We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty nice”
Review of Hotel Selkirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selkirk
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 9 August 2016

On a whim I decided to stay at the Selkirk at Ft. Edmonton. The fort has been built over the decades, and the Selkirk was one of the historic buildings moved there and "modernized." My room was small but comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all, you can freely roam Ft. Edmonton and its reconstruction of period streets and buildings. The fort also features interesting historically accurate gardens of "old" Edmonton. Situated on the North Saskatchewan River, the trees and river are extremely pretty. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Very happy to hear this Andy! Thanks for choosing to stay with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the fact that you mention you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thanks for recommending us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016

Arriving from out of town, we stayed here 2 nights while attending a friend's wedding. Hotel guests have free park admission during the day and can enjoy the quietness of it in the evening for a stroll down the pioneer ear streets. Very comfortable room; quiet hallways; very good nights' sleep. Room was spotless and inviting. Front desk staff was always cheerful and eager to share pioneer facts. Totally away from busy downtown streets. Secluded within Fort Edmonton Park. Would def recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuvdaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

Thanks for recommending us and so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass along your positive words to our Front Desk Staff. Thanks again for staying with us, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed at the Selkirk Hotel in Fort Edmonton Park as we were attending the wedding of a niece. It was an excellent choice. Very quiet. Very close to the Blatchford Hanger, where the wedding was held. The king size bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Hi Linda, thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Selkirk, and are particularly glad to hear you found our beds comfortable. We hope you enjoyed making memories at your niece's wedding in the Park!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016

2nd time coming here off season and it is just lovely. We were treated very well and the food was fantastic. The buildings were closed but there is still great places to walk. The animals and the tram were getting ready for the summer season. Lots of things to do once open. Pricey though.

Room Tip: No TV and rooms are old fashioned and small but modernized too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Thanks for your review Diana. Glad you enjoyed the food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2015

We stayed here for the Valentine's Day 2015 Couples Weekend. We had such an AMAZING time we are currently trying to plan a wedding here.

The hotel is quaint, and it is beautifully set in the River Valley. The rooms are vintage, with a modern take as plumbing is a necessity. There is no tv which we love because connecting is easier when there are no electronics. The beds were decent and the layout was very chic. The grand staircase, the concierge, and the guest satisfaction of feeling in the past is exceptional. The people strive for great customer service. It is a place where if you seek romance and relaxation and a place to 'unplug' this tiny hotel is for you.

The food at Johnson's Cafe was interesting, as it was a very five star menu that I have never tasted such different and exotic flavors, I would rate the complex dinner event menus a 4/5. That being said, we have had the Sunday brunches on a regular old weekend which are still wide spread and delicious. The restaurant decor is vintage, lovely, and just brings back such a periodic element we seek every time we go.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R, Manager at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Thanks for the positive review Micheroni, very glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Selkirk!

Fort Edmonton Park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
7.2 km away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
350 reviews
6.4 km away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,780 reviews
5.6 km away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 93 in Edmonton
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
1,086 reviews
11.3 km away
Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
5.3 km away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selkirk

Address: 1920 Street | Fort Edmonton Park, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: RM560 - RM627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Selkirk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Selkirk is located in Fort Edmonton Park and is a reconstruction of an 1920's hotel that was originally located on Jasper Avenue. Hotel Selkirk plays a vital part of the Park and is a fully functioning modern hotel with guest rooms available from May 20th - September 2012. All guest rooms have WiFi, En-Suite, desk, coffee machine and some rooms overlooking the 1920's streets.A complimentary admission to Fort Edmonton Park is included with your night's accommodation. You can go back in time and ride the stream train, walk amongst the local villagers making bannock, sample fresh baked goods and fudge at the Jasper House Bakery, from only a few steps from your hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Selkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selkirk Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing