We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Minecraft Hotel?”
Review of Argyll Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Argyll Plaza Hotel
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 27 July 2017

The hotel is in a strip mall, so we initially drove past it. There are businesses on the lower level ie) convenience store, hair salon, registry, etc... the hotel suites are on the second and third floors. The lobby is very large and has an eating area and a door that leads to the adjoining convenience store. The gym area is right next to the elevators. You can park anywhere since the lot spreads out all the way across the plaza.

There was no one at the front desk but after looking around for a few seconds a man who was sitting in the lobby and talking on his phone got up and assisted me. The elevator reeked of cigarette smoke and felt like it was going to give out. When the doors finally opened it was like stepping into Minecraft Dungeon Edition. The dark bricks and carpet looked rough and prison-like. The room itself is spacious and tidy. There were 2 queen beds, dining table for 2-3, centre table, 2 couches, dresser, mid-table and fridge/MW and still lots of space for luggage. The kitchenette and bathroom were of functional size. The place is not fancy, the furniture is old and uncoordinated but it was clean. Didn't hear any noise coming from other rooms or hallways. Rooms look out over parking lot and storage company across the street.
No frills accommodation for a short stay.

Room Tip: Stay on third floor and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marshymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Nice lovely hotel. Best for family stay. Affordable and convenience are best advantage. Friendly staff and free coffee, muffin and drinking water.
Located at most ideal junction. Rooms are renovated. Good bedspread and lovely views. Given the inexpensive cost, it was a huge space overall. The interior of the hallways had this really neat look to it. Small continental breakfast was included. Fridge and microwave was provided. Bathroom was also spacious. Not quite in the south and not quite downtown it was a little remote but an easy drive to get to things.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

Although an older hotel, we found everything to be kept clean and well maintained. The King bed we had was a little on the uncomfortable side as it certainly needed to be replaced. The staff were super friendly and very helpful! Plus they still do have smoking rooms which is a plus for this smoker!! Will certainly stay again if needed.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We booked two nights at this hotel. It seemed fine upon arrival, but a few hours later my husband found a bedbug on the bed, in our room which was #322. He was also bit twice by it. He informed the front desk staff by calling them, and they said they would come up in 10-15 minutes. About 25 minutes later, he called the front desk again and found out that the staff who promised to come up had left. Another staff, Patrick, said he would come up to investigate. When Patrick arrived, my husband showed him the bedbug. Patrick looked at it and then flicked it off the bed (without killing it). Patrick said there were no other rooms available and suggested we stay in the same room. He said they don't give refunds. We couldn't stay in that room and didn't get a refund. We were charged $91.56 for one night, even though we left the hotel after checking out at about 5:30 p.m., and did not use the room. Would not recommend if you don't want bedbug bites. I am very disappointed that they refused to refund, even with a bedbug in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank scramage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Like many of the other reviewers of Argyll Plaza have said; the staff is not friendly, the hotel lobby and rooms are very dark and the beds were uncomfortable. However, the stay was not bad, to our surprise the room was very very large. The price was average. Would probably stay again if needed to be in that area of the city.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Micaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail North
Travelodge Edmonton South
Travelodge Edmonton South
#51 of 93 in Edmonton
393 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Ramada Edmonton South
Ramada Edmonton South
#62 of 93 in Edmonton
357 reviews
Days Inn Edmonton South
#32 of 93 in Edmonton
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#24 of 93 in Edmonton
833 reviews
Travelodge Edmonton East
#77 of 93 in Edmonton
197 reviews
Calgary Trail North
Best Western Cedar Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Plaza Hotel

Address: 9933 63 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6C9, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: RM283 - RM330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Edmonton for pleasure or business, Argyll Plaza Hotel is always the right choice for a comfortable and relaxing stay in our oversized suites of 450 sq/ft! Our rates include complimentary high speed internet access, HD cable TV with 4 complimentary movie channels, air-conditioning, microwave, fridge and coffee maker in each suite, business centre access, coin operated laundry facility, fitness centre with dry sauna and free parking. We offer free continental breakfast to our guests (complimentary gluten free options available as well). We are located in South Central Edmonton. Our hotel is conveniently located in a plaza which offers the following businesses: Argyll Ice Arena, Union Hall concert Hall (new concerts featured weekly), Convenience Store, Liquor Store, many Fast Food and sit down Restaurants plus more. Argyll Hotel is a close drive to Whyte Avenue which offers a vibrant scene including world class festivals, entertainment, live music and numerous restaurants, shops and bars. We are also minutes away from various landmarks such as University of Alberta Hospital, Stollery Children's Hospital, Downtown Edmonton and South Edmonton Common Shopping Centre. Contact us today and take advantage of any of our many special rates: Corporate, Hospital, Long-Term Stay, Military, Senior or any large party stay! Book the Argyll arena and ask for special hotel rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Plaza Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing