We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Arrived with a bus tour, stayed 1 night. Booked into an upstairs room in the Guest House which looked lovely and inviting from the outside. The room was cold and had to request heat turned on from main bldg. Dusty bathroom fixtures, and window sills covered with dead wasps; carpet disgustingly stained everywhere...
Tour guide requested I be moved ... which turned out to be in the main bldg, handicapped room, so it was roomy, well appointed and clean.
Dinner & Breakfast were good.... however we had one lady on the tour whose stomach was upset so she didn't feel up to eating any dinner, so I suggested she at least eat some soda biscuits/saltines... None of the staff in the dinning room knew what these were!!! When I explained they are usually served with soup, they thought I meant croutons. ... They ultimately brought her a small plate with some digestive cookies which are nowhere near helpful in soothing an upset tummy.
I had hoped to take a photo of the back of the guest house (deck) however the veranda floor was covered with leaves (how hard is it to sweep clear?) and there was a garbage can on its side at the far end of the ground floor patio.
Everything looked 'tired' and neglected... lobby very dark and the silk plants covered with dust. Certainly not what I'd been expecting after the rave reviews.

Room Tip: More attention to dusting and unsightly room carpets shampooed. Probably hardwood flooring the bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank langis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear langis007, first of all we deserve the negative comments about your initial room in The Manor House and I am pleased you were moved into the main building.
As you can see by almost all other reviews this is not the normal standard guests experience.
Your initial room does have a carpet stain which no matter how hard we try will not come out. Being replaced soon. Is clean but sure does not look it.
As far as leaves on the deck. We can sweep in the morning and the wind blows and leaves on deck again.
No excuse, just what happens. Same with the garbage can. If it was a windy day it could have blown over. Maybe a heavier can will help.
The lobby, library and lounge mostly all new this year so no response to these comments.
As much as we try to be perfect once in a while we don’t succeed.
Sorry it happened to you.
Hopefully the rest of your trip went better.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

The setting is awesome. As one drives through the gate, a long winding asphalt road leads to the main building with large grass fields on both sides where the horses and llamas graze peacefully. The golf links go on the left and riverside undulations on the right. The two storied building has reception area with a small gift-cum-souvenir shop and the guest rooms with interesting name boards. The bar and restaurant are extended arms of the building. It is a family run hospitality ranch with professional finess. The swimming pool and the open bonfire area on the rear side are just near the river banks. The surrounding garden has lots of trees of which Apples and Plums are laden with juicy fruits. The riverside view is equally amazing in the dawn and the dusk. The flocks of Canadian geese roam and swim at leisurely mood. The railway tracks and highway beyond the river remind you of your connection with the worldly activities. Some birds fly across towards the rugged mountains with small patches of green. It is a complete story of relaxation in nature’s own country!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AsisBandyopadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear AsisBandyopadhyay, what a beautifully written review! I thoroughly enjoyed reading every single word.
Not much for me to say in response other than THANK YOU!
We would love to welcome you back again for another visit and if do come back please ask for me as I would like to come and say hello. I love you saying “it is a complete story of relaxation in nature’s own country”. Thank you!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We stayed there just for a couple of days, but I have not complains at all, nice rooms and excellent beds, hited swiming pool, paceful sourroundings and beautiful gardens.
I recomend this place including food and service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking de gardens have a Veranda where to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosa Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Rosa Maria J, thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. I appreciate your comments and so does our whole team. We all love that you recommend us, thank you so much!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
6
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I and a few friends stayed here for one night, and loved it! The property is gorgeous, the rooms are absolutely adorable! The outdoor hot tub was great to relax in after a day on the road.. A morning River walk is a must! We loved seeing the dog in the lobby- great for all of us missing our fur babies at home!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017


I am so happy that you, your husband & friends stayed with us overnight and that you loved it! Thank you for saying that! If you come back for another visit please feel free to bring your fur babies, they are very welcome here at STIGR. Thank you again for your positive comments, we all really appreciate your compliments.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Lovely place....CLEAN!!! Service is great!!! Food is good. Scenery beautiful!! Swimming Pool and Jacuzzi available. Exercise: walking, running and bicycling is great!!! Rooms are spacious and very confortable. Wish we could have stayed more time.

Room Tip: There are rooms with view to the mountains and river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hada O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Hada O, what lovely comments! I sure appreciate your short and very sweet review about your stay with us.
Especially the “CLEAN” comment.
Hope you will be able to return for another visit one day. Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your compliments for other potential guests to read.
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: RM310 - RM612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing