We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs!”
Review of Argyll Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Plaza Hotel
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked two nights at this hotel. It seemed fine upon arrival, but a few hours later my husband found a bedbug on the bed, in our room which was #322. He was also bit twice by it. He informed the front desk staff by calling them, and they said they would come up in 10-15 minutes. About 25 minutes later, he called the front desk again and found out that the staff who promised to come up had left. Another staff, Patrick, said he would come up to investigate. When Patrick arrived, my husband showed him the bedbug. Patrick looked at it and then flicked it off the bed (without killing it). Patrick said there were no other rooms available and suggested we stay in the same room. He said they don't give refunds. We couldn't stay in that room and didn't get a refund. We were charged $91.56 for one night, even though we left the hotel after checking out at about 5:30 p.m., and did not use the room. Would not recommend if you don't want bedbug bites. I am very disappointed that they refused to refund, even with a bedbug in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scramage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Argyll Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2016

Like many of the other reviewers of Argyll Plaza have said; the staff is not friendly, the hotel lobby and rooms are very dark and the beds were uncomfortable. However, the stay was not bad, to our surprise the room was very very large. The price was average. Would probably stay again if needed to be in that area of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Micaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Service wasn't very friendly when we got there, but when leaving they were. Room was VERY dark and beds were super uncomfortable. Overall, it's an old place. Looked nothing like the pictures. I probably won't be going back.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Talysha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Excellent location, good access to great food at Rosie's on the main floor, continental breakfast in the morning, a convenience store with all the goodies...attentive staff, and rooms that work for you...this place has it all. Older style...rooms look a bit older but are always clean...price is great for seniors...ask for this.

Room Tip: Book rooms with a king bed.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

My husband and I have stayed here a few times. Any time that we are traveling with our dog this is where we stay. Everyone we have dealt with at the front desk is very friendly. Don't get me wrong, it's not 5 star hotel, but for the price and being pet friendly it is very clean and well kept.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with pets!

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KatieKomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Ramada Edmonton South
Ramada Edmonton South
#62 of 93 in Edmonton
349 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#51 of 93 in Edmonton
380 reviews
Days Inn Edmonton South
#34 of 93 in Edmonton
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Edmonton East
#78 of 93 in Edmonton
195 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
827 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Plaza Hotel

Address: 9933 63 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: RM290 - RM332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Edmonton for pleasure or business, Argyll Plaza Hotel is always the right choice for a comfortable and relaxing stay in our oversized suites of 450 sq/ft! Our rates include complimentary high speed internet access, HD cable TV with 4 complimentary movie channels, air-conditioning, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in each suite, business centre access, coin operated laundry facility, fitness centre with dry sauna and free parking. We offer free continental breakfast to our guests (complimentary gluten free options available as well). We are located in South Central Edmonton. Our hotel is conveniently located in a plaza which offers the following businesses: Argyll Ice Arena, Union Hall concert Hall (new concerts featured weekly), Convenience Store, Liquor Store, many Fast Food and sit down Restaurants plus more. Argyll Hotel is a close drive to Whyte Avenue which offers a vibrant scene including world class festivals, entertainment, live music and numerous restaurants, shops and bars. We are also minutes away from various landmarks such as University of Alberta Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, Downtown Edmonton and South Edmonton Common Shopping Centre. Contact us today and take advantage of any of our many special rates: Corporate, Hospital, Long-Term Stay, Military, Senior or any large party stay! Book the Argyll arena and ask for special hotel rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Argyll Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Plaza Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing