We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
PricelineUS$107
eDreamsUS$107
TravelocityUS$107
CheapTicketsUS$107
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
62
77
34
10
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
62
77
34
10
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed here for one night rooms are clean motel highway bc
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2020

We stayed here for one night after a wedding at Falls Golf Course. Beds were comfortable,the room clean & spacious ,bathroom was large,staff were very nice.We were able to walk to a local restaurant for breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salim Jamal, Guest Services / Front Office at Vedder River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Hi Monica
Thanks for staying with us - we truly appreciate your kind review and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Vedder River Inn. Sincerely
Sam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2020 via mobile

The bedroom was OK, quite comfortable, nothing to say about that. The service has been my worst experience after many years of travels ! The day after we left the hotel, an employee called us to say that they will charge us 80$ because one sheet had some red wine. We told them that it was impossible because we didn’t drink red wine that night. The employee insisted and harassed us calling several time. What a awful service...

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 255pym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamJ_VRI, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2020

Hi 255pym

Thanks for staying with us - we appreciate your feedback. We have noticed your attempt to post your messages on several platforms so here’s another response to make you happy. Firstly, we do not like to charge guests extra however damages have to be accounted for. Before we charge, we always advise the guest. When our Manager called, you disputed so he said he would recheck with housekeeping and call back. When he called back to confirm the stains, you started misbehaving whereas the call was a courtesy call. Hope this helps. We look forward to your next message on another platform. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2020

Bed bugs.......they charged us extra $200 because the room smell fish. The old man is RUDE almost had hearth attack screaming at us. Don't go their they always keep the damage deposit. Bed bugs...beg bugs bed bugs bed bugs

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank annemariel867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamJ_VRI, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Hi Annemarie Lavallee,
We evicted you and your group from the property because you used an open flame inside the hotel room for cooking. This is an absolute fire hazard and is illegal. We explained to you that this is not allowed and represents a danger and you argued that you do this all the time. Finally, after all your verbal abuse you admitted you were in the wrong and that you learned a lesson.
Your party also used the counter surface to process fish or fish product and left a sticky mess behind, and a terrible stench in the room. This is taking a very long time to clean out, we are still picking up after your fish smell.
The damage deposit was charged for the extra clean up and sanitization required for the room.
At no time did you ever complain about bugs or any other issues. For your information, we have a very reputable company that does our monthly inspections, and there were no issues in the room that you were in, or any other for that matter, because we take these matters very seriously.
So you are being unfair in trying to tarnish our reputation.
At this point, you may find somewhere else to stay. We don’t tolerate bullying or verbal abuse at any time and for any reason.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

We had an employee starting at the hotel. The owner and management refused to return damage deposit due to smell(these people are labour workers) a stain on the sheets and a mark on the carpet that may have already been there.

My point is that the people were unnecessary rude. I wouldn't stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank grahamjessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamJ_VRI, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2020

Hi Jessica
We could not find your name on the system. Please let us know the name of the reservation or the name of the person who stayed in the room so that we can follow up on the matter. We do have a damage deposit policy in place and this has stood the test of time as damages to the room and property have reduced drastically. We look forward to receiving the information from you.
Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2020

Our family has stayed at this hotel several times over the past 3 years. Each time we are treated with kindness and the best of care. Our visits have from 2 to 4 adults and the hotel is right there to ensure we have everything we need and are enjoying our stay. The room is always clean and well equipped. We don't usually have a car as we are right around the corner from family we go there to visit. Everything is close at hand from grocery shopping, fast foods, lounge/liquor/beer outlet and more.
The cleaning & office staff are extremely accommodating and even printed our boarding passes on departure. We will surely come back here.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbbourne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamJ_VRI, Guest Relations Manager at Vedder River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Hi
Thanks for staying with us - we truly appreciate your kind review and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to the Vedder River Inn. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews