakfast in the morning is one of the best I have seen and the staff there and at the front desk are just great.
My second time and I will return always

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Palmtreehugger_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you being such a loyal guest, we cannot wait to welcome you again to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 km away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.1 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,140 reviews
0.6 km away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
797 reviews
0.8 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,216 reviews
0.2 km away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price range (per night): RM498 - RM1,402
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing