We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strolling through the park after hours is amazing”
Review of Hotel Selkirk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Selkirk
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 6 July 2017

The room is done up with a period theme but all the furnishings are modern made to look have a 1920s feel. The room is very basic - it has a coffee maker (we were hoping for a microwave too but made due).
Our favorite part was being able to stroll through Fort Edmonton Park after all the crowds have gone home for the day. The building are locked up but the streets give you a sense of walking through the time period (1885, 1905, 1920). There are some animals on the grounds as well and we enjoyed watching them as well.

Room Tip: We had room 314 which has a view of the horse pasture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thanks for the great review, Bert, and for staying with us! We agree that even when the Park is 'closed,' striolling the streets of the Park can be very fun and beautiful! Hope you get to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

It was a very quiet stay for me. There wasn't much happening in the park as it was off season. Rooms are clean, bed was very comfortable, with a clean bathroom. Check-in was friendly with very friendly staff. A word of caution, NO TV's in the room. WIFi wasn't great if at all. I enjoyed my one night stay and would recommend it to anyone else for an overnight-er.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for the review and feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit overall and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We loved the quiet of the park. A great place to go for a walk in the evening and morning and have the place to yourself. We loved the historic style rooms with no tv. The hotel was really clean and room was bright with lovely view of park and trees. The bar is small and we made friends and had great service. Lots of fun but it closes early if you are planning to tie one on. The restaurant is noisy even with just a few people in it and the food was a 5/10. Dinner was okay but breakfast was dismal. It could be so good with more effort and quality in preparation.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northgoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for the review and honest feedback! We appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the food and restaurant and will be sure to pass it along to our team. Glad you enjoyed the serene visit otherwise and hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Stayed 3 times, Basic rooms-nothing fancy. That said it's a unique experience. Rooms are clean. The one caution is to be careful when you stay. They often host wedding receptions next door (in the hanger) and many attendees stay at the Selkirk. This usually results in inebriated individuals in the hallways late at night which can be very disturbing. Rooms are a bit on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Find out if wedding is using rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sccwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for the honest feedback and review! We appreciate learning more about your experience and are happy to hear that you had overall a nice stay! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed there several times. The rooms are exactly what you would have rented in that era; experience what life's amenities had to offer in days gone by. Furnishings are stylish. very clean and cozy.
Food in the dining room was delicious. Friendly service. The staff dress and play the part very well.
I highly recommend this experience. You will not regret it.
Fort Edmonton Park is a venue we visit every year. Loads of fun for all ages. Many activities throughout the year so you will need a whole day.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franklin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Hi Franklin! Thank you very much for describing your experience at our Hotel Selkirk. Glad we are able to meet your expectations. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
7.2 km away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 93 in Edmonton
350 reviews
6.4 km away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,780 reviews
5.6 km away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 93 in Edmonton
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
1,086 reviews
11.3 km away
Radisson Hotel and Convention Centre
5.3 km away
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
#5 of 93 in Edmonton
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Selkirk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Selkirk

Address: 1920 Street | Fort Edmonton Park, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 2R7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range: RM561 - RM628 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Selkirk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Selkirk is located in Fort Edmonton Park and is a reconstruction of an 1920's hotel that was originally located on Jasper Avenue. Hotel Selkirk plays a vital part of the Park and is a fully functioning modern hotel with guest rooms available from May 20th - September 2012. All guest rooms have WiFi, En-Suite, desk, coffee machine and some rooms overlooking the 1920's streets.A complimentary admission to Fort Edmonton Park is included with your night's accommodation. You can go back in time and ride the stream train, walk amongst the local villagers making bannock, sample fresh baked goods and fudge at the Jasper House Bakery, from only a few steps from your hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Selkirk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selkirk Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing