We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Front Desk Service”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We turned up at the Mount Royal Hotel furious after having a terrible experience on the Rocky Mountaineer Train (we didn't get to take the train and were shoved on buses for the lovely sum of $1800 - still mad about it).
Thank God for this hotels front desk manager. We told Brian our sad story and he said that he would make our stay in Canada better by upgrading us. It was such a nice surprise and really did cheer us up. Thanks Brian!!! The hotel was fantastically located right in the center of town and our room was lovely.

Room Tip: We had the presidential suite which had a lovely fire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tempdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that my front-desk staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay under the circumstances. I will pass on your nice comments to Brain myself.
I do hope that the rest of your trip goes without a hitch.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we do hope to see you again.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

826 - 830 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Large hotel, well located. Owned by Brewster Tour group. Large rooms. Olde world dark furniture. Very comfortable beds. Very clean. Poor lighting - energy saver globes which don't give good light. Heating air conditioning very noisy. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoiraEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was glad to read that you had a good experience while you were staying with us. For our guest comfort, the beds were all changed recently, I’m happy to see that you find them comfortable. I will pass on your comments to all of our front line staff. We take staff training very seriously.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Probably one of the worst hotels in Banff. It is very hard to sleep here. The thermostat never worked so it was basically at 30°c all the time. You could hear people that were in the corridor until 2AM. Most of them were loud/annoying. Contacted the hotel management and they didn't do anything about the people who were being annoying as cra

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChriSSSSSMOVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very sorry to read that you recent stay did not match your expectations. Here at the hotel, we always try our very best to make sure that our guests have a pleasant stay. We have maintenance on site and they are always more than happy to fix any issues in our guest rooms as they occur. We also have security personal patrolling the hallway for excessive noise coming from other guest rooms.

On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies and thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We booked this hotel for 2 nights before our wedding. Management generously upgraded us to a suite!! It was a lovely big room with a lounge room and a spa bath, and our view was overlooking Banff Avenue. We got ready for the wedding in the suite, it was perfect. The management were so good to us, and the location of the hotel is PERFECT!

Room Tip: Pick a suite, it is much better value than you will ever get at the Fairmont.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was thrilled to see that you had such a great time while you were staying with us. We always try to do our very best when we know that a guest is visiting us for a special occasion. The night before a wedding is very stressful, we do our best to alleviate that stress and provide a relaxing environment.

Once again, thank-you for your comments we do appreciate them.

Hotel management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

At first sight the hotel seemed just fine, but there were a few things to spoil our stay.
The beds were very soft and springy, which made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. I woke up with a stiff neck.
We also found the rooms too warm to sleep, so we turned down the thermostat, but during the night it reset itself and we didn't sleep any better. I found this extremely annoying as I value my sleep!
By 2:30pm housekeeping hadn't come around to our room.
There was a little noise from the street and corridor.

Other than that, the location is very central and we could walk anywhere in town we needed to be.
We also paid a very reasonable price. Next time I'll pay a little more for a more comfortable night's rest.

Room Tip: I suppose rooms that don't face the main street will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuiseMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2012

Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was sorry to see that your last stay with us did not fully meet all of your expectations. Our housekeeping departments works every day until 4:00pm, at times, not all rooms can be service before that time. If we know in advance a specific time for servicing your room we are more than happy to communicate this to housekeeping. You will be happy to know that our guest rooms will be renovated in the fall. The product will look more modern and feel more comfortable.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take it to heart.

Hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 km away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.4 km away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,419 reviews
1.0 km away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
1.0 km away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
846 reviews
0.1 km away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: RM1,646 - RM1,672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing