We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Cedar Park Inn(Edmonton)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandman Signature Edmonton South Hotel(Edmonton)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites(Edmonton)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$115
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aladdin Motel(Edmonton)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
35
33
6
12
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
33
6
12
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfort edmonton parkpark closesjohnson's caferooms are nicebed was very comfortablefalkirkweddingthemefurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

It was a very quiet stay for me. There wasn't much happening in the park as it was off season. Rooms are clean, bed was very comfortable, with a clean bathroom. Check-in was friendly with very friendly staff. A word of caution, NO TV's in the room. WIFi wasn't great if at all. I enjoyed my one night stay and would recommend it to anyone else for an overnight-er.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for the review and feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit overall and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We loved the quiet of the park. A great place to go for a walk in the evening and morning and have the place to yourself. We loved the historic style rooms with no tv. The hotel was really clean and room was bright with lovely view of park and trees. The bar is small and we made friends and had great service. Lots of fun but it closes early if you are planning to tie one on. The restaurant is noisy even with just a few people in it and the food was a 5/10. Dinner was okay but breakfast was dismal. It could be so good with more effort and quality in preparation.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northgoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Thanks for the review and honest feedback! We appreciate you letting us know about your experience with the food and restaurant and will be sure to pass it along to our team. Glad you enjoyed the serene visit otherwise and hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

Stayed 3 times, Basic rooms-nothing fancy. That said it's a unique experience. Rooms are clean. The one caution is to be careful when you stay. They often host wedding receptions next door (in the hanger) and many attendees stay at the Selkirk. This usually results in inebriated individuals in the hallways late at night which can be very disturbing. Rooms are a bit on the pricey side.

Room Tip: Find out if wedding is using rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sccwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Social Media Specialist at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Thanks for the honest feedback and review! We appreciate learning more about your experience and are happy to hear that you had overall a nice stay! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Stayed there several times. The rooms are exactly what you would have rented in that era; experience what life's amenities had to offer in days gone by. Furnishings are stylish. very clean and cozy.
Food in the dining room was delicious. Friendly service. The staff dress and play the part very well.
I highly recommend this experience. You will not regret it.
Fort Edmonton Park is a venue we visit every year. Loads of fun for all ages. Many activities throughout the year so you will need a whole day.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Franklin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Hi Franklin! Thank you very much for describing your experience at our Hotel Selkirk. Glad we are able to meet your expectations. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

I was disappointed with our experience at the Selkirk Hotel. I understand that the hotel was built in a different Era of time but generally we come to expect certain amenities in a hotel these days. For one example there was no TV in our room. Also no wifi was available. Our room rate did allow us to visit Ft. Edmonton the next day.

Thank LindaLou747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Digital Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Selkirk, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2016

Hi there, thanks for your honest review. All of our hotel rooms include admission to the Park during the summer season, perhaps you came during the off-season in which case the living history museum is closed. We understand WiFi connection could be improved (but is available) and the team is working on a solution to make it more reliable for our guests. Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews