We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night in Kamloops”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stopped at South Thompson on our way to Jasper. It was a beautiful place and I wish we could have stayed longer. Love the grounds and the room was great. We really enjoyed our balcony overlooking the river. The bathroom was huge.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank JMcFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear JMcFe, thank you so much for staying with us while you were traveling to Jasper. I love that you mentioned that we were a beautiful place, thank you for saying that!
The best compliment is you wishing to stay another night.

I hope that your time in Jasper was just as lovely!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

A very nice quiet property with an excellent veranda. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed eating both dinner and breakfast in their very comfortable lounge. The hotel has an outside swimming pool and hot tub and is located next to a golf course. It is about 15 minutes outside of Kamloops.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bob and Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Bob and Barbara M, thank you so much for staying with us and for writing your review on TripAdvisor.
You are correct, we were originally a Thoroughbred breeding facility so it made sense to continue the Kentucky theme. Thanks for mentioning.
We all appreciate your compliments and hope to see you again one day! Thanks again! David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We booked a river view room for the night to attend a friend's wedding nearby. On arrival we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff and given all the info we needed to make sure our stay was comfortable. The lobby was very clean and welcoming and we felt very much at home. The rooms were also a pleasant surprise, it was the perfect mix of classic and comfort and the A/C was left running so when we arrived (in 30 degree heat) we were kept quite comfortable. The view was stunning and the beds so comfortable, even the bathtub was perfect for a quick soak. When we thought the visit couldn't get any better until we were met at checkout with the friendly staff plus a truly wonderful dog (who's name escapes me) who sent us off with a wide doggy smile and allowed us some much needed doggy therapy. Perfect trip top to bottom, would stay again and recommend to all our friends.

Room Tip: rooms on the river side provide a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jeustache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Dear jeustache, WOW, thank you so very much for your very complimentary review! I enjoyed reading every one of your comments. You got your much needed doggy therapy from Peyton, he is a sweet addition to our team. The friendly staff is my daughter Debra and Peyton is her dog. Both sweet and gentle.
So happy you shared your experience with us on TripAdvisor and so happy that you would recommend us to all of your friends! Thank you so very much! Hope you will return for another visit in the future.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived around 8:30 PM For a one night stay on our way to Jasper National Park from Vancouver. Be aware that this hotel is NOT HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE. There are steps & a walkway to the lobby. No one was helpful with our luggage. We then had to climb another flight of stairs with luggage to our room. Our room faced the river, a very pretty view. Carpeting was stained & worn. The room needs TLC. Shower was great, lots of hot water. The hotel has potential, but unfortunately I can't recommend it at this time.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sherri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017


Dear Sherri D, we are TOTALLY HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE.

I do not know how you missed our accessible ramp. It is directly next to the steps you mentioned.
We are always available to assist with luggage. A simple request is all it takes.
Happy you enjoyed the view of the South Thompson River.
Do not know want room you stayed in so cannot check the carpet. We replace carpet each winter as needed.
I am sorry you cannot recommend us but maybe if you had noticed the ramp and had luggage help you might change your mind.
Please return
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Very nice facility with pool and the hot tub open 24 hrs. 15 minutes out of town but so worth it. Staff are awesome, the grounds are clean and open ! Felt like a complete holiday though I was only there for one night and meetings. Feels like your in Kentucky!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Randy M, thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. I love that you mentioned that we are a bit out of town but so worth it! Our team appreciates your “awesome” comment! Hope to welcome you back for another visit.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: RM322 - RM631 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing