We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room and view, but lacking the five star touch...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed at the South Thompson Inn for two nights - they are clearly very aware of the power of Tripadvisor, and encourage their guests to submit reviews, so here goes!

The Inn is about 20 minutes drive from Kamloops; we preferred the quieter Shuswap road on the same side of the river as the hotel. There are paddocks at the front, and the river is immediately behind the hotel - the location is beautiful. Rooms are individually named and decorated (there were some rather bizzare choices of names - very entertaining). We were on the first floor overlooking the river, which was ideal. It should be noted that there are no lifts, so those with reduced mobility should ask for a ground floor room.

The room had a very comfortable bed and was tastefully furnished. It had a balcony shared with the adjacent room. There was also a connecting door which was lockable from either or both sides. It would have been nice to have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities - one would expect this of an hotel of this size and standard.The bathroom was very well equipped. We did notice that the sound insulation was not very good - we could, at one point, hear three different television programmes! The air conditioning was quiet and efficient. The room was light and bright, and had a really lovely view over the South Thompson river.

The breakfast arrangement was slightly strange. We were given a card to fill in to say what we wanted and whether we wanted it in our room (for $2 extra per person) or in the lounge. For people who had breakfast in the lounge it seemed to make no difference what was written, so the system could be dispensed with in this case. The hotel seemed understaffed again, (see separate review of Madisens restaurant) especially as the poor waitress had to carry a lot of breakfast trays up two flights of stairs. Breakfast comprised cereal (a choice of three cereals including a rather stale granola), a bowl of fresh fruit, a bowl of yoghurt, a slice of cake and tea or coffee (self service).

Room Tip: First floor rooms are accessible only by stairs. Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2012

First let me thank you for the 5 star comment and taking your time to write such an extensive review of your stay with us. As you know we do not charge 5 star prices We love hearing all your positive comments and I appreciate your advice to future guests to request a first floor room if they have reduced mobility. As far as sound proofing this is a comment we never get so possibly the neighbors had the TV on high volumes or the patio doors were open. Don’t know but will pay attention to this to see if it is an issue.
We do have fridges available and we have never had coffee machines In our rooms but do have great Lavazza complimentary coffee available in our lounge. See our web site why no coffee in rooms. I do not understand the understaffed comment and someone has to deliver room service so who better than our breakfast server and only one flight of stairs. Our chef will not like the stale granola comment as he makes the granola fresh himself as is the fresh banana bread.
Thanks again and hope to see you return.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 563 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at South Thompson Inn in July with our Golden Retriever. We loved the location. We could park the car after a long day of driving, walk around the beautiful grounds with our dog, and completely relax. The staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were lovely, attractive, and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our patio overlooking the river. We were happy to be able to enjoy a drink in the bar before dinner, and have a restaurant within the complex so that we did not have to get back in the car. We were told that it was some of the best dining around. This is where my only complaint comes from. We went in with high expectations. When you are in the middle of British Columbia in July you would expect the fresh items on the menu to be endless. I ordered the New York strip steak which was to come with fresh vegetables. I was expecting an assortment, perhaps green beans, baby potatoes. No, instead I was served corn kernels, which I am pretty sure were frozen and simple boring matchstick carrots served with a compressed square of scallop potatoes! Ugh. What a disappointment. Where were the seasonal fresh vegetables described on the menu? It struck me that the chef, and perhaps the kitchen staff, were taking the lazy, easy way out by choosing items that could be made ahead and reheated. It was the only disappointing thing that stays with us about our stay at The STI. I would stay there again, but would think twice about dining there unless some changes are made.

Room Tip: We were thrilled that the STI is dog friendly. It meant a lot to us that we could walk the dog on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherryblossom248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

First let me give you are chef’s response to the vegetables

Hello, and thank you for your comments.
So very sorry you were not satisfied with the vegetable component of your dinner.
Just to explain a few things, we ALWAYS use fresh vegetables in our dining room.
The corn you received was hand cut from fresh corn on the cob in our kitchen.
We actually go to great lengths to always provide seasonal, local and if possible organic produce.
The carrots were chosen that evening because of the color contrast with the corn, we try to make our plates as visually appealing as possible.
Yes, the carrots were simply sautéed with a little clarified butter and salt and pepper, sometimes simple is better, this way our guests are able to taste the fresh vegetables.
About the scalloped potatoes, we have a daily starch and on that evening it was Dauphinoise potato, similar to scalloped but a much more classical preparation.
And thank you by the way for the comment “compressed” since that’s exactly what that dish is supposed to look like.
Scalloped potato would use a roux (fat & flour) to thicken the sauce with milk, Dauphinoise uses a liaison (cream & egg yolks) so again, we spend a little more but we like to ensure our guests get the best possible.
Scalloped may or may not contain cheese, but Dauphinoise always contains imported Gruyere cheese.
So as you see we hardly “take the easy way out” if fact quite the opposite.
Thanks again for your comments.

OK that was Chef Mitch our Red Seal Chef’s comment’s

Now mine

Thank you so much for your very positive comments about your stay with us. I am happy you were able to relax and happy to have had your Golden stay with us. We hope our chef was able to explain the vegetables. One time I asked him why he bought corn on the cob and then cut off the corn rather than just buy corn kernels. His comment was “It does cost more but it gives our guests a better fresh product".
Thank you for mentioning that you would stay with us again, we appreciate that. Hopefully you will dine with us again and maybe try something different and ask to see if we can make something special just for you.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My husband and i have often made the 4 hour journey from West Vancouver to the Inn. After a quick change-up we are out on the golf course, which is just minutes walking distance away. The staff are so accommodating that you feel right at home. There isn't a bad view in the house. We have stayed on both side of the hotel and the views are both fabulous.
The comfort factor stays the same but each time we go we see that changes have been made in order to improve their service.
I understand the owner is working on expanding the spa area which is really a gym at present.

Room Tip: The floors on the upper level have carpet so we like to stay in the hardwood floored rooms on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank You Debra for taking the time to compliment us on Tripadviser. So important to us. We sure appreciate our guests especially those who return time and time again. It’s great being next to Rivershore golf course. As you said you arrive, check in and walk across the lawn to the first tee. Hopefully one day we will have a full wellness centre/spa. In the meantime our new nature walk and reflection pond is a great start. We strive very hard to make our guests feel comfortable and always love hearing that we have succeeded. We welcome you back anytime

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The overall stay was okay but weird things like the breakfast tickets there were two of us but on two of three days only one came but our friends in the same hotel got two. One room had a fridge but we had to order one and pay $10 a day. One of three rooms had robes not ours. Just a little too weird. The service was great good job Peter, you need to buy a Volvo soon.

Room Tip: Close to everything in the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffkVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for your time to comment on you conference stay with us. Great group.
I am please you seemed to enjoy your stay with us overall.
I am sorry for the confusion on the breakfasts. We made arrangements with the organizer on how to handle breakfasts and it was decided to supply breakfast vouchers to all delegates for the conference. Those who were guests of the delegates had to preorder and pay for breakfast vouchers themselves if they wished. So sometimes a room would get two and sometimes one depending on if they were delegates or preordered breakfast.
I understand this was confusing for some but it was what was set up as not everyone was entitled to a complimentary breakfast
As far as the fridge is concerned I think you will find that the other room paid the same $10 fee
The housecoats were our fault. As there were so many guests in the Inn and most enjoying the robes and towels for the pool our laundry could not keep up.
We decided we had no choice but to make sure we had clean linen and towels so for one day we were short of housecoats.
Now who is Peter and what is the story about the Volvo.
Hopefully you will return and this time a housecoat is guaranteed.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Manor with a group of girlfriends. Executive Chef Mitch gave us a cooking lesson and helped us prepare 4 delicious dishes. He was patient and had a great sense of humour. The rooms were very comfortable and quiet and the house was well-stocked for the evening. This would be a perfect place for a family reunion or the like. Excellent experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Amazing & Excellent, always love hearing these words when reading about our guests stay with us. Chef Mitch really enjoyed his time with you as well, he is very passionate about food and loves sharing that knowledge. Thank you for your review, it is very appreciated. My only problem now is dealing with Mitch for the next few days after your great remarks about him.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: RM310 - RM555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing