We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but brief stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as part of Rocky Mountaineer trip to Jasper. Great location across the street from the Riverside Park. Very clean. Room was not ready even though we checked in at 6pm. It was clean and quiet.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank orchidguy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, General Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello orchidguy87,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Our apologies for the delay in getting you into your room that day, but I am glad that we were able to quickly get that situation resolved.

Hopefully you enjoyed the remainder of your stay on the Rocky Mountaineer,
Tyson Andrykew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

The Hotel was a stopover for the Rocky Mountaineer. A moderate walk to shops. Room was clean, fresh and a good nights sleep was had. The bad carpark could do with more lighting. I would stay here for an overnight stop again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, General Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello David A,
Thank you for your review of our Hotel, I'm glad to hear that you had the opportunity to explore downtown Kamloops during your brief stay here with the Rocky Mountaineer.

Thank you,
Tyson Andrykew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

We arrived early on a one night stopover. We were offered a room change to a park view away from train side, we could hear trains at a distance but not enough to bother us and if you are in a town/city there will be some noise!
Our room was 237 which gave beautiful views both day and night.
Staff were friendly and efficient, both checkin and check outs were quick and efficient.
This will be our cheapest accommodation in a 4 week holiday and so far is just as good as other far more expensive accommodation.
Close to town to walk and a supermarket. Parking easy, no reservation required for parking. We would recommend Sandman for a stopover.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 04jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, General Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi 04jennifer,

Thank you very much for your review of our Hotel!
We're excited to hear that you found us to be one of your favourite stops on your vacation.

We hope to see you again if you are to return to Kamloops!
Tyson Andrykew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Friendly staff, especially at the front desk. Very nice room, efficient, comfortable, and extremely well cleaned.

Shower in this style of room took getting used to. Instead of a curtain or glass door, there is a glass panel on the shower-head side that presumably is meant to keep the water in. Quickly discovered I needed to drop a couple towels on the ground outside the stall, as water was splashing out and forming a pool on the floor. This is a little strange, IMHO, as it's not like I was rocking out or anything.

Otherwise, awesome stay!

Room Tip: park view rather than train / city; and definitely higher than 2nd if over Sharks & Moxies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emonxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, General Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi emonxie,

Thank you for your review of our Hotel, and our apologies for the cumbersome layout of the shower! I do appreciate you taking the initiative and ensuring water didn't escape. I know that rooms that you're describing and we'll have our maintenance team see if there is anything that can be done for those showers that are in a few of our rooms.

Thank you again for your review,
Tyson Andrykew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Have stayed at this property several times, always with great results - but not this time! My wife was going to arrive before me but after 3 pm. The room was not ready and the hotel moved her to another room (221). One a/c unit was not working and the room reeked of cigarette smoke.When maintenance came to fix the a/c, they informed her that it was not cigarette smoke but mould from a leak in the room above. She had already unpacked and did not want to move at that point as I hadn't arrived and the stay was just one night. When arriving home, all of our clothing, bags, etc absolutely reeked and needed an extra wash! Not sure why that room was being used at all until the mould issue has been cleared up. This review is an anomaly for this hotel. That said, we should not have been KNOWINGLY exposed to this unhealthy situation!

Room Tip: Avoid 221 until it's repaired and healthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandg202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_SignatureKamloops, General Manager at Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hi bandg202,

Our apologies for the misunderstanding experienced during your stay with us, and for the hassle with the odour.

I believe our team member was misinformed of what occurred, as there was a guest above that room that over-filled their Jacuzzi tub and caused some water damage. The odour that you experienced was the cleanup job performed by a contractor, as they had to replace drywall and other materials. We had done our best to ensure any negative impacts like odour were resolved prior to that evening, but we obviously didn't do enough to make sure your stay wasn't impacted by that repair.

I do apologize and I would like to ask that you contact me directly for your next stay that I can make this right for you.
Thank you,

Tyson Andrykew
General Manager
gm_signaturekamloops@sandman.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel

Address: 225 Lorne St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1W2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: RM479 - RM737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing both Riverside Park and The Thompson River, Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel brings luxurious comfort and cutting edge technology in every room. This six-storey hotel has been designed from the ground up, with the expressed purpose of providing our guests a relaxed, comfortable elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing