We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$93
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$93
View deal
FindHotel
US$103
US$84
View deal
Hotels.comUS$93
PricelineUS$93
HurbUS$103
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
154
108
30
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
154
108
30
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clawfoot tub antique furniture historic hotel turn of the century wooden floors included breakfast hallway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2020

This 111 year old hotel is pretty original though the rooms have been updated. Clean cozy room. My wife loved the bed, I found it a bit on the hard side. Pillows were a good size for sleeping and soft. Right in the heart of old Chilliwack, very nice and helpful staff.

The included breakfast, gave several choices. We each had the traditional and could actually have comfortably split one between us. Definitely on the hungry man side. We really enjoyed our stay, took me back to my youth.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazzaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2020

Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to having you here again.

As I write this, we're readying to open after the pandemic closing. As we re-open, there are changes. Our cafe operation has changed and no longer will breakfast be offered in the cafe nor included in the stay. There are some very good options in the area that we can direct guests to. In addition, we'll be welcoming guests individually upon their arranged arrival time as we'll no longer have a 24 hour front desk service. We'll make sure that contact info is available to our guests to ensure their stay is a great as it's been for more than 100 years.

We look forward to welcoming guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2019

The staff was very friendly, the room was cozy and comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel highly. The historic Royal Hotel. Has a nice atmosphere. Nice place to stay in a good location,

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Explore47622143070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2020

Thanks for your comments and for enjoying your stay.

As I respond to this, we're at the point of re-opening after the pandemic shut downs. We will be changing how we operate going forward including of course making sure our protocols are changed to ensure that guests are safe. In addition we will no longer have a full time front desk so we will be welcoming guests individually upon their arrival and making sure they have a contact to reach during their stay. We look forward to welcoming guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2019

The hotel was ok, but nothing special. Although breakfast was included, we were surprised to get a 'paired down' menu and were only allowed to choose from 4 items (eg Solo Benny as opposed to the regular Egg Benedict available from the menu). Lots of noise in the street during Friday/Saturday evening - we kept jumping out of bed with every car alarm/drunken walk-by/squealing tire drive by - just to make sure our car was safe. The most uncomfortable bed too. We won't be returning.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank traceycartmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2020

Hmm, we'd certainly like to be more than OK. We'll review carefully your comments. As to the area, yes, we are a city location so some sounds of the activity are part of being in the city. Perhaps a room in another area might have helped some. We'd love for you to return but do understand the importance of having a good rest. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019

We love staying at the Royal. It’s right in the Heart of Chilliwack surrounded by the best bookstore, shoe store & brew pub in the area. Warm friendly staff & great breakfast. Our favourite place to stay in Chilliwack - highly recommended

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank klcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, General Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2020

Thanks for choosing to stay with us and enjoying the area around the hotel. In addition, there's more exciting development happening that will add even more to the character of the area. We look forward to your returning and taking all of that in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2019

Great getaway hotel- old fashioned wooden floors, doors. Great staff, really willing to help, converse, inform. I will definitely be going back there when I'm next in Chilliwack.
The room I had also included a balcony, which was very nice.
The front desk recommended a great nearby restaurant as the ones connected to the hotel were closed on Sunday

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leonard W, Manager at The Royal Hotel Chilliwack, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2019

Thanks so much for your review and for staying with us. We're here to keep that 100+ year old tradition of great hospitality going! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews