We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain for a very confortable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Ranked #26 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bargain for a very confortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel is a bit further from the downtown core of than other downtown Calgary hotels, but it is a small price to pay for the spacious room with a mini kitchenette, free Wifi and free parking that you get. The room was very clean with a modern decore and the Wifi connection speed was really good compared to poorer Wifi connections I experienced in pricier hotels. The complimentary breakfast includes a good variety of choices, including hot items, and the staff were friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 806Ren_L806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear 806REN_L806,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us!

It is quite rewarding to hear that you appreciated our speedy fibre optic WIFI in addition to the facilities, staff and hot breakfast buffet.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    270
    97
    24
    15
See reviews for
162
171
54
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have stayed at this hotel the first 3 weeks of January 2012 and the first and last week of February 2012. The staff was exceptional. Uzma in the breakfast room, greeted me and my co-workers every morning with a smile and a "Good Morning!" We missed her and the breakfast when we were not at the hotel. Say Hi to Uzma!
After staying at other more expensive hotels in the city, this hotel provides more for your dollar. The rooms are spacious, clean, and the kitchenettes are a plus. The suites are fantastic!!
During my last stay I had the pleasure of staying in one of the two bedroom suites. The beds are very comfortable, the suites are well equipped and it is like an apartment.
I was happy to find that not only is breakfast included in the stay, but the price also includes free wi-fi and parking.
The location is great too it is central to everything. It is only a short walk to the C-train, 17th ave, also known as the "Red Mile" and many other sites and restaurants.

This location also has laundry facilities, a fitness room and a sauna!!

The Manger of this location, whom I have had the pleasure to chat with, is great and truly cares about the guests having a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus Suites Downtown.

I for one will stay again and will be encouraging my company to book me in to this location on future business trips to Calgary.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear M S,

Thank you for your glowing review regarding our hotel. It is gratifying to hear that you have enjoyed both our facilities, service, and are very humbled by this.
Again thank you and we look forward to your next visit.


Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our room was spacious with both a desk and sofa. The hotel facilities are very good and hotel staff helpful. Breakfast is more than adequate. For a central city hotel, this provided good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. We were on the 15th floor at the end of the corridor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AitchHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear AithcHW,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

It was really cold when we arrived, so Ric's Grill being 1/2 a block away made the location fantastic.

The hotel advertises Free breakfast - Free parking - Free Wifi. All were good. (Never stay in a hotel without free wifi.) Underground parking required that your vehicle is less than 6ft 1" tall. But you need to check-in first, to get a room key to open the garage. The parking lot at the back of the hotel is also free. Use it while you check in. The elevator also goes to the garage, so luggage carrying is easy. You need a key to access all floors except M (main).

The rooms were good, clean bathrooms, coffee maker, decent breakfast, comfortable beds.
There's nothing else you need in Calgary.

Thumbs up Best Western.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelBeaucoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear TravelBeaucoup,

Thank you for the thumbs up on TripAdvisor, your comments are greatly appreciated.

Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed hear the first week of Jan/12 for the World Juniors Hockey tournament. The location is great as there's plenty of conveniences within walking distance.
Renovations started out of the blue on the second day, was NOT happy about that as it was very loud and no one was given any notice; lots of unhappy people!!
The rooms are average and looked like the had some updates, poor construction and low range materials (many fixtures were installed incorrectly or poorly)

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrKrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgaryGeorgecalgary, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear DtKrut,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor, it is comments like this that can assist us to exceed client expectations.



Regards,

George Dahbour
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Fairfield Inn & Suites Calgary Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#29 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown
Address: 1330 8th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 1B6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Calgary
#13 Family Hotel in Calgary
#26 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
Price range (per night): RM408 - RM891
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown, located just south of Downtown (North of 17th Avenue), steps away from the business core, shopping, a wide variety of restaurants and Calgary attractions! In addition to our comfortable beds, excellent customer service and fantastic location we also offer: complimentary wired or wireless high speed internet access, complimentary underground or above ground parking, a full hot breakfast and access to the fitness centre, sauna and the business centre! We also have meeting rooms that can hold anywhere from 3 to 50 people. Please contact us for group rates, meeting rooms and to reserve your room today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Suites Downtown Hotel Calgary
Best Western Calgary
Calgary Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing